Come on an Adventure with Me! Old Gold Mining Cave + Hidden Waterfall! ๐Ÿ’ฐ๐ŸŒ‰

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

Was there any gold left in the land of Middle Earth? I was about to find out through an adventure through the past!

Wanna come with? ๐Ÿ˜˜


IMG_4076edit.jpg


Okay Steemians, I know you probably know all about mining nowadays (since you're on here), but let's take a look at where the stacks of bricks used to come from before crypto!

We're headed on an adventure into the wilderness to find that gold!๐Ÿ’ฐ


IMG_4041_LI (2).jpg


Back in my days gallivanting around New Zealand in my camper van, "Samwise" (because New Zealand = middle earth and I = huge LOTR fan) I stumbled upon the remnants of the days of gold.

I mean the days the men used to go into the Earth with pickaxes and drills to collect this shiny metallic material that SBD is replacing now! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Are you excited?!

You want an adventure right, Frodo? Follow me! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let's go on a journey through the historical area of the East coast of North Island, New Zealand to see this blast from the past!


IMG_4040 (2).JPG


Driving along the Coromandel, we'll step back in time. amidst the natural beauty that abounds the entire region!

Here is what they call the old "Victoria Battery", on my way to the gorge and mining caves, I stopped to check the area out. In the silence of the early morning where no one but a few passing bikers were spending their time, I found it kind of romantic.

Just think, these are our present history's pyramids... this is what we are leaving behind for new generations to find.

Wiki says that the batteries pictured here were used to crush the ore from that came out of the mountains we are going to visit! The Victoria Battery (what you see here) was one of the largest and most advanced at the time.

You can take any of the cycle lanes around to experiences the vast nature but I just stopped in for breakfast and a bit of a history lesson and went on to find this:


IMG_4043 (2).JPG


Add me! Hi guys!


IMG_4078 (2).JPG


Although it was a bit chilly (notice the long sleeves/pants) I decided to risk it for the biscuit when I saw a tiny trail which looked like it lead up to the top of the waterfall!


IMG_4044 (2).JPG


IMG_4047.JPG


IMG_4051.JPG


IMG_4059.JPG


It was a slip and slide to get up that path but the view from the top was pretty beautiful! Don't you think?

Just as I was making my way down and back across the hopscotch board of stones on the water, a bunch of tourist showed up just in time for me to make my exit and get to the main event!

INTO THE MINES (Of Moria! Just kidding, LOTR fans are you with me?)


IMG_4111.JPG


Well, it's not all fun and games, I tell you truthfully. I got scared AF (sorry for swearing mom!) in those dark, twisted tunnels and honestly guys, I can't imagine what it must have been like to actually have to work in them.

Claustrophobia would have been the end of my career. Guess I couldn't have been a dwarf in another life.

In all seriousness, to me, although there for the gold ๐Ÿ˜‰ the wonder of this journey was in the beauty of the surroundings so before we go deep into the dark, come along the sensational nature walk first!

Should we get going? Let's take the "Rail Trail"!


IMG_4082.JPG


IMG_4084.JPG


IMG_4090.JPG


IMG_4092.JPG


IMG_4093.JPG


Once across the bridge, if you ever make it to the other side and donโ€™t stay lost in the magnificent views forever youโ€™ll come to the Rail Trail and all of a sudden, will have plenty of choices to struggle with. I for one, wanted to see everything but eagerly shot for the mines and therefore, gold, first.


IMG_4094.JPG


IMG_4095.JPG


IMG_4100.JPG


Not a bad choice, look at that view! (That's where we just were!)


IMG_4106.JPG


That little hole in the wall is the entrance to the cave! No secret password to enter here!


IMG_4122.JPG


IMG_4109.JPG


While I much prefer the ledge walkways that the caves weave in and out of, there is nowhere out but in!


IMG_4115.JPG


The mining caves were built within these mountains overlooking a breathtaking Gorge down below.


karan.JPG


What's a "gorge"? A google search produces the following answer:
gorge
ษกษ”หdส’/
noun

a narrow valley between hills or mountains, typically with steep rocky walls and a stream running through it.


IMG_4117 (2).JPG


I'm quite high up and deep in the mountains by now as you can tell! I've got my head lamp rocked and ready to roll and the rest of the cave to see, let's keep going!


IMG_4120.JPG


I see some light up ahead!


IMG_4124.JPG


When you finally find your way through the winding and the darkness, youโ€™ll come out with breathtaking views on the sides of the mountain looking down upon the rushing river below.


IMG_4133.JPG


IMG_4134.JPG


IMG_4140.JPG


It eventually drops you off at another bridge that wraps around the other side of the waters and is the perfect playground for a little splash of water on the face!



IMG_4137.JPG


karan1.JPG


karan2.JPG


karan3.JPG


Near the end of the trail, I had collected a bunch of flowers to make a crown in my hair... it made me Queen of the bees because everyone was trying to get my pollen!


karan4.JPG


Fun fact:

On the far side of the trail at the end by the parking lot, there is another bridge leads across the street to a winery! So if you're feeling thirsty after the hike around the property, you can have a rest with some of New Zealand's best!


