THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS 23 - REDBUD

in #foraging7 years ago

Redbud is one of the most beautiful wild edibles that I have ever encountered!


DISCLAIMER: In this series I am simply trying to share some of my adventures in the wild and information that I am learning. I am not a professional nor am I trying to give dietary or medical advice. I'm just a man on a journey sharing about what I am encountering. I believe that the plant in the photos has been accurately identified and I have consumed it without side effect... so far. Enjoy!

Until I moved to Arkansas, I was completely ignorant about the existence of this member of the Legume family. Though it took me over 30 years to find it, I’m glad that I did! If you are not familiar with the Redbud, ask around as there are species that are found worldwide.

The tiny pinkish flowers are the first things to appear on the trees in the early spring. If left to be pollinated, they eventually turn into elongated seed pods. The flowers, though, are edible and very easy to collect. These beautiful trees look striking in when they are in full bloom, and to those who have enjoyed their flowers as an edible, they look delicious too!

It is not only these beautiful flowers that are edible, but the young seedpods are too. I have not personally tried them (yet), but I hear that they can be tasty if cooked and seasoned. Older Redbud seedpods can become bitter and astringent, in a similar way that unripe Persimmon fruit. While the seedpods are a good source of protein, and the flowers are an excellent source of Vitamin C.


Papa-pepper Checking Out a Redbud on the Roadside.

SO USEFUL!

I am always amazed at how useful so many common plants actually are once we look into it. Not only can the Redbud trees be used in multiple ways as a food source, but there are medicinal uses as well. The inner bark is even more astringent than the ripe seedpods and can be used to make a strong tea. This tea has traditionally be used to treat fevers and diarrhea.

The best way to propagate the Redbud tree is via seeds. Each mature tree will produce a large amount of seedpods each year, each with many individual seeds within it. The young seedlings can best be recognized by their heart-shaped leaves.

Thankfully, I picked up 100 Redbud seedlings last year and have them already growing in five gallon buckets. As I develop my land, Redbuds will definitely be a part of the useful landscape that I plant all around me.

DELICIOUS WILD EDIBLE SALAD

Recently, I’ve been enjoying using the flowers in salads. Often, I’ll just snack on them while I am working or wandering in the woods, but it’s also nice to collect some and use them in dishes. Many people will also cook them, or even pickle them and use them as a caper substitute, but so far I’ve kept it pretty raw.

Here is a video of me enjoying a wonderful salad featuring Redbud flowers and some other wild edibles.

Sort:  

I need to see if Redbud grows in my neck of the woods! It is always important to know what you can and should not eat in the wild

What neck of the woods are you in?

It is important to know this stuff ahead of time!

North Florida

Northwest Florida should have them, not sure about the Atlantic coast.

I need to go on a nature walk this weekend then!

Thanks papa I did not know this

Glad to hear you're still learning!

Yes we do not have these in the jungle

LOL! Oh Tarzan!

Upvote and resteem.!!
@papa-pepper

I've had these beautiful trees for years but did not know they had edible blooms.

If it's still blooming, try a few and see what you think! I really like them.

Great pictures! We have tons of Red Buds in Ft. Smith but I never knew you could eat them. The dogwoods and honeysuckle are in bloom right now. I could stick my head out the window and smell them yesterday (today it's pouring). We have some persimmon trees at the cemeteries... you can cut the seeds and tell how the next winter will be (but try cutting one!)

Now you know, give them a try!

Absolutely... I always like to try new things!

We have this shrub does not grow((

I always enjoy posts from this series. They are some of my favorites of your work. Please keep them coming.

I have a whole pile of them I am preparing, so they will be coming. Also, I'll have to wrap up Love Like HIs.

Did you see this post yet? https://steemit.com/game/@papa-pepper/steem-apocalypse-survival-game-contest-200-steem-starting-prize-pot

It could be some fun if you want in.

I did see the post on the survival game contest. I would like to join in, but I will be traveling and mostly away from internet access for the next week. I wish you luck with it and hope the contest is a big success.

Awesome post again! love the theme, "edible outdoors." Steem on!!

Yeah, 23 so far, a lot more to go.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45