Cajun Black Bean and Chorizo Dirty Rice

in #food7 years ago

There are definitely occasions that call for the most expensive and fancy foods, but in day to day life it's nice to have beans and rice sometimes. I’m pretty sure that basically every culture has some form or other of this staple meal because, let’s face it, it’s cheap.

DSC_0298.jpg

I don’t know about you but I happen to love beans and rice. When I was little my dad used to make the Zatarain’s Cajun box mixes all the time so those flavors are really nostalgic and warm fuzzy for me and now it’s probably my favorite way to eat beans and rice.

DSC_0338.jpg

The way I see it, if you can master the art of making beans and rice taste amazing with minimal ingredients then your pretty much set for life in the cooking department. I know I added the chorizo to mine, because the truth is that it adds so much more flavor that way, but you could totally go meatless with this recipe and it would still be amazing. It’s all in the spices here.

DSC_0321.jpg

This is a great meal to make for a big group or just a budget friendly weeknight dinner that makes great leftovers. In fact it gets better leftover. Make a big huge pot of it and freeze the extra for later or invite some friends over and show off your mad skills with making simple ingredients into a from-scratch meal with unrivaled flavor.

DSC_0303.jpg

DSC_0318.jpg

Thanks for reading Steemians. Have a great week!

DSC_0310.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Lemon & Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Pound Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. BARBECUE BACON & GOUDA CHEESEBURGERS with HOMEMADE BAGEL BUNS - ( Food Photo Shoot )

  3. Chicken & Corn Chowder + Rye Bread Bowls

  4. Churro Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. 20-Minute Mushroom & Ham Omelette (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Roasted Balsamic Peach, Almond, & Cilantro Pizza ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

  7. Caramel Almond Bundt Cake with Kahlúa ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

  8. Overnight Almond Chia Pudding & Chocolate Avocado Mousse (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Pistachio & Avocado Bagel Toast with Honey Drizzle (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Classic Country Style Chicken Pot Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



DSC_0332.jpg

Sort:  

OOOh yummm!!! I bet my whole family (kids included) would love this. Recipe please??

Loading...

this is one of my winter favorite plates. I love the black beans and the chorizo is amazing. I feel really hungry right now.

Oh, well I hope you can enjoy something delicious to eat soon @fivefiveeleven and maybe you can try this some time.

I would love to try it, I'll try to remember taking pictures by the time I try to prepare this, lol. thanks for sharing.

That looks so delicious!!

Thanks @alovelymess 😁 😆 😅

Oooohhhhh, one of my faves!

I'm glad you like this @uglysweater! Thanks, Girly 😋 😜 😝

Upvoted and Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or fund @dropahead with more STEEM POWER! Keep steeming!

Thanks @dropahead!

Look delicious! Thanks for sharing.

Woow that rice looks so good! Love the chorizo on it, I can even smell it from here. Was gonna ask for the recipe but its been done already. Gonna stay here waiting for it tho.

Thanks for the great content @gringalicious! Always bringing good stuff to Steemit :D

You are so welcome @dontstopmenow! Thanks for always being so encouraging and supportive, my friend. Steem on.

Thank you mate ;-)

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 23.15 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @dontstopmenow. Vote for Aggroed!

This is very cool my dear friend Up&Resteem

Welcome my dear friend :) Plz dont't forget to check my posts thank you

Just about to sign off and this popped up in my feed! My all time favorite! Thxs for sharing recipe! Following... :)

Oh, it's my pleasure @missiontothemoon. Thanks!

How spicy is this? I am a lightweight? I can eat chorizo with eggs for example. It looks yummy!

Well, the spice will depend a lot on how spicy your sausage is so I'd suggest using a mild type. Thanks for reading @jjsolley.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59589.10
ETH 3257.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40