Get A Grip: My Week 1 Results Of The CrossFit Open

in #fitness6 years ago

CrossFit: 18.1 RESULTS


For those of you interested in how I performed in each of the 5 weeks of the CrossFit Open, I'll be posting my results. Remember: Although I am a Coach, I'm NOT an elite athlete, as my results clearly show. I'm a regular person, just like you, who does CrossFit. I'm considered a Master's athlete (by age) in the age category 40-44 years. I do the Open and post about it because it's fun taking part in a world-wide event with my CrossFit Community. Hopefully, it may also inspire others to step outside of their "comfort zone" and begin a workout program or compete one day!


received_10209970778899480.jpeg
Photo Credit: used with permission from Jenny Griffith


What Is 18.1?

If you missed my previous post about what, when, why, how and where of the 2018 CrossFit Open, you can catch up here. The first week of the Open required us to “get a grip on ourselves”:


IMG_20180227_084712.jpg

Source


NOT My Workout

Afraid that this volume of Toes-To-Bar would destroy my grip, I borrowed a pair of grips (I don't usually use gymnastics grips as I have very small hands and have trouble gripping the bar). They DID prevent me from ripping my hands up; however, they ALSO prevented me from gripping the bar. As a result, my Toes-To-Bar were done as singles, and as you can imagine slowed me down tremendously.


My Results:

IMG_20180227_085249.jpg

Source


Onwards And Upwards

18.2 will be released this Thursday at 7:00PM CST on The CrossFit Games Facebook Page. Hopefully, something will come up in 18.2 that doesn't limit me quite as much; I can't wait to find out! My main goal is to improve over last year's standings. This is where I ranked last year in my age division:


Master's Division

IMG_20180227_075424.jpg

Source


World-Wide Stage

Here's where I currently stand on the world-wide leaderboard; this will shift a lot as there are LOTS of ties in this first week:


IMG_20180227_075257.jpg


In The Region

Compared to my ranking in my Region, the North Central Region:


IMG_20180227_075222.jpg


Uphill Battle

As you can see, I've got a ways to climb to get back to where I was last year and attempt to surpass that. But, who doesn't love an underdog? Thanks for following along and cheering me on; I need ALL the help I can get!


18.1 Live Announcement


Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Thankful to have you stop by the #steemexperience. Cheers knowing more locals are on steemit, especially one so interested in health and fitness. IMe or some other folks are usually around @SteemExperience so by all means any questions about steem, I'm happy to help best I can.
Be seeing you around more cheers!

Thanks @jacobts! Somehow, knowing there are people in your actual community who are in your virtual community make it seem more "real".

I'm interested to hang out with the @steemexperience group and get to know some new people and learn things outside of my current knowledge base. Thanks for inviting me!

Best of Luck throughout the games! I'm looking forward to following along in your competition :)

Thank you @hangryginger! It means a lot to have my fitness friends on Steemit cheering me on, especially one as awesome as you ;)

Nice content @coachjj!
I do running to keep myself healthy, but I guess the Mediterranean diet is really helpful as well.
You already got great stats, and as you said, we always judge and compare ourselves to the top of the pyramid.

Sometimes it's ok to take a step back!
Love,
Luca

Ahhhhh, Luca I love your name btw. Thank you for your encouragement! The field I'm in, it's hard not to judge so it's a daily struggle but I'm much improved. Have a beautiful day!

@coachjj. Enjoyed your journey. All the best in the competitions.

It's all about personal breakthroughs @coachjj! Proud of you. Keep pushing yourself to get back to your fitness level last year but don't push so hard that you forget to enjoy life.

Yes! Amen @digitaldruid! That IS what it's all about. We desire to be fit, so we can enjoy the life we've been blessed with. Thanks for your encouragement! How is your progress going toward getting ready for the Wedding Day?

Solid progress after reevaluating my nutrition plan and focusing on more veggies and less dense carbs. San Diego is gonna start getting warmer so more outside activities should help.

That's awesome! Keep it up! How long until the big day? Also, I'm super jealous that you live in San Diego!

Still better than last year according to the rankings and the fact that you are in the top 8000 in world of women to actually go do this puts you way ahead of the game! All that matters is how you progress.

Thanks @cygon. We judge ourselves harshly; is nice to have others help put it into perspective. I'm in competition with no one, just looking to progress my fitness and have fun with my friends!

Keep up the GREAT WORK @coachjj, your posts are stellar and your fitness vibes are so inspiring.

You've been upvoted and resteemed as part of the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. 🎈

OMG! This just MADE my day! I am truly honored to be highlighted by the #ladiesofsteemit! Thank you!

Keep it going @coachjj . I have been working out since I was a young boy around 1977. Weight lifting, running, hiking, climbing...so I can appreciate what you are doing.

This stuff really looks like it tests you in wide range of exercising.

Again, thanks for the Post. And we will root you on :)

Thank you so much @robertandrew! That truly does mean a lot to me. The encouragement of my Steemit community is amazing! That people I don't know irl take the time to cherr me on blows my mind! Makes me want to do better :)

courage to you, girls power! ^^

Thank you @lartist-zen! I appreciate your support 😊

@coachjj,

Excellent write-up. Thanks for the info.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Thank you @jaichai for stopping by and lending your encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65