You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Cook Hop Mac & Cheese - With Beer Hops! -- with a Bonus 9-Plant Wild Salad, too! - Thursday's Green

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Well now I know what I'm doing this weekend. I have some of last years hops in the freezer still, I will start to play with them in cooking more. They work really well in sauces for marinades or for on the bbq. The marinade works really well as it allows the time for the flavors to mellow and blend in the mix, especially when using a lot of hops. I love super high ibu beers so I can use hops in everything and be very happy. Just hadn't thought to try it.

Nice post!

Sort:  

Thanks! And thanks for adding your hop-cooking experience here! Letting the hops mellow is an important part of cooking with them. I'll have to try a BBQ marinade. Folks who like those super high IBUs are naturals for liking hop foods! Have a great 2017 hop harvest!

Hmm, can't stop thinking of hopped deserts, cakes, cookies. The flavors of different hops could make really cool icings even. Oh hell, hops ice cream!

I have some Hoppy Hour Ice Cream in my freezer right now. I didn't make it. It's from the Clover Stornetta Farms. They use an IPA beer, rather than the hops directly. But it is good! That bitter kick combines with sweetness so well.

Hops would go well in all those sweet desserts! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48