Fun fact 2:

Right on the side of this gorge when you're leaving, back on the highway, there is a small spot where kids were jumping from the quite high cliff into the chilly waters below.

I stood on the ledge looking down for about 30 mins in my swim suit, freezing from the cut of the wind alone and couldn't convince myself to take the plunge!

Next time I hope I can muster more courage (and warmth) to grasp onto that thrill that had the boys shrieking when their bodies submerged!

twirly.png

I hope you had fun coming along with me! I love having travel dates with you! I can show you the world!:)

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


Huge 100 SBD Contest: EAT LIKE A SUPERSTAR!
beyonce22dayedit.jpg

HACKS ON HOW TO WIN!


๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? Here's a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier!๐Ÿ’
Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!t!!


๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐ŸŒผ 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates! ๐Ÿซ
๐Ÿง€Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
๐Ÿฅ‘You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!
๐ŸŽ‚Treat Yo'Self! Brownies+Ice Cream+Cookies+Fudge = Cupcakes
๐Ÿ’œIncredible Purple Vegan Quiche!
๐ŸœGarden to Table: Coconut Curry!
๐Ÿ Baked Lasagna

ALL PHOTOS ARE MY OWN, TAKEN WITH MY CANON EOS REBEL 600D or my OnePlus5T

Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

without the bridge and rail-blocks this would look unchartered. Very nice photography . BTW , why did u pluck flowers instead of gold? hehehe

Hahaha well, trust me if there had been gold, I would have tried to pluck it ;) For now though, gunna have to hope Steem goes back up for me to make my gold ;) <3

This place is truly incredible though, New Zealand is like that, just filled with natural beauty and in many places it really is just you with nature. I have tons and tons of photos, I'll keep going through them and posting ;)

the views are amazing. especially waterfalls

The waterfalls in NZ are incredible, I visited so many and have lots of pictures to share, I just have to go through them all ;)

Pretty good, you know it's nice when you get people coming up to you saying 'Can I have a photo or an autograph'; it's a compliment, I think.
Keep steemit

Of course it's a compliment ;)

First time visiting your blog. Now I know why it's called Heart To Heart. You write from your heart and trough your heart I felt been there in that spectacular scenery. Great pictures also. Thank you for such an amazing experience.

Aww thank you @mendys-soul, you are exactly right ;) I only post what I'm inspired to write or share and it all comes from my heart so thank you so much for noticing, it makes me really happy to hear that people can feel that :) <3 Hope you are having a wonderful day! It's nice to meet you here <3

You should count yourself lucky you didn't find any gold, you know what you find with gold? Dragons! But since you have the most trustworthy of vans there is no need to worry!
This was wonderfully written and those are beautiful pictures. Thank you for taking me along your adventure, you have now given me a great dosage of wanderlust!

Hahaha well I for one would be absolutely in to see some dragons! Too bad but it didn't seem any were in this cave, I did go to the Mordor volcano though, I can share that sometime ;)

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our journey together! I love taking people along that love a little adventure! Don't worry, around here there is no shortage of travel to be had so you can peek in from time to time if you feel like going somewhere again ;)

First of all, I am impressed with the beauty of New Zealand and the densely populated rich flora..
And your writing skills and sense of humour are awesome, especially that sbd replacing gold now adays..haha ๐Ÿ˜‚
Then crown was really looking superb on you dear.
The mines are horrible..
All these photos were mind blowing and beautiful, and so are you.. honestly you are damn beautiful.
I checked your blog for the very first time. And I will keep visiting now. Superb blog dear. Keep sharing more wonderful blogs.

Awww haha thanks for laughing with me ;) We can only hope about SBD right? ;)

Thank you for the encouragement! I love being able to share my journeys on here and writing is one of my passions so I really appreciate this comment! I promise more is to come my new friend =D

Thanks for inspiring me to keep sharing here! You can bet there are plenty more stories and photos and more where that came from! :) Have a great day!

Yeah dear, right.
Just keep sharing your stories and your own new photos as well ๐Ÿ˜Š

Beautiful post the story and photographs are amazing.
Looks as if you had a incredible time.New Zealand is so beautiful.
Thank You for sharing and your work on the blog .Upvoted and following!

Thank you so much, you are so right about NZ! I had the amazing experience of spending 5 months traveling all over the gorgeous country and I have soooo many photos of all of that beauty! The problem is organizing it all ;) I am happy to hear you liked our journey and can promise there is plenty more to come!

Read LOTR way back in grade school! Loved it back then remember it like it was yesterday (am 43 now).

Haha I started off with it at 8 and it stuck with me too :) It was great fun when the movies came out to put picture to the words! The scenery in NZ (where LOTR was filmed) is out of this world!

excellent post.
I feel like I was there.

Great! That is exactly what I was going for :)

i like this journey!
thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47