'It's Not What It Seems'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter 7 from the English Fiction Novel: The War of Legendary Secrets!

Find all currently posted chapter exerts at the bottom of the page!

It's Not What It Seems

100_5100.jpg

I woke up to my body swaying back

and forth in a warm small bed. Where was I? The last thing I remembered was being grabbed. Just then, a man came to my side. He looked just like Itna.

“I am a healer, I was sent to ensure your safety in getting home,” he spoke gently.

“Thank you,” I mumbled.

“You’re welcome. You’re only about two hours from home at this point.”

Home… could it be? As happy as I was to be seeing my family, with no Kries, I felt so alone that all I wanted to do was lie there. I curled up in a ball, and cried thinking about how long it was going to be before I got to see him again.

The next time I awoke,

I was at Chloe’s in the same comfortable bed I was before I left. For a second, I thought that the whole trip with Alex and Kries had been a dream. Chloe was sitting on the bed, with a damp towel.

“Why am I here and not at home?” I asked her, groggily.

“Well, Alex said that it was best if your family did not know you were home until they returned.”

“Who knows when that will be? I take it you know where he really is?” I groaned as I sat up, not that I wanted to go home I just wanted them here.

“Yes, I know where he really is every time he says he is going sailing, though I let him think that I don’t as it makes him feel better. I would rather him think I am naive than him worry about me being worried about him while he is gone. He needs to be able to focus, not be distracted by me.”

“I get that, that’s why I didn’t fight with Kri… I mean that’s why I just agreed and came back; so as not to worry either of them.”

I realized I had almost slipped and told that Kries and I were together, that we were serious, and as I wasn’t sure if she knew yet or not, I didn’t want to be the first one to tell her. She nodded, slightly suspicious.

As if on cue to make things worse,

Lawrence walked in.

“Wait, I thought you said it was best if my family didn’t know?” I stuttered, panicking.

“He’s not your family,” Chloe stated plainly.

“Yes, but his brother is marrying my sister. Do you really think he won’t tell Morgan, who will in turn tell my sister?” I said feeling quite betrayed.

Lawrence stepped forward.

“I won’t tell anyone you’re here, I promise,” he slightly pleaded.

Seeing that I was trapped, I gave up.

“Fine. Would you kindly exit the room, so that I may get dressed?” I asked, frustrated.

With that they both bowed out.

I located my bag, and opened it. As I pulled out a dress to put on, a letter fell on the floor. I picked it up, and seeing that it was from Kries, I got dressed quickly and climbed out of the window. I ran to the dry sand closest to the ocean water, and sat down in it. All I wanted was to turn around and see Kries standing there, his smell was all over the dress. To be held by him, and laugh with him would cure my soul or so it seemed. As if by magic, a man sat down next to me in the sand. I turned, but to my dismay, saw it was Lawrence. Relentless he seems.

“When’s your wedding?” I asked casually, having slid the letter into my dress.

“What wedding? I am no longer engaged to Chloe’s granddaughter.”

He answered not taking his eyes off me.

“Sorry to hear that.”

“Are you?” he asked surprised.

“Yes, of course. Why wouldn’t I be?” I asked looking at him confused.

“Well, because you love me,” he looked down.

I patted him.

Poor guy had a burden he didn’t need to have. He looked up.

“Lawrence, I loved the idea of you. I wanted to be like my sister so much that I thought glamorous parties, and your lifestyle was what I wanted and needed in my life. Then when that didn’t work out, I thought it was because I was a lost cause who was never meant to be happy, not because it was not the life I truly wanted, and The Divine Spirit was sparing me from a life of utter disappointment, and no fulfillment. However, in recent days, I have discovered the latter, and I am unbelievably sorry that my naivety caused you to suffer. I am sure you are a wonderful man, but I am not in love with you, nor was I ever, as I have never known you enough to make that decision, nor has my soul,” I smiled.

“I’m sorry, what exactly are you saying?” he backed away from me slightly.

I sighed, seeing that I had offended him unintentionally.

“I went through a stage of heartbroken with you that helped me move on in the long run. My heart broke, shattered in so many ways, and I grew into a woman.”

