'Traveling Dangerously'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter 5.2 from the English Fiction Novel: The War of Legendary Secrets!

Find all currently posted chapter exerts at the bottom of the page!

Traveling Dangerously

be.jpg

“You know Alex, I can’t help but love Kries; it’s almost like a spell. I feel like I am part of him. Tell me the truth.”

“The truth about what my dear? Your feelings? It is not a spell; Kries is a wonderful man, who has hoped for you his whole life, as have you for him. Don’t question that, and don’t be afraid of it.”

I got up and hugged him tightly.

“Ooh, I love hugs. I very much miss Chloe.”

“Does she know what you are doing?” I asked.

“No, she thinks I am sailing. But I choose that, so as not to worry her,” he smiled and begun to read his book, which happened to be titled Rowan, and Its Many Uses. The picture on the front was of a plant leaf that looked something like a maple leaf, only it had very small barbs on it.

“Would that not hurt to ingest? Wouldn’t those barbs cut your throat and mouth?” I reached over and touched the cover of the book.

“You would think, but no. They recede into the leaf when they get wet. So if you roll up the leaf and lay it on an open wound the blood absorbs the leaf and you don’t feel the barbs. The leaf will dissolve into your blood or if you eat it, it will dissolve in your saliva. When it has made its way to the heart then the barbs come back out to attach its self. Though it seems there is nothing left, there are microscopic particles that come together and reform.”

As I sat there thinking,

my stomach rumbled, surprising me. And just as I went to get up, and go get some food, and try to find Kries (who had disappeared some time ago), Kries walked in to the compartment with a great smelling lunch.

“Could you hear my stomach down the hall?” I smiled, kissing him gently on the cheek.

“Yes I could, I thought it was a monster eating my grandfather,” he laughed.

“What did you bring us my fine grandson?” Alex asked excitedly.

“I brought us a variety of things, as they are all new to you, Clara, and I don’t know what you will like. This is Sarmale, which is cabbage rolls. I also brought smoked pork, pork sausage with beetroot and apple, meat pancakes with mushrooms or cheese, and Cozonaci cu nuca, which is walnut bread.”

“It all smells amazing; I’ll try any of it,” I smiled.

They both smiled and Kries dished us all out.

I got so full and happy off of this Romanian food, I felt like I should have been eating it my whole life. After lunch was cleaned up, Alex informed us that we only had an hour and a half left, so we should rest and prepare for an eventful evening.

Kries and I lied down on the one side of the compartment while Alex took the other. I laid there for some time before I finally gave up on sleeping, and got up and left the compartment. I still felt pretty out of place, especially when I noticed a pale man staring at me from down the hall. His eyes are so intriguing I thought to myself.

'So you are the girl with the visions, huh?'

I had been looking at him back, and had not seen his lips move at all. I wasn’t positive that I hadn’t imagined him speaking, so I looked out the window instead of responding to him.

Then I heard, 'Looking out the window, doesn’t stop me from speaking to you.'

I turned and looked at him. Then I thought, 'Can you speak to me in your mind?'

'Yes,' he thought.

“Well stop it, it’s the only private spot I have,” I said aloud, slightly apprehensive.

He laughed. Then he thought, 'Come here. Let me get a better look at you, Clara.'

“How do you know my name?” I said aloud, refusing to play this game with him.

'Don’t you remember me? I’m hurt. I thought the man on the stone bench would be more easily recognized,' he thought.

I started to panic, as I realized it was Dumitro.

“Now you remember don’t you?”

This time he said it allowed. Out of nowhere, Kries slid in front of me, furious.

“Dumitro.”

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!

Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.

All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/64bhag-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 1.2-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/43rwzy-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter I.3-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/7utm5e-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/5eofjw-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 2.2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2puvdn-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 3-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/3g72j9-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 3.2-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/751vel-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 4-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/26uetq-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 4.2-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/5mwxpb-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 4.3-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2nsxxc-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 5-Traveling Dangerously

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/6ttsd1-traveling-dangerously

Sort:  

good post, vote for mine please

Really fantasy. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94