You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS - GETTING INFORMATION INTO YOUR HEAD BEFORE YOU REALLY NEED IT - Post #7777

in #foraging8 years ago

I say don't wait -- bring the wild food into your life now. Not as a survival food. They are better than that. Wild food is great food. Wild food is real food for regular people! You've prompted me to write a couple future posts on the topic, @papa-pepper. Stay tuned and thanks!

Sort:  

Fully agreed!

To get to know many of these plants as a hobby now is a great idea. We can supplement our food supply and decrease our grocery bill, often while increasing the nutritional value of our food intake, just by familiarizing ourselves with the wild edibles in our areas.

More people need to be doing this now, while they can!

Looking forward to your upcoming posts!

When the electricity is out, the food supply is down, and the internet doesn't work, it'll be too late to learn.
If that never happens, and we are enjoying and familiarizing ourselves with the wild edibles now, our lives will be more enjoyable and healthy anyways... win, win!

I guess I consider it more a way of being, rather than a hobby. It would be like saying eating pizza or pancakes is a hobby. I eat weeds more often than I eat pizza, pancakes, or at a restaurant, lol.

I fully agree, but I'm trying to encourage people who do not live that way.

Rather than saying "Live your life this way" I'm encouraging them to try it, as a way of getting their feet wet and get exposed to the option of living that way...

I agree, for sure, that saying "Live your life this way" is a pushy way to go and not very effective. I hope I haven't ever come across that way. I think I try to show by example that weeds can be real food for regular people, not just trivia or a hobby. Fear about the need to survive is another motivator, too, though. It may be more effective for some folks. The more information and examples, from a lot of different people - that's got to be the best. Keep eating the outdoors! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28