INTERMITTENT FASTING - MY EXPERIENCE

in #food6 years ago


Source

I have been doing Intermittent Fasting for a while now, inspired by @beautifulbullies. It's also called the 16:8 method. Basically, it's a way of eating where you are allowed to eat within an eight hour period, and then, for the next sixteen hours, you fast. It's not difficult at all, as for about six to eight of the sixteen fasting hours, you are asleep.

I eat between 12h00 and 20h00, which means I skip breakfast. At first that was difficult, but I have been having black coffee instead of breakfast, and I must say that I have no idea what I would do without the KAWFEE!

It has been freezing here in Cape Town and I have really been missing my morning coffee. Not that I drink regular milk - I usually have almond milk, but the difference has been very noticeable for me.

Most afternoons, around 2pm, my coffee addict of a colleague goes to get coffee, and I have been joining her with these afternoon coffees, and been having a full cream milk flat white... Fucking Bliss I tell ye!

I am literally :


Source


Source


Source

They say you only truly miss something when you can't have it, and goddammit Elizabeth! It's so true.


Another thing I have noticed in doing this intermittent fasting method, is how bad I am with snacks, or literally shoving anything into my piehole. For example, in the morning, when I am making coffee, sometimes I would have a quick little sip of milk while waiting for the kettle to boil. Can't do that anymore! No eating after 8pm - my gosh have I realised how many little snacks of cookies or chocolate (my fudging nemesis) do I eat after dinner. So much so that my skin has noticeably become clearer.


Source

Another thing that is important in the fasting method is to drink a lot of water. I also realised how inconsistently I drink water. Some days I'll drink litre upon litre, and some, just a 500ml bottle.

Doing something like this can really change how you think about food. I am actually enjoying this way of eating, and am really hoping it will help me kill my snacking habit, and at least lose a few kilos.

I have fasted before for a spiritual cleanse, and clarity of mind, and then I realised how much time I actually spend thinking about, making, or eating food. It's a great reminder of how strong the psychological grip of food (or any other habit) is, and how easily it can be controlled. I always remind myself that our minds are strong, stronger than any eating habit.

Mind over matter, baby, mind over matter.


Source

footer.png



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



EASY ASIAN SPICY CHICKEN
☕️ A COFFEE SHOP WITH A TINGE OF ANARCHY ☕️
cover working file.jpgA Really Long Rant on the Water Shortage in Cape Town

🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

Worried About The Crypto Bear Market ? - by @dandesign86
Convincing Students To Embrace Learning by @edaved8e06ac703.png
Trailer Review - Shazam! (2019) by @morkrock
Sort:  

I often practice fasting usually it happens after the 15th of the month and I’m like shit still 2 weeks to pay day 😋

Posted using Partiko iOS

bwahahaa! Salticrax for the win 😹

Totes! Sometimes I switch it up with provitas just to keep it interesting

Posted using Partiko iOS

Plain provitas have gotten me through many a month-end :)

Good luck. I had mentioned on @beautifulbullies how I was also doing this but not intentionally. I didn't even know it was a 'thing' until someone told me I was doing it when they asked how I had been losing weight.

I find it nicer for productivity as well as I know when it is 'eating time' and I basically eat the same thing everyday in salad form so it's easy to do my marketing.

I find my morning coffee is still a joy, and of course I don't eat breakfast or dinner, just lunch. I tapered off slowly and started with firstly just getting rid of refined carbs then complex carbs then restricted my overall intake, doing it in phases like that made it more organic. Now, I don't even think about it. And when I go out to eat (which isn't very often) I order a wonderful protein like steak and eat a small portion and bring the rest home and dole it out for a few days :)

Good luck and keep drinking coffee !

So you only eat one meal a day?? i have heard of doing it this way too! SO many ways and methods!

Yes and every other day with my tea, at 4, I will have a fruit snack (my carbs)

Hello friend @princessmewmew many say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Although in my country that custom was lost.

I love breakfast! Skipping it has been a big mental adjustment

with/without coffee, I can relate to that! :)) :)) haha

yup! GRRR

like, I am a better person with some caffeine in

Look at it this way: With out putting that substance in your coffee you can now TASTE THE COFFEE. Experiment with different beans and amounts until you find the absolute sweet spot of coffee. It's just heavenly.

The only time I ever put milk or cream in my coffee is when eating out. I'll have coffee with cream in lieu of desert.

Don't tell anyone, but I'm doing some IF myself. I don't always make the 16 but I do always make at least 14.

Thanks for the update and the great coffee memes.

I CAN do black coffee and appreciate it 😸BUT I LOVE a good cappuccino with almond milk, it is such bliss

Are you finding the IF to be working?

God bless your heart girl. I can not diet I love food too much. So I will stay chubby... lol My favorite is cheese, you could put cheese on anything and it is good. The Power Of Cheese! I tried messaging you on steemchat but this granny might not have done it right. Proud of you. Oh yes, and I love all the cute pics in the post.

I love food too! SO MUCH!! 😦I got your message and replied. We need to get you onto discord!

i love that

I am also on a mission to eat well. Check out my lunch for today.

20180817_080831.jpg

looks good! Love the jar, i take my miso soup to work in a jar too

I have been reading @beautifulbullies posts about IF lately and my sister has recently started doing this as well. It seems like something I would be interested in trying. You are so right about the snacking. We don't realize sometimes just how much we snack late at night. While we are up late feeding our Steemit addictions. I feel you on the coffee issue. Soooo need my morning life juice. Love the memes!!!!

You are right! It becomes almost unconscious, nand then when you force yourself to stop, its quite a big wake up.

It's awesome way to stay fit and more active, I will try to do the same and I hope it will work for me.
Thank you for your precious advice.

Hey Princess, I admire you and all the other Steemians who deprive yourselves of the delicious treats that we don't need. I am afraid I have never tried fasting, and honestly, I don't think that now in my old age I will be tempted to try. Yes, I could do with losing a few kilos, but then I think of the soft cuddles I will deprive the grandkids of. LOL. Any excuse.

hahahah! Exactly! I want to be cuddly too, but I think I am on the verge of being the bed rather than a cushion!

Ha Ha, I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61