Cheesy Apple Pumpkin & Chorizo Turnovers (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I made some apple turnovers......but they're on the savory side!

DSC_1906.jpg

I've got some news I'll be sharing with you guys soon, but until then, let's leave it at the fact that I'll be spending this year's holiday season in the States. With that in mind (and with me being me), I'm already thinking about the big holidays. Today Thanksgiving was on my mind.

DSC_1964.jpg

I love this particular holiday because of what it means to me and my family. Which is, traditions, being together, and being thankful to God for our blessings no matter where we are geographically. Also, the past few years living in Chile, we had been sort of celebrating our own temporary pilgrimage to that country every Thanksgiving.

DSC_1936.jpg

Seriously, after all the flights to get there from the U.S., you feel like you’ve been on the Mayflower for months. I love the holiday season, so much in fact, that even though I’m getting older I still get that excitement that is close to pain when I think of all my favorite things during the season! Okay, but moving on to the recipe before I say any more stupid things…

DSC_1843.jpg

So these calzones, they’re like little thanksgiving-flavor bombs wrapped in cozy, bready blankets. So much to love! I threw in all kinds of ingredients that you’ll probably see listed and think “what?”. It’s all so amazing when you put it together you guys. My sister even said they were comparable to her love for cake because she couldn’t decide if she wanted dessert or more of these calzones. Based on how much I know she loves cake that is saying a lot.

DSC_1904.jpg

I know everyone probably has their favorite thanksgiving table item. Maybe it’s the fluffy mashed potatoes, or the perfectly roasted turkey that your dad makes every year. For me, I was the weirdo kid who always went for the stuffing (or is it dressing? I always forget the difference but we call it stuffing). My mom used to make it every year and I’d probably be content with eating only that for Thanksgiving dinner. I think it comes down to all the flavors in it. I mean, those are all the flavors that combine one single flavor that instantly puts me in all of my favorite memories of the holidays. It’s borderline ridiculous how indescribably happy said flavor makes me and I’ve never understood how the majority of people skip the stuffing.

DSC_1938.jpg

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I was inspired by those flavors to make these calzones with as much of those flavors as I could. It’s kind of my way of taking them all and putting them into one package that most everyone actually enjoys. I do hope you guys try these if you like these flavors!

DSC_1900.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Blue Cheese Stuffed Burgers Wrapped in Bacon (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Epic 8-LAYER S’MORES COOKIE CAKE!!! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Cajun Black Bean and Chorizo Dirty Rice

  4. Dark Chocolate Tim-Tams Filled with Cookie Butter (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Lemon & Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Pound Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. BARBECUE BACON & GOUDA CHEESEBURGERS with HOMEMADE BAGEL BUNS - ( Food Photo Shoot )

  7. Chicken & Corn Chowder + Rye Bread Bowls

  8. Churro Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. 20-Minute Mushroom & Ham Omelette (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Roasted Balsamic Peach, Almond, & Cilantro Pizza ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



DSC_1871.jpg

Sort:  

Phew! No bacon this time! I can stop drooling! ;)

Haha, you're hilarious @movievertigo! Thanks my friend!

Yummy apples!! Recipe pls <3

Loading...

Delicious, I love Chorizo. That mixture of paprika,cumin and garlic that they use mixed with all that tasty aged meat and fat just has a magical taste and texture to me. I used to always steal them from the fridge as a little kid and even as I got older. My dad eventually had to start hiding them from me or he would not have them around to make his famous Spanish White Beans or any of his other recipes for that matter if I was left to my own devices.

Hehe, so you started out as a little food lover, I love it! Thanks for reading @healthyrecipe!

Your flavor genius experiments never cease to amaze me, this is a must create and taste! upvoted never in my life would I have thought of this ridiculously awesome combination of flavors, I love chorizo!

So glad you liked it verbal-d. Keep up with your amazing comments!!

You are most welcome my dear friend, I stop by every so often, I haven't forgotten you, I am all over the steemit world :) keep up your amazing food posts and more

It looks delicious. I love chorizo

I'm glad you like this @jessicaricci! Thank you

Looks delicious. Sure it is so!

Would you send me the recipe? Love this! Would like to try to make it. :)

I'd love to share the recipe! Check the top of the comments @karensuestudios!

Thank you! :) Do you have any other receipies you recommend for a beginner cook?

@gringalicious in action..doing good with yummies!!! keep it up

Well, thank you so much, I'm flattered @charles1!

Welcome my lovely lady.

Feel free to check out my latest blog post : Why Steemit will disrup social media and gain market share

Wow! I have never seen anything quite like that! Looks amazing!

I really appreciate that @brianphobos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52