Dining Out - Tako Japanese

in #food6 years ago

Tako Japanese

Having found this place a few days before, I decided to give them a try. I had a Miso Soup and Chicken Katsu Curry with Rice. It has been quite a while since I'd had a Japanese Curry, which was something I was happy to fix. First they brought out the Miso Soup (and my can of coke), which was nice to consume while I waited and anticipated what was to come.

2018-05-02 13.38.22.jpg
I was obviously quite hungry or thirsty as I got half way through the soup before I thought to take a photo.

There was nothing particularly special about the Miso Soup. It was well made and hot, which is the basics I like about it. I do prefer the larger pieces of seaweed to be removed, but they were easy enough to leave in the base of the bowl.

2018-05-02 13.39.05.jpg
curry time!

I was quite pleased with the size of the serving, both with the amount of chicken and sauce, as well as the rice to mop the sauce up with. The chicken was cooked well, with some crispiness remaining in the coating that was soaked in sauce. The sauce itself, and Japanese curry really is all about the sauce was good. It had a decent level of heat to it, without being overwhelming, allowing the flavour to come through, and some tender carrot pieces were a good touch. If anything, I'd have like a bit more rice to soak up the sauce, but there was just enough.

It had been too long, but this was a good start to refreshing my love of Japanese Curry. I really should get some more, and maybe make my own...

2018-05-02 13.53.20 HDR.jpg
The Bruce Lee statue in the square outside

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Khing Thai
Cedars Pizza and Bakery
Burek Balkan Oven
Warong
Thailander
Bavarian Bier Cafe
Marrickville Pork Roll
Coffee Club
Pizza @ Christies
Horsham Sports and Community Club


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Excellent article. I really liked it. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Удачи Вам и Любви

There is nearly same food called "Danjang" in Korea as Miso in Japan.

Oh yeah, I keep meaning to try it, but haven't gotten to it yet. Korean is another of my cuisines that I really like, but haven't had enough variety of yet

I think I’d have left hungry with that miso soup. I’m not even quite sure what that is even after looking at it.

It is always great looking at these. They are just slightly different than anything I’ve seen. Not quite seen chicken, rice, and some other things in second image all mix together like that in such giant portions. I’ve never had a true curry I don’t think.

It's quite worth trying. The Miso isn't supposed to fill you up really, but is more of an appetizer or smaller size. Some places also do free refills with a meal, though I didn't want more than this, I have taken advantage of multiple cups when I did want them. In the picture you can see the (i assume) kombu substitute seaweed outside of the broth, which is whiter than normal, I assume from a white miso being used.

I recommend trying a proper curry, especially if you have no aversion to heat from food. And trying a variety of them to find where you like them from. Japanese are often a brownish colour like this, with lots of liquid sauce, while some of the South East Asian countries have much drier curries. Some of them are very mild (technically Butter Chicken is a curry...), and some of them are super hot. I've enjoyed many finding my favourites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16