A Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma - Day 11

in #faithinhumanity6 years ago (edited)

Please read the last one [Closure].

To inspire and encourage more positive vibes on Steemit, here's your Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma!

[Seizing Your Opportunity] Robert Smalls was born into US slavery in 1839, but wanted none of it when led a small crew of fellow slaves to steal a Confederate civil war ship after the crew leaders disembarked. Robert dressed in captain's clothes and concealing straw hat, learned the proper coded hand signals to pass guard ships, and stopped along the way to rescue others. Once he reached open waters, he hung a white sheet from the mast and sailed directly to the Union ship blockade to surrender and earn freedom for all aboard. Perhaps this is common knowledge in US history books, but I seem to have forgot about it.

This courageous act was not the last we'd hear from Robert, as he ultimately become a war hero to serve 5 terms in Congress for the state of South Carolina. Amazing! This just goes to show what just one leader is capable of when they don't accept the injustice forced upon them. His spirit and willpower completely changed his and many other lives for the better because he chose to take action.

This reminds me of a quote I once had on a fortune cookie of all places, which I've remembered for many years:

“A ship in harbor is safe — but that is not what ships are built for.” — John A. Shedd

[The Spirit Of Giving] Every holiday season, an elderly man in Pennsylvania puts up the best decorations in town. While neighborhoods often compete for the best lights on the block, and crank up their electric bill, this person puts out a tree decorated only with supplies for the needy. I don't know about you, but this exemplifies the true meaning of this holiday, and sends the right message to the community. There is no shame in receiving help from others who need it, and, more importantly, there is no shame in openly giving to those in need.

[Closure] My Dad recently died after a grueling and drawn out process. From what we learned, it was apparently not your normal send off. While virtually everything else gave out, his heart would simply not give up. He kept trying to talk, but no words would come out.

With constant encouragement that it was ok to leave his body, we could see him resisting between waves of limited consciousness. We were all there by his side in our home giving him permission to go, but he wouldn't. After 30 minutes of sleep on this particular day, after almost a week of barely resting, I had to take a nap to make sure I could stay awake when others needed their turn. I left the room for a few hours and passed out. According to both hospice nurses there then, they couldn't understand how he was still carrying on for so long in his condition while I was away.

While he wasn't the kindest person to me because he projected repressed issues on me, something beautiful happened just after I returned to complete the family circuit. Once I joined my family at the bed, my brother spontaneously had us all join one of our hands with his like a group fist bump, as we used to do at holiday dinners with our glasses. Almost immediately after that, while completely unconscious, he took his last small breath and died.

While I've learned a lot through this process about him and myself, I feel that I finally know why he acted as he did towards me. I'll probably write about this another time as it helps me tremendously to do so, and also to give an example to others so they may get the courage to face situations of their own before it's too late.

Regardless of all else, the moment he died was peaceful, beautiful, and poetic. Everyone was calm and understanding of the gravity of what seemed to make him let go. While death is tragic, something special definitely happened in that moment when I came back. I wouldn't say it was anything personal to me, but it was certainly clear that I completed the puzzle he was waiting for from whatever view he had. Powerful stuff...

Thanks so much for reading.

My Series:

Sources: 1, 2

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Thank you everyone for your support throughout this very personal process. Writing to a genuine audience for this challenging phase of my life significantly helped me work through my own thoughts, and handle the situation as best as I could've possibly done. It means a lot.

Now I can also get back to making my normal punchline jokes!

Please accept my condolences Matt. Just know that we are here for you, and that we all think you are an awesome guy ! You deserve closure, and to continue life being happy !

My condolences Matt. I personally have always had great difficulty in dealing family (or close friends) passing so I end up having great difficulty in finding words of any sense on the occasions that it affects people I know, so sorry if it comes out a little awkward.

There is a theory that we are only here as a way for our genes to replicate themselves (I'm not particularly religious but just bare with me if that's ok). We are a copy of a random selection of genes that belong to our parents. You are evidently and obviously a good person, from a sense of justice to a great heart you have qualities anyone would be proud of. Irrespective of your thoughts on nature vs nurture your genes lay the foundation upon which you as a person are built.

The part I have the most difficulty with when someone close passes is the hole that remains, a hole of a very specific shape which they used to fill perfectly (for good or bad).

For you it will be difficult for others around you I think it will be easier, for you will be able to remind them of the of the best parts of your Dad and if you are really lucky, you might become (or already are) the man your dad wished he was.

Or maybe I'm just talking out of my arse, I don't know you very well after all.

Wow, thank you. These were fascinating new concepts to consider as alternative perspective to reshape some of my impressions while they're still setting. Solid advice. If this is you talking out of your ass, I can't imagine what brilliance would come out of the other end!

My deepest condolences.There is no doubt that you are an important piece of a family puzzle your dad built

@steemmatt my sincerest condolences to you. Your father carries a very special place in you and now this very personal, deep part of you is gone. It will take some time to heal. Just take it as it comes over the next days and weeks.

That silence you felt is the passing of the soul into another state of being. It's only the body that dies; the soul lives on and continues to evolve. Sounds like the angels were there to help it along. It is beautiful that you were able to experience that peaceful, calm Silence.

My condolences, Matt. Take care and peace to you and your family.

Sorry to hear about your dad. At least, he's not in pain anymore. Wishing you and family strength and comfort. Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69