Our 1 star Michelin lunch! (Ulog #11)

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Since moving to Europe, my wife and I have made it a little habit that once a year, we treat ourselves to a really nice dinner or lunch at a Michelin star restaurant to celebrate all our anniversaries/birthdays and whatever in one go! The 1 star restaurants turn out to really good food and experience for a relatively affordable price (if you don't do it too often!) if you order from the set menu. If you go up to 2 stars, it rapidly gets too expensive!

So last week, we had our little eating treat at a place in Voorburg, Central Park by Ron Blaauw. I had already posted some food photos from my alt account (@msearles), but I think I will write more in depth about the experience here!

Apologies ahead of time for the hastily shot photos, I feel so stupid taking photos of food that I tried to do them as quickly as possible! Also, neither of us are foodies of any stripe, we just eat and enjoy and not much more than that!

Location


The restaurant (and hotel?) is set in a little side park area, near where we bike past each week on the way to Little Gym. However, we never take the turn that would bring us to the restaurant, but we take the other direction to get us to where we need to go. (A metaphor for our lives?).

When you first drive up and park, it is a bit confusing as to where the restaurant is. Stupidly enough, I forgot to take a photo of the front, but it looks like one of the old manor buildings that have been converted to offices. When you look in the front windows, you see an office on one side and a conference room on the other, and the large door is closed and there is no sign that there is a restaurant there.

However, if you are brave enough to open the door, there it is... right in front, with the waiter ready to check your reservation and take you to your seats.

The menu


We always take the set menu at places like this, partly because we can't really afford to order from the real menu, and partly because we get to try lots of different things! There was an accompanying wine selection that was matched to menu, but because I had to drive we didn't take it this time. Although, my wife did have a couple of wines that were really nice (and of course, I wasn't going to photograph the bottle in the waitresses hands...)!

In this place, we had a choice of a 4/5/6 course menu. I can't really eat cheese, and so it boiled down to a choice of the 4 or 5 course. We figured we had 2 hours before needing to pick up our kids from school, and so we opted for the 5!

Pre eats


Nothing too big to report at the start, it's bread in a fashionably ruffled paper bag! Although, I have to say, the butter was pretty great (and the bread too).


The poppadom and dip were really quite nice, they had spiced the poppadom somehow, so it was quite tasty. I find it funny how they will come up and describe the food in great detail!

First Course


I have to say, this was a great start! Raw Yellowfin tuna, seared pork belly and various veggies! I would have to say, they really led with a good dish, it would be hard to top this one! The pork belly in particular was just perfect and so tasty!

... and the caramelised disc (at the top) was also especially good!

Second Course


A dish of mussels, fennel and herbs! Mussels are big in Holland, usually cooked up in a white wine sauce and eaten with chips in the warmer months. Again this was a great dish, and I was starting to notice how much care they took in presenting the food, even angling the dish properly!

Third Course


Grilled Plaice with Peach and Hazelnuts! I would never have thought of serving fish with nuts and fruit, but surprisingly enough it really works! I guess this is why these guys are famous and do it for a living!

Fourth Course


BBQ Sirloin and Amandine Potatoes in Mustard Gravy! Weirdly enough, despite the look of the photo, this was the disappointment of the menu! The meat was oddly tough and too well done for my taste, I'm not sure if it was the way it was cooked or the cut of the meat. The steaks and meat from our French neighbour's BBQ last night were much better than this!

Fifth Course


Strawberries, Orange, Basil, Almondcake and Yuzu! Again, Basil in a dessert would never have occurred to me, but again, it works! The ice-cream was a strange taste but it was nice a refreshing (citrusy?), I'm guessing it was the Yuzu, as it was the only thing I couldn't figure out!

My Thoughts

Well, it is always great to treat yourself once in a while! I love eating at normal restaurants as well, but there is something really special about going to a really classy restaurant.

I think, over the years, we have been to about six of the Michelin (1 star) restaurants, and they are quite affordable if you want to have a nice treat once in a blue moon. Definitely not something that we can do each week or even each month, but once or twice a year is okay.

In our other classy restaurant experiences, we have never had a disappointing plate, so we were both a bit surprised to find one on this menu! Oddly enough, it was the dish that most steak houses or backyard BBQ's can get right!

