THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS 24 - MOREL MUSHROOMS

in #foraging7 years ago

In the world of foraging wild edibles, mushrooms may be the pinnacle.


DISCLAIMER: In this series I am simply trying to share some of my adventures in the wild and information that I am learning. I am not a professional nor am I trying to give dietary or medical advice. I'm just a man on a journey sharing about what I am encountering. I believe that the plant in the photos has been accurately identified and I have consumed it without side effect... so far. Enjoy!

The same risk is involved with all wild edibles, but somehow it seems that mushrooms have a certain stigma to them. To be sure, there are plenty of poisonous mushrooms out there, many of which will kill you. Often, edible mushrooms have lookalikes which happen to be lethal. As always, local experts are the best source of information on what wild foods exist in your area.

The Morel Mushroom is one of those excellent wild mushrooms that you can harvest each spring if you know where to look. Often, a certain area will routinely produce Morels year after year. They appear in the spring near the edges of wooded areas. Often, they can be found growing on and around dead trees in areas that have well-drained soil.

There are a few varieties of Morels that are edible, but a false morel does exist which is toxic. A real Morel will have a stem and a most interesting cap. The texture of the Morel mushroom cap is very strange looking. Also, the caps are hollow.

NUTRITION AND PREPARING THE MORELS


Edible Morels provide some nutritional value. Most notably, there are an excellent source of Vitamin D and Iron. They also are a good source of Riboflavin, Niacin, and Fiber.

To prepare Morels for consumption most people will soak them in either water or a mixture of salt and water. Often, this soaking will take more than an hour, depending on preference. Soaking the mushrooms help clean any dirt, debris, or bugs off of the mushrooms. The highly texture caps and the hollow insides have a chance to be cleansed in this process.

I like to sauté mine in butter when I eat them. They are such a tasty food that to be able to find them for free is an excellent benefit.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-morel



Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I'm so jealous of you right now! I'm always keeping my eye out for morals each spring, but I've never actually found any of the edible species so far :( Anyway, great post! :)

My Mother knew all the tips to separate poisonous Mushrooms from Edible varieties, but unfortunately I have forgotten what she taught me!

I know them, we buy them frozen or dried.

You can easily pay up to 500 euros for a kilo of dried mores and up to 80 euros for a kilo of fresh mushrooms here in the Netherlands.

1 image
Morellies are edible, but confusion is possible with the poisonous spring mushroom.

Very cool, and yes, you have to watch out for the poisonous ones!

I find lots of these..but rarely the true morels

Mmmm mushrooms !! Just watch out for the magic ones !! 👍👍👍😊

I did that ones, not my drugs :-)

I did too a very onlg time ago at a house party ! Haha never again !lol!👍😂😂😂

Yes me too :-) Long time ago.

Delicious mushrooms!

You're such a funghi but be careful out there @papa-pepper!

Mmmm those sure look good.

I know several people in my area that harvest morels every year. None of them will tell me where they find them. Seams the morel patches are a closely guarded secret around here.

That is not entirely uncommon. Some pickers are quite territorial and do not want others on their "turf."

Have you ever found any?

I have eaten plenty of them, but have never found them on my own. I also enjoy them sauteed in butter as you mentioned.

Those things look nuts! or... uh... not nuts. Mushrooms.

upvoted
@shayne

Woo Hoo! Those are Morels all right...we lived in the Montana mountains for awhile and we had them grow in our backyard forest. I strung them up and dried some of them and others I remember using fresh on a pizza one time! I have never seen them in Colorado but I think they do grow here. Awesome post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42