He stared blankly.

*“So if that is the reason you are not marrying the Hatfield girl, because you think that you are obligated to me, because you hurt me emotionally, feel free to. Someone, somewhere eventually was going to show me what I really wanted in my life, and what I didn’t, and there really was no easy way to do it. I thank you for being honest with me, and not leading me on any further; and I wish you the best in your life, Lawrence. This family is a great family. So if it isn’t too late, you might want to think twice about deciding against marrying in to it. But please, don’t let yourself be held back by me, because I am not asking you too, nor do I want you too," I smiled and patted him. I stood up and stretched.

I was about to take my clothes off

and jump into the water, when I remembered: here, I am still a lady. Suddenly, as if the ocean waves were singing themselves, I could hear him, Kries playing his flute. My hair moved with the wind that brought his song. When it passed on by, I realized that it was a song of longing, and that there was a great chance I would not see him for a long time.

Leaving Lawrence to his own thoughts,

I made my way on down the beach to a log, where I could sit and read the letter. I pulled it out of my dress. As I unsealed the black wax that kept the envelope from opening, I was instantly reminded of his beautiful, soft black hair. I felt a tear fall down my cheek. I slid the letter out and unfolded it. Inside the letter, he had sent a single peach-colored rose petal. It felt so soft and smooth, and it smelled like the dew mist that comes after it has just rained. I slid it gently into the envelope to keep it safe. I wanted to read the letter, but part of me was holding back. I felt as if, if I read it, as soon as I was done, he would be gone, he would vanish and cease to exist. I sighed as I knew I couldn’t, not read it.

My dearest Clara,

I cannot imagine how hard it is for you, but I can describe to you what it feels like for me to know you will be leaving my side and my sight. It is like being the only person in the world to be told that they will live forever alone and unloved, and even though they know this, they cannot do anything to change it; they cannot die, they cannot live, they just are; forever alone. Doomed to wander the universe in search of a love they will never find. Without you, I feel I will be blind to the beauty in the world, as it will have left with you. For never forget, my angel, that you make the sun rise, and the moon come out at night, and without you, darkness prevails. The secrets of our time are great, but the greatest secret comes from within us. My love for you is stronger than any storm, and you are so much more to me than all the untold treasures of the world. My wings will always carry your heart, my arms will always hold you up, and no one can ever truly separate the interweaving of two souls as bound together as ours. I will do my best to remind myself of this every moment of everyday until I see you again, my love. Please be careful, as I am not there to catch you if you fall.
I love you, for always. Your man of your dreams,
Kriestoph Hatfield II

I couldn’t stop crying.

I was rocking back and forth, holding myself bawling. I had never been loved so much by anyone, except maybe by my father, maybe. And what made it so amazing was that I felt the exact same way about him. I missed him so much. I glanced down at the letter as I folded it back up. It had smeared slightly from a tear.

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!

Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.

All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/64bhag-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 1.2-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/43rwzy-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter I.3-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/7utm5e-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/5eofjw-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 2.2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2puvdn-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 3-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/3g72j9-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 3.2-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/751vel-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 4-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/26uetq-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 4.2-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/5mwxpb-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 4.3-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2nsxxc-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 5-Traveling Dangerously

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/6ttsd1-traveling-dangerously

Chapter 5.2-Traveling Dangerously

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/6rv4jj-traveling-dangerously

Chapter 5.3-Traveling Dangerously

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/traveling-dangerously-from-the-english-fiction-novel-the-war-of-legendary-secrets

Chapter 6-Itna, the Ancient Greek

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/7fgb25-itna-the-ancient-greek

Chapter 6.2-Itna, the Ancient Greek

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/4mq29h-itna-the-ancient-greek

Chapter 6.3-Itna, the Ancient Greek

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/6w5s9z-itna-the-ancient-greek

Sort:  

Great opportunity to read your articles. Glad i din't go to the library this Saturday. Thanks and have a good one!

Thank you! Followed you!
-Frolickin Raptors

a very interesting story of a friend

great story @frolickinraptors. good job. Thanks for sharing. i like your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88