Dining Out - The Angry Dwarf

in #food6 years ago

The Angry Dwarf

2018-03-07 12.29.57.jpg
Their icon is pretty cool, and on the back of their sign, it shows what he's holding behind his sneaky back

Recently I've been walking past this cafe in the alleyway on my way to the train station regularly and it looked nice and has a fun name and sign. I was out with a housemate the other day and he suggested coffee, so I suggested we check this place out.

Was quiet, with only one other customer coming through while we were there, but it's also small with about 5 tables of 2 total, but it was certainly worth checking out.

2018-03-07 12.13.50.jpg
How good does that slider look! I got it toasted, so the top and bottom of the bun were a bit crispy

The coffee was quite good, and I was also distracted by the food in their display which I had to try their Eggs Benedict with Salmon Slider.

It was super tasty and the poached egg was wonderful, even though it exploded and quite a bit of the yolk leaked onto the plate. You want the yolk to be runny, but it did lead to some difficulty in cleaning up the yolk with the minimal amount of bread in a slider.

2018-03-07 12.29.43.jpg
Other options in their display also look and sound tasty

They also have a full menu of options and at least a couple of daily specials. They hide away in the alleyway that runs from the Rockdale King St Mall through to the Rockdale Train Station and don't currently have any internet presence that I could find, but the 2 people that run it seem to be really interesting people and I was having a chat with one or both of them most of the time we were in the store.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Fratelli Famous @ The Bavarian
Paragon Hotel
At Thai
Hotto Motto
King of Kebabs
Charcoal Kingdom
Jimmy's Recipe
Le Meilleur Gout Bakery
Fudd's
Palais @ Semaphore


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

Donations/Sponsorship always accepted - Sponsor me here

Sort:  

Oh is that what a slider is? XD [so ignorant] and there I was thinking before I read the caption about what an adorable tiny burger it was. Exploding yolks are the best, but can see how it would be a bit of an effort to clean up with that tiny bread.

goatsig

yup. all of that.

They can be slightly larger around , but in general they're mini burgers that are taller than they are diameter, and only a couple of normal bights. Other than that not really sure I can come up with a legit definition of what they are.

Wow! That egg benedict with salmon slider looks really good! I'v always thought egg benedict is such a photogenic food item but adding the salmon really takes it to another level, i'd love to try it. I love finding hidden little gems like that, do you think you'll become a frequent now?

I'll be more tempted to go in when I walk past while they're open. They close before I'm normally passing by, but it's certainly somewhere I'd head to if I need a local coffee shop

i love Eggs Benedict great choice :D

They're one of my favourites also, which made it much harder to not order it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43