How To Cook Hop Mac & Cheese - With Beer Hops! -- with a Bonus 9-Plant Wild Salad, too! - Thursday's GreensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hops are not just for beer. They are for cooking, too! If you like bitter flavors, here's how you can bring the aroma and bitter kick of hops to make even a cheap box of Mac & Cheese worth eating!

xtsu DSC03522-1 WEB.jpg
See that yellow right in the center hop cone? That's what hops are all about!That sticky resin that has heady aromas. It's bitter! But treated right, it adds a great kick to many foods!


Hops Produce a Lot!

I grow a few hop plants. They produce a lot of hops! You can find a good tutorial on how to harvest and store hops right here on Steemit, in one of my earliest posts. I love the sound of hop cones tumbling into a basket! Gifs don't have sound, so watch my hop harvest video to hear that sweet swoosh!

x filling the hops bucket.gif



Using Hops

After my harvest, I have a lot of hops! I store them in one of my big chest freezers, packed into jars. That keeps the light, oxygen, and heat from breaking down the aromatics in the hops. These hops are great as a "dual-use whole-leaf hops" for homebrewing beer. But they are good in a lot of other ways, too. I'll be posting some of them as we go into hop harvest season, so stay tuned!

Hops are really bitter, but some have great flavors, too, like citrus or pine resin. In cooking with hops, the aim is to get those aromatics into the food, without overwhelming it with bitterness. The results will be bitter -- I'm not going to shy away from that. You can figure out whether you might like cooking with hops by comparing your food preferences in my post Bitter Flavors In Wild Plants - How Much Is Too Much?

Those flavors can make even cheap food taste good! My example here is a really cheap box of Macaroni and Cheese. I got it for 30 cents! I could show how to make Hop Mac & Cheese with some really good pasta and wonderful cheese - hops makes that good cooking even better. But my point is that hops can make this box mac & cheese really good, too!

x hop mac and cheese start WEB.jpg
You can see there's a lot of hops packed into that jar! Just a few plants can produce a lot of hops to use all year long! Making a simple box of mac & cheese is an easy way to try cooking with hops.


Making Hop Mac & Cheese

It may seem like a natural way to use hops would be to toss them in the water in boiling the noodles. But boiling hops extracts all their bitter components. That's what the beer brewers do to counteract the sweet flavors of the malted grains. It makes for terrible, inedible noodles!

The trick is to steep the hops in oils or fats. In this case, it's the milk and butter for the mac & cheese sauce. I just use the amount of butter and milk it says on the box. But then I add 1 Tablespoon of my hops. I heat it on the stove, without boiling, just to melt the butter. Then I let it sit for 10 minutes. That's important! It gives time for the flavors to come out of the hops and mellows out the bitterness.

x steep the hops WEB.jpg
In the bottom row, compare the color of the hops before being heated (left) -- and after it all has been heated and left to sit for 10 minutes (right). That's the time to cook the noodles from the mac & cheese box.

After the flavors have transferred from the hops to the milk and butter, the hops need to be strained out. Now you can taste that liquid to get an idea of how bitter it is. Because homegrown hops can vary so much from plant to plant or year to year, cooking with hops requires tasting and adjustment. By adjusting how much liquid you add to the pink-orange mac & cheese flavor packet and cooked noodles, you can control the final flavor and bitterness to suit your tastes.

x add hop liquid WEB.jpg
This macaroni and cheese doesn't look any different, but it sure packs a bitter kick, with fruity flavors from my homegrown hops! It really perks up the taste of this mac & cheese!


Serving Up Hop Mac & Cheese with a Wild Salad

If you are someone who can eat too much mac & cheese, this hop mac & cheese is great - because the hop bitterness is wonderful in small doses, not an endless supply. Hop mac & cheese is a side dish, not a main dish. So I made a nice free homestead wild salad while my hops were steeping.

x DSC02225 WEB.jpg
Can you tell what plants I have in my salad? Check the plant list at the end of this post to see which plants go with each number.

Hop mac & cheese is adult mac & cheese. Most kids are not going to like it! And you may not like it, either, if you don't like bitter flavors. Check this post to find out if you like Bitter Flavors In Wild Plants - How Much Is Too Much?. But if you like bitter greens, IPA beer, strong coffee, or dark chocolate, I bet you would like this hop mac & cheese.

x DSC02227 WEB.jpg
That's a good meal! Wild salad, hop mac & cheese, homegrown tomatoes, and homegrown peach sorbet. Thank you, homestead -- and cheap box of mac & cheese!


