Dining Out - Warong

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Warong

While I was in Adelaide a month or so ago I tried this place in the new section of Westfield Marion. While it was great to see such a range of options, I was a bit overwhelmed at the time and just went with the cooks suggestion of Grilled Beef Ribs.

Sounded like a great idea, and the picture looked interesting. I also decided on one of their drinks (forget exactly what it was, but fresh citrus based liquid), paid and went to my table to wait.

A couple of minutes later one of the staff brought over the drink, and then about 10 minutes later (maybe a bit more, but it didn't feel like a long time) one of them brought my food out from the kitchen.

Warong.jpg
I wish I'd spun the plate around so as to not focus on the oddity of the cucumber slices...

It looks pretty much just like the menu photo, though I wasn't expecting just quite so much meat! These ribs are huge! And asides from a little bit of the small one (top center), they were all so tender I hardly needed the knife.

The gravy was nice, slightly spicy, and left me wanting more of it, even though there was a good balance between sauce and rice and meat, I could easily have done with more of the saucey goodness and a little less of the meat. Specifically the small third piece could have been kept in the kitchen as it was more bone than meat, and the meat on it was not the best.

Overall however, this was one of the best servings of ribs I've ever had, with the gravy keeping the meat moist, the meat being fall apart tender, and enough rice to soak up the gravy and leave a clean plate.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Thailander
Bavarian Bier Cafe
Marrickville Pork Roll
Coffee Club
Pizza @ Christies
Horsham Sports and Community Club
Submarine Cafe
Lang Suan
The Angry Dwarf
Fratelli Famous @ The Bavarian


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Delicious. Tasting the feeling...

Wooow se ve super exquisito, riquísimas las costillas y mas si son a la parrilla.Saludo y que bueno que la ayas pasado de lo mejor.

Indonesian/Malaysian place?

Warong...in Indonesian means restaurant

Indeed they are. They describe themselves as Malaysian-Indonesian Street Food, though I don't think of this plate as being 'street food', it does have the appeal of street food still

It seems to be very delicious...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73