A Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma - Day 6

in #faithinhumanity6 years ago (edited)

I want to inspire and encourage more positive vibes on Steemit. Comedy is one approach, and this series is my second.

Here's Your Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma!

[Bearing Gifts] Campbell Remess is a 13 year old boy from Australia who makes teddy bears for sick children at Royal Hobart Hospital. He initially wanted to buy presents for them, but with eight siblings, it wasn't viable. Instead of tabling his idea until he was older, he started making his own teddy bears, and has made more than 1,200-1,400 over the span of several years. 1,200-1,400+. Think about it.

Can you imagine how much more successful someone with this mentality will be in their future when they've already demonstrated their understanding of hard work, compassion, and solid values, while most kids are playing with their phones? I'm sure his parents raised him well and are very proud of his consistent dedication to helping others.

The mission of his project is "to make people happy".

Please see the full video linked here.

[Caring For Your Customers] This Oregon dry cleaner's idea is nothing short of genius. First, they're addressing the biggest need of helping needy people have one less thing to worry about in their search for employment, while also helping them be their best and more confident. Second, this is great marketing for them as leaders and philanthropists. Third, and what gets me most, is that I bet that every person who took advantage of this service will be paying customers for life when they get back on their feet. It must be so rewarding as the business owner to see people come off the street, and return later with the means to proudly pay for their services.

[Paying It Forward] I can't confirm if this was truly his first salary, but we get the point. What would you do with your first paycheck from your first job? I'd imagine that most would treat themselves to something nice, as they've earned the money and undeniable right to do so. However, how many of us would think of sharing our first paycheck with those who are underprivileged? I admit that I didn't do this, but Steem will help me make up for lost ground. This man's gesture is the epitome of paying it forward, and the true definition of privilege in my book; being able to give to others in need when you have the means.

[Respecting Your Elders] Everyone was young once. As people age into their elder years, society often leaves them in the dust. As an active athlete, I'll never stop playing baseball until I'm physically incapable. The love of the game will never leave. In this case, Bryan Sperry, 89 in the video, was a college football player back in the 1940's, who played in the 1948 Orange Bowl. More importantly, he served in WWII at the Battle of the Bulge and is a hero.

Watch the joy in this man's face at the end of the video as his body feels a rush of adrenaline it probably hasn't felt in many decades. He became a kid again. It just shows how the love of sports is more than just a game for some.

Watch...

If you know an elderly sports fan, invite them to have a catch or to see a game. They may not remember how much it meant to them.


I hope this was uplifting. Please see previous posts below, spread the message, and follow for more.

My Series:

Please see a big part of my inspiration for this.

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Very uplifting @steemmatt. At 89 years old, Bryan Sperry he still knows how to run. He is following his blocking perfectly. And he is radiating happiness. What a great thing to do.
As a senior citizen, I can really appreciate what that means for him.

Step 1: Wake up.

Step 2: Check out this post.

Step 3: Hug my kids.

(Steps 2 and 3 are interchangeable based on whether or not my steemmania woke me up before them...usually does).

All were awesome but I loved what you closed with. The dude ran more than 60 yards without falling over. I can't even do that now.

Wow.. Always writing inspiring stories.. These great and kind works are amazing... That of the 13years old boy is so touching.... They are heroes.. Thanks for the post...We should learn from their kind deeds and to likewise. Thanks.. GREAT POST

Definitely some inspiring stories here. We are so attached to ourself trying to figure out how we can be more happy, all we have to do is stop focusing on ourselves for a bit and give this energy and focus to others - that's all that's needed - still so many don't know how to do that

Inspiring deeds and inspiring individuals. I especially loved what little Campbell Remess is doing at his age. At 13, I was busy playing around with my friends and neighbourhood kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44