Plant List

  1. Rose of Sharon - Hibiscus syriacus - flower petals
  2. Chickweed - Stellaria media
  3. Common Mallow - Malva neglecta - tender leaves
  4. Borage - Borago officinalis - flowers
  5. Lambs Quarter - Chenopodium album - leaves
  6. Wood Sorrel - Oxalis spp. - leaves and flowers
  7. Wild Field Mustard - Brassica rapa - flowers
  8. Wild Armenian Blackberries - Rubus discolor - ripe berries
  9. Redroot Pigweed Amaranth - Amaranthus retroflexus - young leaves

What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever eaten hops in food?
  • Do you like the taste of hops in beer?
  • Have you ever cooked with hops?
  • Which would you like to see next -- Hop Tea or Hop Hot Chocolate?

Thanks for your support. I do try hard to make quality content for Steemit -- and you!



** Haphazard Homestead **

Flag Gif.gif

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Well now I know what I'm doing this weekend. I have some of last years hops in the freezer still, I will start to play with them in cooking more. They work really well in sauces for marinades or for on the bbq. The marinade works really well as it allows the time for the flavors to mellow and blend in the mix, especially when using a lot of hops. I love super high ibu beers so I can use hops in everything and be very happy. Just hadn't thought to try it.

Nice post!

Thanks! And thanks for adding your hop-cooking experience here! Letting the hops mellow is an important part of cooking with them. I'll have to try a BBQ marinade. Folks who like those super high IBUs are naturals for liking hop foods! Have a great 2017 hop harvest!

Hmm, can't stop thinking of hopped deserts, cakes, cookies. The flavors of different hops could make really cool icings even. Oh hell, hops ice cream!

I have some Hoppy Hour Ice Cream in my freezer right now. I didn't make it. It's from the Clover Stornetta Farms. They use an IPA beer, rather than the hops directly. But it is good! That bitter kick combines with sweetness so well.

Hops would go well in all those sweet desserts! :D

I love that kick that the hops adds to different foods! Thanks, I will have to try mac and cheese. Do you think my homemade one will work as well?

You're welcome. It's nice to know someone else that has had hops in food!

Yes, your homemade mac & cheese would be better than the box version, especially if you use a sweet sort of cheese. A smoked cheese has already got flavors going on. But a sweeter cheese works with the bitter hops really well. Still steep the hops in the milk and butter, though, separate from any real cheese you use. It will be hard to strain the hop pieces out of any cheesy sauce! 8O

If you try it out, it would be great to hear how you liked it!

Good meal! The dish looks beautiful and delicious.

Thanks, @tangmo. I don't think you would like the hop mac & cheese, though, since you don't like the bitter flavors. But everything else was not bitter at all!

You're welcome! But, it looks beautiful! ;)

A bit of bitter in mac and cheese, huh. Interesting. Sure presents nicely!

Thanks! It's hard to convey a flavor from a picture, though! It was a colorful dinner. And it was good, too, even though you can't see the taste, lol. Maybe in HF 22. ; )

I never even had mac & cheese :D
Love how the tomato looks... so juicy.. yummm!

The mac & cheese from a box is standard American food since the 1930s - a real cultural icon! Homegrown tomatoes are the best! :D

I generally don't eat boxed food. One day I will make the Mac&cheese :) When I find the recipe that I like :D

Yes they are! Juicy, sweet and smell like real food!

That's the deal with the boxed mac & cheese. We all know it's not the best mac & cheese. But it's the cheap and easy mac & cheese. And we all know Americans like the cheap and easy things, lol.

So this box mac & cheese recipe is like trying to Make Ramen Noodles Better - with weeds. Except I don't think the hops actually make it much healthier, just taste better.

MMmmmm!!! Soooo yummy looking!!! Hey, I stopped by to tell you about a homesteading challenge I found that I think you would Kick A@@ in!!

https://steemit.com/homesteadingchallenge/@kiaraantonoviche/steemit-homesteadingchallenge-1-theme-announcement-and-rules-sbd-reward-for-winner

Thanks for the heads-up, @lyndsaybowes! That's an interesting question for this week's challenge, for sure. It's a good opportunity to post about what homesteading means to me. There will be some interesting answers from folks!