In the end, I did enjoy most of the things on the menu, it would have been nice if we had time to also have the matching wines. We did do that last time, and it is astounding the difference it makes!




The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/07/16/our-1-star-michelin-lunch-ulog-11/

Sort:  

never knew that there a re great places and food in your country too... awesome!

Yes, even in Netherlands! Ha ha!

That looks spectacular! Just how I love to eat - trying small amounts of different things. The poppadom and dips looks gorgeous, and in the following course I would love the fish, but not the meat. I stopped eating meat about 25 years ago, but could never bear to give up fish because I love it so much. I wonder how that would go down in a restaurant like that?
Lovely idea to treat yourselves to a really special meal once in a while.

Depending on the place, they might try to substitute something else! Most places are pretty good for that these days. On this menu, they might have given you the cheese platter instead, which I couldn't eat because it normally makes me feel queezy!

Oh now I am hungry and just a tad jealous that you had such a fancy dining experience :)

Ha ha, what else is blogging and social media good for if you can't make someone envious!

But thanks for dropping by and reading, it was a great dining experience, definitely recommend a good food treat once in a while!

Wow! All those dishes look like little paintings :0)
The tuna dish with the pork belly got me all drooling, lol

One of my friend used to be the chef in a 1 star restaurant in Antwerp (I don't think they still have the star right now). We went there once, and although the food was awesome, I still feel bad for spending that much money on just food. It was a great experience, though. :0)

That dish was my favourite I think!

Think of it as the payment for years and years of training and experimentation that the chef needs to accumulate to be even able to attempt to create a dish like this! It isn't just the raw materials of the food!

You are absolutely right. Guess I'm just not someone that really appreciates that kind of art enough to pay that much for it. I'm just as happy with some greasy french fries from the 'frituur' around the corner, lol

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 199 (7/18/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thanks for the support!

Wow! Those courses looked so good!
I'm like you, when I read about the Basil with dessert... I would have never thought of doing something like that. Makes me want to dig and find a recipe with it, just to try it. LOL!
It's good to hear you guys had a nice time! The idea of going somewhere super fancy once a year doesn't sound so bad. I may have to adventure on this idea!

The Basil seemed to be really good with the fruits and the citrus ice-cream/sorbet.

Definitely a restaurant treat once in a while is something I can recommend! Especially with kids, it's nice to dress up and go out! (without the kids)

It looked fancy, niceeee
I know what you mean about taking pictures, but those captured the food quite nicely....
I have never eaten at one of these restaurants... also because of the prices.... something to think about though... for an occasion.
Thank you @bengy for the idea 😊

We also thought the same! But for a special occasion, and if you stick to the set menu for the one stars, it is surprisingly possible! Just not too often!

Did I really have to see those well presented delicious looking plates of food right before having to go make dinner?

Great idea finding good places to go once a year, we normally do that as a holiday treat when we go away.

Ha ha! Yes, my dinner looks nothing like this. I wonder if the chef takes so much care at home?

Looks nice. I haven't been to a Michelin star restaurant before. It looks like nice food at any rate. I've had some really nice multiple course meals at wineries etc down my way but nothing at the Michelin star level before.

I like the sciency side of food like molecular gastronomy and food science and I'm a fan of Heston (especially the original Heston's Feasts as that series was better than his later series) and I'm pretty sure his restaurants have a few Michelin stars. We finally got one here in Australia and he was there for a while but now he has chefs working there without him but it is still his dishes. Would be nice to go one day but it is quite expensive for one meal (would also include travel as we live in a different state too). I bet it would be awesome though.

The winery meals are also usually pretty amazing as well! Just a different take, these seem to be more art and flavour combinations in these restaurants, whereas the wineries and good restaurants aim for good food!

If you are interested in science in cooking, do you know this book?

IMG_20180717_100630.jpg

No I'm not aware of that one. I've got a couple of books related to science and cooking but I haven't come across that one before. I'll have to check it out sometime. Thanks for the suggestion.

That was a nice read. I think I might have to copy you on this idea. I enjoy going out but we don't make it out so often to a nice place. I never really thought of going for a 1 Star place and it being that nice.

We also don't manage to get out much, between work and kids! It is nice that when you get a chance, that you treat yourself! From the set menu, the 1stars are quite easy on the pocket!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43