Working Out With Will & Phil - Episode 9 - Squats Are Necessary!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

We invite you to join our leg day workout! For this workout we went decently heavy on squats and discussed the importance of squatting to build a solid foundation for muscle growth all over the body.

Our main exercises featured in the video:

  • Squats
  • Weighted Lunges 
  • Leg Curls 
  • Calf Raises 

As you can see we didn't do a whole lot of exercises, but we still exhausted ourselves with high intensity, reps and sets.

In the video we also talk about one of the more famous bodybuilders, Tom Platz and what he had to say about squatting. 

The Video

 

Pictures From The Workout 

About Working Out With Will & Phil

Imagine two best friends working out together and you are invited to join! Will & Philip routinely workout together and enjoy sharing footage of their lifts. The workout videos focus on both weightlifting and bodybuilding (hypertrophy) type exercises.The video series is also an endeavor to create shareable content that exposes people to Steemit.com. 

Other Working Out With Will & Phil Posts 

Follow Philip 👉 @dickdeepdog   

Disclaimer: The advice in this video or on my Steemit blog MUST NOT be substituted under any circumstances for medical advice. It is mostly my opinion based on personal research and experiences. I am not a licensed professional. Contact your physician for professional advice.  

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  

Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.

All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

Sort:  

niiiice man - hitting depth on the squats as well! I like it ;)

Question: squats have always caused me a problem in one of my hips and my low back. Is there a way around this?

Squats do strengthen your lower back, but you need a strong lower back to do them in the first place. You can work on this with low weight deadlifts and build up from there.
As for hips, look for different hip stretches and do them right before squatting. I can squat a lot more after I open up my hips with stretching.

Oh, ok. Thanks man!

I competively Olympic lifted (Clean and Jerk, Snatch) for some time and have also torn my Labrum in my hip, so I know a little about the hip and extenders. First off is breathing technique, do not take a deep breath into your chest, but rather breath down into your stomach, this allows you to use you diaphram to support your core meaning more muscle recruitment and stability. As far as hips go, try goblet squats and at the bottom of your range use your elbows to push out your knees, this will help develop solid hip mobility "in the hole" until you are ready to go to back squats. A glute ham raise back extension will also come in handy!

Very cool friend. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44