Dining Out - Coffee Club

in #food6 years ago

Coffee Club

2018-02-21 14.01.43.jpg
Salt and Pepper Squid. I always like this, but it's rarely a filling meal

On one of our days out, my partner and I found ourselves at the Coffee Club in Maroubra Junction for a late lunch. I settled on their Salt and Pepper Squid, which I was quite pleased with as it was a decent sized serve and better than that, all the pieces were consistent in their texture. There was limited stringiness and none were overly chewy, making it one of the best experiences of cafe squid that I've had.

I was amused that it was plated in the way of steak and schnitzel with the squid on top of the chips, but at least with a multiple piece thing, you can easily mix them up to get to the chips at the same time as the squid rings.

I usually find coffee club to be a little bland and a bit over priced, so I was quite pleased with this visit.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Pizza @ Christies
Horsham Sports and Community Club
Submarine Cafe
Lang Suan
The Angry Dwarf
Fratelli Famous @ The Bavarian
Paragon Hotel
At Thai
Hotto Motto
King of Kebabs


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Squid is just one of those things I’ve not gotten around to eating before. That looks rather tasty being buttered and fried. Cut it up and you would never know till you ate it that it was squid!

I love it, but it's one of the most poorly cooked proteins around. From being rubbery to chewy to stringy there is just so much that goes wrong with it. Calamari (as the rings are often called) seems even more prone to these problems than other forms of squid, but are the easiest to come across.

I love getting the tubes that they make calamari from, flattening them out and cutting them into 1" squares with diamond scoring on them, then some kind of salt and pepper coating and pan frying them. Excellent when done right.

I think they turn out so much better scored like that. Less inclined to go tough or soggy!

I think that's one of the reasons for doing it. It also aids in making them curl into the awesome shapes too

Sounds like some short of Calamari chip.

That is disgusting if they don't cook it right. What a strange thing to have so many possible consistency.

Looks tasty! Love your upgoats haha.

Thanks. The artist is stupidly talented. Unlike me who couldn't even draw a goat

it's really healthy food, there are some vejetables.delicious food.@ratticus

Pretty sure it would be healthier without the deep fryer's involvement, but oven baking the chips and squid could work. I think I left most of the salad

It's almost lunchtime...I am hungry and working from home. I am too lazy to go far for food. Your post just made me hungrier and annoyed I am too lazy to go out and hunt for good food.

Grrrr.... (that's my stomach grumbling)

I've spent the last hour cleaning/stocktaking the freezer and fridge. I'm not hungry anymore :(

My posts have made me hungry in the past though, so I'm happy when they make other people hungry too

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71