Feel The Burn: My Week 2 Results Of The CrossFit Open

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

CrossFit: 18.2 RESULTS

For those of you interested in my performance each of the 5 weeks of the CrossFit Open, I'll be posting my results each Tuesday after the Monday deadline. We have just completed the second week (18.2) of the five week competition.

Although I am a Coach, I'm NOT an elite athlete. I'm a just a person, very similar to you. I'm considered a Master's athlete in the age category 40-44 years. I compete and post about it because it's fun to take part in a world-wide event with my CrossFit Community, and it's an opportunity to test my fitness to see what areas need improvement.

Hopefully, it may also inspire others to step outside their comfort zone to begin a workout program or to even compete themselves, one day!


28514682_10155297885771845_9110520423582720872_o.jpg
Used with permission from Michelle Donavon Photography and Mark Donavon

What Is 18.2?

If you missed my previous posts about the what, when, why, how and where of the 2018 CrossFit Open, you can catch up with 18.1 here and 18.2 here. The second week of the Open caused us to “feel the burn”:


IMG_20180303_135619.jpg
Source


Feel The Burn

When I saw this workout as it was released, I was stoked! My favorite lift is the Clean and it's a strong lift for me. I felt confident about the DB Squats, even though I was concerned about the Bar-Facing Burpees. It was evident, however, that this workout would be a burner for the legs and the lungs! This workout has two scores:

  1. 18.2. = Time to complete the Squats and Burpees
  2. 18.2a = Weight of your heaviest Clean (if you get there under the 12:00 time cap)

I was nervous about getting to the Clean as a lot of people in our gym did not, but I tried to stay positive about it and do my best.

My results are below:


IMG_20180306_143625.jpg
Source


No Cleaning For Me

If you did the math, you'd see that I completed 8 reps of the DB Squats in the round of 10 before time ran out. I'm bummed that I didn't make it to the Clean, a place where I can shine, relatively speaking. But, it is what it is, and shows me that I need to improve my cardiovascular endurance and muscular stamina. That's what I LOVE about these competitions--a chance to assess my strengths and weaknesses.


IMG_20180306_134443.jpg
Source

Looking Ahead

18.3 will be released this Thursday at 7:00PM CST on The CrossFit Games Facebook Page. It's fun trying to guess what will be in the next workout; we even make a game it of it at our gym. I'm betting DB Snatch and Double Unders are coming up soon! My main goal is to improve over last year's standings. As you can see, I have some work to do:


IMG_20180306_134530.jpg
Source


Wonder Woman

CrossFit is more than just a workout for me... it's a Family of support, it's an arena for me to challenge myself, it's a classroom for me to learn and grow in many areas, other than just fitness. Each Friday during the CrossFit Open our Family has some fun by assigning each week a "theme". This week's theme was "your favorite superhero" and my girl, Hannah, nailed it!

CFE 18.2, 18.2A (13 of 82).jpg
Used with permission from Michelle Donavon Photography and Hannah Buerk

Thanks for following along and cheering me on; I need ALL the help I can get to showcase the Wonder Woman I KNOW I am!

CFE 18.2, 18.2A (42 of 82).jpg

If you need advice in beginning or continuing in a fitness program, comment below.


What movements do YOU think will be in the next CrossFit Open workout: 18.3?


To read my other fitness-related posts:

Fitness Challenge: 100 Situps
Get A Grip: Week 1 Results Of The CrossFit Open
What Is CrossFit?
Fitness Challenge: 100 Burpees

Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!



received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Awesome. Those burpees were definitely not my cup of tea either. They got hard really fast.

What did you get on the Clean?

Got a 268 clean in the end. Had to power clean it, I would not have been able to stand up with anything after doing the first part of the workout.

It’s a bit interesting to see how strong people are even with a heart rate up close to their max. Shows how much of our limitations are in our heads.

Exactly! It's amazing! We saw a lot of PRs. We often have days in our programming where we do strength from a pre-fatigued condition and you'd be amazed at how often people hit PRs.

Nice job on 268! Daaaaaaamn!

Yeah, we some times do lifting after the metcon as well. I think it’s a good idea to break the mold of the old warmup->strength->metcon template that almost every box seems to do now.

In life you don’t always get to choose when you have to lift something heavy. 😁

That’s EXACTLY right!

A lot of power glory to JEHOVAH and thanks Jesus Christ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65