A Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma - Day 10

in #faithinhumanity6 years ago (edited)

Please read the last one.

To inspire and encourage more positive vibes on Steemit, here's your Daily Dose Of Faith In Humanity & Good Karma!

[Blue Angel] Steve Mitchell, born with Down Syndrome, was a huge Duke Blue Devils basketball fan. In 1980, the only thing Steve wanted for Christmas was a Duke basketball ticket. By luck or fate, Steve's brother owned a construction company that was hired to renovate Coach K.'s house. In an effort to grant his brother's wish, he asked how he could get a ticket, to which Coach K. responded "He can sit behind me".

With Steve's wish granted in the best way possible, he wrote back to Coach K. just before the next season saying, "Coach, I know we're going to have another great year. I was hoping that I could sit near you again." Instead of having his fan mail handled by admin, Coach K. personally wrote back agreeing to the request... and they exchanged the same letters for 36 more years before his death last year! Wow.

I think that this gives valuable insight into the character of a sports icon behind the scenes, where he's often viewed as a stoic man on the court. More importantly, it also granted Steve immeasurable confidence, happiness and joy year after year. Here is a picture of them shaking hands as they did before every game. It's also worth noting that Steve enjoyed emulating Coach K. during games and could often be seen on TV acting the part.

[Honoring The Fallen] What better way to pay homage to your brethren lost on 9/11 than climbing the height of the World Trade Center Towers as a tribute?

As a result of that fateful day, 343 firefighters lost their lives. While the highest a firefighter reached was the 78th floor, firefighters and first responders around the country voluntarily climbed 110 stories of stairs (about 2,000 steps) in full gear last year. I can assure you that nobody complained about a single step, no matter how hard the climb was.

[Parallels] I wrote this sitting with my family next to my Dad who has a few hours left to live. We've been up all night, with little sleep for days during the final stages. I thought it'd be nice to explain some fascinating coincidences here since it helps me cope...

One of our amazing home hospice nurse's Dads commuted to work with my Dad on the same bus for many years decades ago. Our nurse's husband was "randomly" my first drum teacher when I was in middle school, and I took my first drum lessons exactly where my Dad is in the living room now. This is also the exact spot where my parents were married 36 years ago, where there beds have been adjacent for the last two weeks. Our home hospice nurse and my first drum teacher also moved in as our neighbors a few years ago, and this has been immensely helpful for her support on short notice around the clock. I've developed a new understanding and respect for the work done by hospice care takers. The value of their care, sensitivity, and demeanor is incalculable.

Regardless of whatever nuances or difficulties get in the way of your day-to-day, please take the time to appreciate the gift of life, good health, and family as much as you can. Value every day you have and every loved one in your life. When it comes down the end, only love and peace matter.

I started writing these types of posts to help me focus on positives and personal growth during this phase. Thanks for reading and for your support.

My Series:

Sources: 1, 2

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Dear @steemmatt, I too have at times have a strain relationship with my own. As a father I speak the truth, he loves you greatly, even if pride and arrogance (or even life) does not allow him to show it any more, believe that wholeheartedly, he loves you and in life (especially in the long run) you will never regret showing love to others.

Any powerful candid message like this coming from a brilliant Doctor such as yourself must be followed by an invoice, right?? I joke, but your approach/wisdom here was really powerful to read.

I've learned a lot about the power dynamic flip that was likely the root of all of this, stemming from his own childhood (as we learned some of his 7 siblings have similar behavior). It makes a lot of sense to help me have a better grasp on the cause and symptoms fueling his behavior over the years. Perhaps sharing some of my experience can help others relate, realign and mend in some way.

Thank you very, very much.

You are Awesome @steemmatt!

Thank you very much for reading this and your kindness.

May God be with you during these tough times! praying for you and your family right now. Its far too easy to take health and family for granted. Awesome post man made my week.

Thank you very much for reading and taking the time to respond with this.

Hey @Steemmatt, thank you for sharing from your heart. Oh gosh, I can't stop crying, is that crazy? My father died and I was in a different country. He was old school, worked hard, didn't say much and I felt we had a lot left unsaid. I just became an adult when he died but it still hurts when I think about him today. In the end, I think what hurts the most is that I didn't get to say good-bye. All the other things, that he did or I did, what was said or unsaid, seems insignificant compared to that. I guess, I just wanted to say that it's really inspiring to see how you're staying positive through all this and not just that, you want to share and encourage others. That's just awesome!!

Oh no!! I'm usually supposed to make you laugh!! Hopefully you were able to cheer up after you were able to flush out some of your emotions. It's healthy, I've learned.

I can see how you relate from your own difficult experience. There's a certain unease when things are unsettled at the end without the peace you need inside. While you can learn to cope with it, it's something you feel you'll never be able to completely have, and that is hard to live with when the feelings are stirred.

While I got some closure, I'll learn to live with what I didn't get as you have too. Most of my closure had to be manufactured with my Mom whispering him things I wasn't able to say myself, and saying some final words to him on my own when he was still listening. My main goal was to tell him I'd figure out how to handle the pain he caused me so he can be at ease to move on. My Mom repeatedly reminded him of this and other promises she asked him to try to keep for me, so I'll have to rely on hope and faith for the rest.

We can only worry about what we can control, and be happy that we did what we could. I believe that the spirit carries on, so perhaps you can still speak to him for your peace, and he may be listening.

Thank you for your genuine reply and support.

Yeah, I enjoy a good cry every now and then....just helps release all the stress and pent up emotions.

God bless, indeed life is the most unappreciated in todays society, as people are to worried about the future and forget about today and what's in front of them. Keep inspiring and keep sharing your positive vibes!

Preach on preacha! Thanks so much.

@Steemmatt, your posts are always uplifting and encouraging, and always a reminder to focus on the good and appreciate one's life. This one is especially touching and heartbreaking. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this time. I hope that you will find comfort and strength in one another and come to peace as the time for your dad's passing draw nearer and nearer.

Thank you for sharing and keep on inspiring.

Thank you for taking the time to let me know my words are well received. We're in recovery mode now, so hopefully I'll be able to uptick the vibes a bit more to not be such a heartbreaker anymore! I appreciate your wishes too.

You inspire us all with your positive outlook. Thanks mate.

Thank you for returning the vibes to make it worth doing.

Hey sexyMatty, thank you for sharing something beautiful during this difficult time, my heart goes out to you & your family. Will get the word out so your experience may lift & encourage others.

Thank you very much. I never shared personal stuff like this at all, but this semi-anonymous platform has been a natural go-to just to get my thoughts out and see what the universe brings back. You've been a great help.

We should value everyday and your loved ones,what a powerful post and am really sorry about your dad.All will be well.

Thank you very much for taking the time to hear what I was saying and reply with these nice words.

The stories are so sad but it is good when hope,faith and love emerge from them🙏

Thanks so much for reading and for your thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68737.86
ETH 3840.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62