Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So what do think of when you hear the word salad, because it seems to be a very broad term with many different interpretations, especially here. Salads were actually kind of a joke when we were in Chile. Not that there aren’t exceptions, but in general if you order a salad at a restaurant you are going to be disappointed with a large bowl of lettuce and a few dots of something to garnish, and don’t even get me started on the dressings, or the lack thereof I should say.

The only choices you’ll get are oil and balsamic, not even kidding. I love oil and balsamic but I also love variety. I think it boils down to the fact that most Chileans consider salads only a side dish type of thing. You won’t find any of those North American steakhouse-style salads that are basically a pile of meat, cheese, and croutons smothered in ranch.

Grape Caprese Salad with Avocado & Honey Balsamic Reduction (9).jpg

My view of a perfect salad is somewhere in between the two. I think every salad needs to have plenty of flavors and some kind of awesome dressing to finish it off, either creamy or sweet. It also should be light enough to be a side dish on it’s own, or loaded enough that you could add some protein and make it a meal. Of course, that applies only to lettuce based salads, I’m not talking about pasta, egg, or fruit salad. Those are all completely different animals.

Grape Caprese Salad with Avocado & Honey Balsamic Reduction (6).jpg

However, since I have the beach on my mind I thought I’d go a little on the lighter side and skip the really carby toppings in favor of fresh fruit and healthy fat. One of my favorite flavors of summer is fresh basil and I happened to get a bunch of it the other day. Since it pairs so well with tomatoes and mozzarella it seemed only fitting to make a caprese salad and my favorite way to top that is with a balsamic reduction that is super easy.

Grape Caprese Salad with Avocado & Honey Balsamic Reduction (8).jpg

This salad fits the criteria of being perfect as a side, but you can add some grilled chicken or fish and it becomes a delicious no-heat lunch or dinner on a really hot day. It can also go vegan if you want to trade out the cheese for garbanzos or something and for strict vegans use agave instead of honey. Stay tuned for something much terribly evil tomorrow!

Grape Caprese Salad with Avocado & Honey Balsamic Reduction (7).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  2. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Southwest Egg Rolls + Avacado Ranch Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Almond Joy Pudding Parfaits & Coconut Cookie Dippers (vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Thai Basil Lentils & Coconut Toasted Sesame Brown Rice (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. National Sugar Cookie Day! Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Potato Chip Crusted Sausage Macaroni & Cheese Cups (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Cherry Soda + Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Floats (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Giant Frozen Yogurt Reese's Peanut Butter Cups

  10. Popcorn Chicken Nuggets and Honey Mustard Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Grape Caprese Salad with Avocado & Honey Balsamic Reduction..jpg

Sort:  

Recipe please

Of course @jonny-clearwater! Thanks for reading!

Ingredients

Balsamic Reduction:
3/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup honey
Salad
3 cups loosely packed red leaf lettuce
1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
1 cup red grapes, sliced in half
1 medium avocado, sliced
1 cup fresh basil leaves
4 ounces mozzarella cheese, cubed
sea salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. For the reduction, combine honey and balsamic in a small saucepan over low heat. Simmer for about 10 minutes until thickened, then remove from heat and cool.
  2. Combine ingredients for salad in a large bowl and toss together gently. Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to serve.
  3. Top salad immediately before serving or serve per individual.

Would a champagne vinaigrette work well with this. My wife is kind of a balsamic junkie, she puts balsamic in anything...so an alternative would be great.

I love salads!! That looks amazing!!!

Thanks, my dear @alovelymess! 😁😁😁

Delicious! I love trying new things. Thanks for sharing :)

You are welcome.

Hmm Yummy 😋 I'll try that later.
Thanks for sharing.

Enjoy, my friend!

Thanks for reading.

Love this! I usually add nutritional yeast on my salads :)

MMM, I'll have to try that @emanuel.tanasa! Sounds delish.

I love the quality of your pictures, you make them look so tasty! haha :) What camera do you use if you don't mind me asking?

I use a Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Thanks @classydapper

Looks scrum-dilli-icious

mmm this salad looks delicious!

Thank you very much @tioluis!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56