Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I’m gonna keep this one fairly short today with minimal rambling.

Unfortunately though, saying here’s a recipe, it’s good, make it….., that’s probably not the best way to attract new readers. Trust me, I wish that wasn’t the case because I don’t like to be the one doing the rambling in the first place, and it would make my life a whole lot easier. Especially on days when I’m drawing a blank, like today.

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (2).jpg

My computer isn’t very happy with me right now and it’s been really lagging under the crazy amount of stuff I’ve been trying to make it do. I’m doing my best to keep it from finding out how much worse it’s going to get over the holidays. We won’t mention it, shhhhh. Yep, so there’s that, oh, and someone drank all my coffee this morning…..wait that was probably me, but I still felt the need to get more. Life problems.

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (4).jpg

I think these popcorn balls are a fun change from your traditional marshmallow or peanut butter ones. Hey, those are great too but sometimes you want something new, you know? I love how the black sesame with chocolate drizzled all over it makes them look spooky and yet it’s completely natural. It’s not a really strong color but it’s plenty to make them fun for the kiddos. I just don’t understand adding tons of food dye to foods that are already not the greatest in the food pyramid. “Hey, this will give my kids rotten teeth if they eat too much, hmmm, might as well throw in a dose of cancer to go with it.” Yeah, cause that’s logical.

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (6).jpg

I don’t get it, but I guess making sweets like this in the first place doesn’t give me a lot of room to talk. Come on though, popcorn balls are a classic and October’s almost gone. It’s okay to indulge a little bit, don’t you think? And if you’re going to indulge in something super sweet then I think you need to try these. The black sesame flavor is pretty subtle and even those in my family who aren’t big on the flavor enjoyed these.

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (8).jpg

By the way, if you aren’t into black sesame or can’t find it, this recipe also works if you replace the black sesame paste+butter with some good old peanut butter. Alrighty then, so that’s pretty short, right? I hope you all have fun plans for the rest of your week, and they need to include popcorn balls! (Did that make you laugh?)

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls.,.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and I've recently made new accounts on social media just for my Steemian friends to follow so don't forget to go follow me on all your favorites!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Nutella Popcorn Ultimate Chick-Flick Snack Mix (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Harvest Time Steak & Pumpkin Chili (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Crunchy PB Chocolate Chip Protein Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Maple Pecan Pancake Cupcakes(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Thai Peanut Pad Thai Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. The Best Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Smoothie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Shredded Chicken Tacos with Strawberry Mango Salsa (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Spiced Baked Doughnuts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Chai Spiced Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

27 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (9).jpg

Sort:  

It looks beautiful......I just wish to taste one looks yummy

hmmm... those look very yummy, could you share the detailed recipe pleeeease?! thanks! :D lol

Thanks so much @alexpmorris!

Ingredients

7 (heaping) cups freshly popped popcorn
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup milk
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 cup black sesame paste
1/4 cup butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup semi-sweet dark chocolate
6 -7 wooden skewers or popsicle sticks

Instructions

  1. Sort popcorn for any unpopped kernals and place in a bowl large enough to have stirring room.
  2. Combine sugar, milk, and honey in a small saucepan over medium-low heat and bring to a low boil. Boil for 3 - 4 minutes then remove from heat and add butter, sesame paste, vanilla, and salt. Stir to combine, then pour mixture over popcorn and mix gently with a rubber spatula. Grease hands with butter and form balls out of mixture as quickly as possible before it cools. Place on parchment lined plate and stick skewers or popsicle sticks into centers.
  3. Melt chocolate in a microwave safe bowl or double boiler and drizzle over balls. Allow to dry before serving.

hmmm, double yum, definitely gotta try and put some of these together, thx! :)

Nice recipe @gringalicious. Looks vary yammy and tasty

Amazing photography, as always. I just remembered where you got those amazing plates from. I miss that guy!

Yes, those were such a thoughtful gift @noboxes.

Those look like awesome yumminess!!

Chocolate is my favorite food, thanks for sharing this re

You are so welcome @lazariko12. I have a lot more chocolate coming up

It looks so good. I am tempted to have it now.

I hope it inspired you to give it a go @tamsguitar?

Wow, that looks fantastic,ymmmms seeems delicious Resteemed ;)It's so Refreshing to read Your Post Your photos are always so vibrant and done well in composition. I like your writing style as it is very fun and easy to follow along.
Takecare have anice day

Thanks so much for reading my post @funnystuff. Great commenting, I really appreciate it!

looks really fantastic, and taste full!!!!

Thanks so much @apiemilo and welcome to steemit

Wow !
Can't wait .. I need some of them my friend !!
Looks yummy !!!!

Thanks so much @akkha and thank you for commenting on my post

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @fullofhope! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91