I look forward to reading your entry, so I can find out more about You! You're such an interesting person here on Steemit! xo

Thanks for the kind words! ox

Very welcome :) :) :)

This is phenomenal, I can actually feel the notes of the hops conbines with that cheese sauce and pasta. That little floral bitterness is just perfect with cheese. I need to start forraging more for wild greens for salad. I have a bunch of stuff I have been tasting in the yard that is edible. I need to start growing Hops, kale, and collard green. Aparently they all do really well in Florida. Right now front and center is processing close to 100 lbs of mangoes that are ripe and very very ripe.

Thanks, @healthyrecipe! Collards are so reliable and productive even in the heat or cold. But I can see why you are focused on those mangoes! I came across a giant mango tree in south Florida once, with ripe ones littering the ground. I had one -- just one -- and thought I would go into a flavor-packed sugar coma! I didn't know any fruit could be that sweet and flavorful! I've never had a mango like that again. One hundred pounds of that would be incredible. I hope we will see posts from you about that! Don't eat too many at once, lol! ; )

Another great post!
How often do you eat at a restaurant?

I eat from my yard most of the time. When I travel for work, I eat at restaurants, or I can forage from the back of the hotel, like this Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style or Another Free Wild Hotel Salad. But I like my food better than most any restaurant food! Fresh is best, as you well know! :D

OMG that was the kind of answer I was hoping to get! I SUPER love the free hotel salad, one of my favorite posts I have ever seen.
With that being said I do have some criticism. u should totally be traveling with REUSABLE plates, bowls, cups, silverware, napkins etc. Its just so not cool to use disposables. Or u can harvest from the trash all that stuff that people throw away and then just re use it.
Also even stuff by roadways is going to have less chemicals than anything bought at a store or from a catered meal at work. Plus its WAY more sustainable.
I also have another question if u don't mind. What is your "Job"
Awesome post man, I like u more every day!

Point well taken. Some times I do better than others, including rooting around in the trashcans and along the roadways. There's no shortage of good stuff there, that's for sure. But at least I'm clear about being 'haphazard' homestead and not the 'I have got it all together, all the time' homestead, lol!

My work is science and math stuff related to weather and water. It's not interesting to most folks, but it's sure interesting to me. My work is where I get to connect with people about that stuff, in depth. And it ultimately has a good impact on folks, at scale, even though they don't know about it.

Great reply on the "haphazard" thing hahahahaha no hard feelings!
Yea I am a master of using trash, built an empire with it actually.

So if you got paid as much doing steemit as u did your "work" would u quit and just do steemit?

Gosh, no. I like my work. I have taken plenty of time away from it, for different periods of time. One year here, 4 years there, another year somewhere else. Now I do it part-time, on my terms, in my own office. I'll stop sooner or later, but it's a part of who I am. I need that thinking and that level of contribution.

And I like Steemit, too. I don't think it's an 'either/or' choice. I think it's 'this and that'. It makes me more complete.

Awesome!
Sounds Ideal. Congratulations!

I must confess that I have not ever had hops in food... at least not to my knowledge. Sounds kind of intriguing as part of Mac 'n Cheese. See quite a few "old friends" in your salad, however!

I did spend much of my childhood living practically "in the shadow" of the Carlsberg brewery in Copenhagen, Denmark... and the smell of hops roasting was often in the air, very distinct and rich aroma... especially wonderful when it would hang in the air on cold winter days.

Those childhood aromas sound really nice! And I'm glad you recognize some of my salad plants. There are so many good ones! It's hard to find hops in food. I've found it in a Hop Ice Cream, but otherwise, I've had to make it myself! At least it's easy to find hops in beer, lol. ; )

Wow this looks tasty and is very creative; hops in cheese in general sounds really tasty! No dressing for the salad?

Thanks! I'll make a post soon on how to hop up your cheese. It's good, too! No, no dressing for this salad. I didn't need any with the flavors of the mac & cheese and those big tomato slabs. The wild greens themselves have a lot of flavor!

Oh true, I guess there's plenty of moisture already!

Especially if your one of those people who mixes food on their plate, rather than eating each thing only one at a time. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41