'A Hatfield Distraction'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

Chapter 3.2 from the English Fiction Novel: The War of Legendary Secrets!

Find all currently posted chapter exerts at the bottom of the page!

A Hatfield Distraction

hatfield.jpg

“You need to send your father a telegrams

telling him where you are and what you’re asking, and that you would be gone for three months. You must tell him the truths, and you must listen to everything we tell you at all times... on the way to and during the trip.”

He leapt around as he spoke, throwing his arms in the air emphatically. His English was fair, but his Greek accent was apparent.

“I can do that.”

“Good! Then yes you will join us Clara.”

I jumped up with excitement, and started to run inside to get dressed, and then I remembered... I had no idea where a telegraphing station was.

“I beg your pardon, I rather fear I know not where the nearest telegraph station is…”

“Kries will take you in the carriages,” Alex replied not even looking away from the ocean.

I bowed slightly at Kries and he did the same in return.

I ran into my room, and closed the door. I used the clothes that were lied out for me, and quickly jotted down what I was going to tell my worried household.

ATTENTION: LORD & LADY JOSTANY

1673 BAY ROAD
PERTH AMBOY, NJ 56432
URGENT RESPONSE REQUESTED

DEAR PAPA,
THIS IS YOUR DAUGHTER CLARA WRITING TO BOTH APOLOGIZE AND SEEK PERMISSION...

"No..." I stopped and crumpled up the letter, and started a new one.

ATTENTION: LORD & LADY JOSTANY

1673 BAY ROAD
PERTH AMBOY, NJ 56432
URGENT RESPONSE REQUESTED

PAPA STOP
JOINING THIS YEAR'S GALLERY TOUR IN ITALY WITH LADY KELMINGTON AND COMPANY STOP BACK BEFORE THE WEDDING STOP
ALL MY LOVE STOP
LADY CLARA JOSTANY FULL STOP

RETURN ADDRESS C/O: MR. & MRS. HATFIELD
3465 SANDY POINT
PERTH AMBOY, NJ 56432

“Thank you for driving me,” I thanked Kries, on the carriage ride home.

“No problem, in about an hour, hour and a halfs, we should be delivered a response.”

He smiled at me,

and then continued looking out the window. 'Quit staring!' I thought to myself. I pulled my head in the opposite direction to look out at the landscape. When we got back I sat on the beach and waited for a response. Just as Kries had predicted, about an hour and fifteen minutes later, a man delivered a telegram addressed to me.

ATTENTION: LADY CLARA JOSTANY
C/O: MR. & MRS. HATFIELD
3465 SANDY POINT
PERTH AMBOY, NJ 56432

LADY CLARA STOP
GLAD YOU ARE SAFE AND WELL STOP ENJOY YOUR TRIP STOP
ALL MY BEST STOP
PAPA FULL STOP

RETURN ADDRESS C/O: LORD & LADY JOSTANY
1673 BAY ROAD
PERTH AMBOY, NJ 56432

Upon the realization that I had gotten away

with leaving without anyone truly knowing my plans, for the first time, I felt the relief of growing up flood my veins. I would be getting away from the intense pain of Lawrence in every way, and I would be in a part of the world I had never been, with two men I knew I would really grow to like. Life could be getting better… or little did I know a whole lot scarier.

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!

Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.

All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/64bhag-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 1.2-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/43rwzy-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter I.3-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/7utm5e-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/5eofjw-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 2.2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2puvdn-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 3-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/3g72j9-a-hatfield-distraction

Sort:  

amazing article we need to talk always truth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85