(Girlscout Cookies Copycat) Chocolate Samoas Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

You guys know by now that I can’t hardly get through a Monday without something sweet, preferably something with chocolate, so you were probably expecting these.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars..jpg

Since we were living in Chile for years there were things that I think we’ve started to forget. I wanted to make something with toasted coconut the other day and I had samoa cookies stuck in my head so I went for it!

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (2).jpg

When I was little these were my favorites. They happened to be my dad’s favorite too and it somehow made them taste better when he would ask who kept eating all of his cookies. I didn’t even think I liked coconut back then, (I know, crazy right? "say brainless, don't you know where coconuts come from?") but having it disguised in all of that caramel and chocolate kept me from finding out what that delicious “samoa” flavor was that I loved so much.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (3).jpg

Anyway, I remembered samoas and asked my sisters if I should make them and they said that they didn’t know what I was talking about! Then they said “What are Girl Scout cookies?” and I was like “How can you not remember them? You poor, poor things!” That decided it then and there. I had to make samoas, or at least my version of them.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (4).jpg

I love the traditional shape of samoas. It’s like a doughnut and who doesn’t like doughnuts, right? On the downside though, I don’t have the right shape cutters and rolling out dough, which I usually enjoy, just didn’t sound fun at the time because I had a whole list of things to do later. "Ain’t nobody got time for dat!" Plus, I’ve always wondered if samoas could be improved by making the cookie part thicker and softer and as it turns out, in my humble opinion, it does. Big time!

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (8).jpg

So I know I’m usually pretty excited about sharing a recipe with you guys anyway, I mean, isn’t that the point of the recipe blog here? Well, today I’m extra excited because this one is like really, really good! My younger sister @fullofhope shocked me by saying they were, to date, her favorite sweet that I’ve made.....ever! She’s not easily impressed either.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (11).jpg

You know how some people have all the luck and can eat whatever they want and it never shows? Well, that’s her. I can’t help being a little jealous of her and her hummingbird metabolism. She lives on bologna, top ramen, potato chips and chocolate and is one of the healthiest looking people I know. It’s outrageous. Ironically, my younger brothers hate coconut so I thought these would be around longer, but she doesn’t seem to mind picking up their slack. She’s a team player.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars.jpg

So these may seem complicated but they are really very simple when you make them in bar form. If you can multi-task then this recipe goes even faster. I started the caramel going and made the crust while I stirred it every minute or two. Then I baked the crust and toasted the coconut at the same time and it all came together in about 35 minutes. The only time-consuming part is waiting, first for the bars to cool so you can cut them, and then for the chocolate to set so it’s mostly hands-off time.

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (14).jpg

I feel a little guilty about these because I feel I will be putting those cute little girl scouts out of business and I keep picturing their sad faces. You see, you may never be able to buy a box of samoas again after these!

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (15).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Chip Fluffernutter Stuffed French Toast (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. 🍪Inside-Out Stuffed Twix Cookies🍪 (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Spinach & Artichoke [Costco Inspired] Chicken Bakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Hot Cocoa Inspired Triple Layer Chocolate Cake!!! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. B-Dogs! (Maple Pancake Coated Breakfast Sausage on a Stick) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Spicy Buffalo Blue Cheese Stuffed Soft Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Soft & Dreamy Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Vietnamese Pork Banh Mi + Tahini Sriracha Mayo (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Chocolate & Toasted Coconut Somoas Cookie Bars (10).jpg

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51