'A Gala to Remember'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter 2.2 from the English fiction novel: The War of Legendary Secrets

Find all currently posted chapter exert links at the bottom of the post!

100_5693.jpg

I broke through the crowds of people

and ran through the huge kitchen, and out the glass door. I took off my black heels as I ran. Tears streaming out my eyes, and down my face, I ran to my willow tree. I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t speak, and I couldn’t do anything but cry. I knew people could see me and hear me from where I sat, so I broke off running down the hill to the dark water. No one could hear or see me there.

Genine saw me running through the crowd, and she knew something was wrong. She turned frantically to find Lawrence with her eyes. Then she spotted him, coming inside from off of the terrace with his head down, and rubbing his jaw. She walked quickly over to him, Morgan following behind her.

“Lawrence!”

He turned to see them, and approached them.

“What happened to Clara? I thought you guys were doing great?”

“Oh no, you told her?” Morgan asked.

“Yes,” Lawrence whispered.

“Wait, told her what?”

Genie looked between the men.

“Well…” Morgan started.

“Our father arranged my betrothal to the youngest Hatfield daughter,” Lawrence finished.

“Oh my god, I have to find her.”

Genie took off.

She broke through the clustered crowds, ignoring the stammers of concern, and the calls coming from Morgan and Lawrence. She pushed through the kitchen door and ran outside. Where was Clara? She could see that she wasn’t at her tree. She had to find her. She pulled her dress up, and started to run.

I cried and cried.

Finally I decided to undo my silk dress, and draped it across a smooth boulder, along with my corset, slip and tights. In my underwear, I ran out into the ruffled waves and dove in. It was cold, but not as cold as I felt. I swam and swam, making my way to my favorite cove. My heart ached. I had seen everything I wanted come with Lawrence, and then watched it all get taken away. Who was I kidding? I wasn’t met to live happily ever after, I wasn’t my sister, and I wasn’t a princess.

Genie ran down to the beach calling out for Clara.

“Clara! Where are you?”

When she saw the dress, she ran up to it, and looked out over the powerful ocean.

“Oh no,” she whispered to herself.

Then she heard Lawrence and Morgan as they ran along the beach to her. Morgan stared at Genie’s delicate hands and what she was holding. Lawrence grabbed the beautiful dress.

“No. No! Clara!”

He turned to the ocean and ran towards it, dropping the dress. He waded out to his knees.

“Clara! Clara! Please! I’m so sorry!! I would do anything, I’m so sorry!”

Genie turned and ran back up to the busy house. Morgan staid down with Lawrence and called for his sister-in-law.

Father searched all through the dark

night and the next gloomy morning trying to find Clara. No one could find anything. Father wouldn’t give up; he sent search parties by boat and land to look for her. He was crushed and refused to give up hope. Though he wanted to murder Lawrence for hurting Clara, he didn’t, instead he focused all of his attention into finding her. Lawrence took it even harder. He spent every waking moment sitting by the willow tree staring out into the vast ocean, praying for her return.

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!



Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.
All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1.1-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/64bhag-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 1.2-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/43rwzy-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter I.3-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/7utm5e-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/5eofjw-a-gala-to-remember

Sort:  

Excellent piece

Congratulations @frolickinraptors! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

lovely moments this photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91