'The Stuff of Nightmares'

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Chapter 4.3 from the English Fiction Novel: The War of Legendary Secrets!

Find all currently posted chapter exerts at the bottom of the page!

The Stuff of Nightmares

100_5048.jpg

When we entered my warm room,

it looked so cozy, different then what I was used to, but still cozy. It was made sort of like a cabin, there was a black bear rug, lit oil lamps, and a big fireplace that had a nice small fire going.

“Goodnight,” Kries said, bowing slightly.

He had stoked the fire, and was now ready to leave the room.

“Wait!” I spoke almost desperately.

“Hmm?” he cooed at me.

“I know this isn’t at all ladylike, but I'm afraid and I…” I glanced over at the large, empty bed.

“You want me to lays with you?” he asked smiling deviously though surprised.

I turned my head the other way,

for some reason I felt like I was about to cry. He could see how tired and sad I was and felt bad about it. He took his shoes off, and took both his vest and striped shirt off, leaving him in his fitted undershirt and slacks. He reached over and opened the blankets up for us. I still didn’t move, so he walked around the bed to me, and gently had me sit on the bed as he unlaced my boots. I knew what I was doing was so inappropriate. I just felt too drained to do anything about it, and I was scared of being alone. I trusted him, I barely knew him but I trusted him. He had already seen me in my underwear, so I guess it didn’t really matter at this point anyways. He stood me back up, unzipped me and lifted my dress over my head and off. I felt my hair hit my shoulders lightly. He then lied me down on the bed and undid the corset clamps that held my stockings in place. At this point I was a little short of breath, but I pretended it was the corset. He pulled my white stockings off, and made a comment about how I really wear way too many clothes. He finally got my corset off so that I was in my white cotton slip, and underwear and that’s it.

“Now Miss Clara, I think you are ready for bed. After twenty minutes of undressing," he grinned.

He smiled at me, and moved the off-white down comforter so I could lie down. I climbed in sheepishly.

“Do you still want me to sleeps next to you?” he asked in earnest.

“Please.”

With that he walked over to the other

side of the bed, pulled his slacks off, and climbed in wearing only his white undershirt and black boxers.

"Do you want me to turn the lamp downs?"

I nodded, feeling less awkward than he did. As I lied there looking up at him, whilst he turned the lamp down, I was overcome with the need to be held.

“Will you...will you please move closer to me, so I can feel you are there?"

He did this without hesitation. I could feel his chest against my arm, and his legs against mine.

"Do you want me to put my arm around you so that you know you are safes?”

I nodded. 'How could he be so sweet and understanding?' I couldn’t believe what I was doing; my stern mother would have a heart attack if she knew. He pressed his chest up against me even tighter and wrapped his muscular arm around me so that he was sort of holding me.

“Is that better?” he whispered.

“Yes…” I breathed, and then I looked at his calm face, his beautiful black hair, and into his soft brown eyes. I felt like I was falling through them.

“Why are you doing this for me?”

He smiled, “Because I care for you.”

I thought about this for a minute and then decided that rash decisions were all I could do at this point. So I leaned up and softly kissed him.

“Not that that wasn’t wonderful, but what mades you do it?” he said surprised.

I rolled over, slightly upset with myself.

“No, now, come here.”

He flipped me over so I was facing him.

“You were the good guy in my dreams; for the past month, my mind has had you in it, and…”

“And…” he gently brushed my dark hair out of my eyes.

“And... in my head I felt like you were my protector …and now that you’re right here, I'm scared to let you go.”

He was quiet for some time,

just watching me, as I played with his hands, and kissed his fingers individually.

“I…I need you to know something.”

My heart dreaded what I was sure he would say.

“Yes?”

“I don’t live a normal life, as you learned today, and you’ll always be in grave dangers. I care a lot about you, more than you can possibly understand right now and I don’t want you to leave my life either, but there is a risk in that that you need to be aware ofs.”

“So you aren’t already engaged?” I asked eagerly after a moment's pause, casually ignoring the grave danger bit.

“What? No,” he laughed.

“Good. Danger I can handle, a fiance I can't.”

I couldn’t believe what I was saying.

How was it I could be so wrapped up in Lawrence, and then not and now feel something for Kries, a sense of closeness like I had known him for years, that I hadn’t even felt with Lawrence? 'I guess that is the difference between infatuation and love,' I thought to myself.

“What are you thinking about?” he asked gently.

“About how much a heart breaking can change a person’s feelings for someone.”

“Are you sure you want me?”

“I'm sure,” I said, and I meant it.

He leaned in and whispered skeptically, “Really?” he said.

“Yes,” I smiled.

I started to gently cry as I leaned up and kissed his soft lips. He wiped the tears away.

“This is crazy Kries, we barely know each other.”

“I know, but I feel like we have been together our whole lives. Don’t you remember?”

“Remember what?”

He paused, “Nothing. We’ll talk about it later. We’re both drained. Time for beds?”

“Yes.”

I drew myself next to him as close as I could and wrapped my arms around him while I dozed off, thinking about what he had meant by that… remember what?

The dream I had that night, scared me more than anything I had ever experienced… up until that point at least.

There was Kries, tied with chains

to the stone bridge I’d drawn, overlooking the rough water below, with demons pinned against his body. They were going to rip his heart out. 'Kries!' I screamed. He saw me, and tried to scream at me to leave, before they found me, but was paralyzed and could do nothing but stare at me. I saw all of these pale, bloody demons circling me, and I didn’t know what to do, they had discovered that I wasn’t a Greek. I could see Alex was being attacked behind them, and Kries was soon to die as well. They circled in closer and closer, until I was backed against the side of the cold bridge. Dumitro reached his deadly hand forward, and inches before he touched me I woke up screaming.

Kries quickly sat up and assessed the situation. Seeing that it was only a dream, he cooed me into his arms, and back to sleep.

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!

Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.

All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/64bhag-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 1.2-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/43rwzy-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter I.3-1882: The Start of Something New

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/7utm5e-1882-the-start-of-something-new

Chapter 2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/5eofjw-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 2.2-A Gala to Remember

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/2puvdn-a-gala-to-remember

Chapter 3-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/3g72j9-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 3.2-A Hatfield Distraction

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/751vel-a-hatfield-distraction

Chapter 4-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/26uetq-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Chapter 4.2-The Stuff of Nightmares

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/5mwxpb-the-stuff-of-nightmares

Sort:  

wow. a very nice piece, everyone likes on this, good luck @frolickinraptors
hopefully always be healthy and successful greetings..
do not forget vote and follow me, thanks friends in steemit

Thank you! Followed you!
-Frolicking Raptors

Great fiction my friend... So, romantic words... and you describe the scene so completely that I felt like the couple is hugging in front of me and I am in that room....

Thank you dearly! Followed you!
-Frolicking Raptors

Very good photo. I followed and upvoted you :)

Thank you! Followed you!
-Frolicking Raptors

It's so candid and clearly written amazing piece of fiction.

Thank you! I appreciate that! Followed you!
-Frolicking Raptors

That's an honour for me. Thanks.

Thank you! Following you!
-Frolicking Raptors

Saludos a qui tu seguidor, muchos exitos y un fuerte abrazo desde Venezuela!

Thank you!
-Frolicking Raptors

Te invito ha pasar por mi post,como yo lo estaré haciendo por el tuyo:')

Upvote you nice job dont stop !! Upvote me back please

Thank you! Following you!
-Frolicking Raptors

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92