Freewrite Day 572 Room Service

in #esteem5 years ago

hmxcnonl4s.jpg

As much as I have lived in hotels in my life, I have not had a lot of room service. I am too cheap for that. I prefer to know what I am getting and pay less than room service rates.

I had one traveling job that encouraged room service. I was part of a roving band of about 200 consultants for about a year and all of us were working very long hours, traveling a lot, and almost never home. I could be on the road for three weeks and go home for a weekend and then right back out again.

The company wanted us to stay in very good hotels, get room service, have our laundry done by the hotels, and anything else that would keep us happy on the job. Money was no object as long as we did not quit! This was a job with very high turnover as the road burnt people out fast.

I learned from that year, that room service and all hotel service is not all it is cracked up to be. Your food might be late, it might not be what you ordered, it’s going to be very expensive, and might also be cold.

I also like to get out. When you live in hotels, it is tempting to never leave the room. Going out to eat at least gets you out into to the world if only for that meal.

Finally, my very worst room service downside is tipping. I never know how much to tip and go big if I can afford it. The person slogged the food up to my room after all, so that is worth a lot to me. Then I look at the bill and even feel worse!

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow Tips!

My April 2019 Minnow Tips Update Series:

Part One - General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Part Two - Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Part Three - Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
Part Four - How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Part Five - Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Part Six - Enter contests on STEEM and win!

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfun

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, dpolls and song lyrics.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 96% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

You are awesome, @magicdice. Thank you so much for the boost :)

That sounds like some job. I guess there are worse jobs than being room service, like a maid.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I think maid would be very difficult, @wandrnrose7. I know I could not do that work.

I totally agree. Hotels are like black holes. They pull you in like Clown It in the sewer. It's tempting. I've stayed at some hotels in Vietnam and America. Hotels can be nice but the only thing better could be hostels where you get to meet other people in the same room. I stay at some hostels in Saigon, Vietnam, and I met people from all around the world there. For the most part, you go into the hostel to sleep on your bed and that is it. Then you get up and you go out for the day and have fun. Hostels kind of have that atmosphere to push people out faster than hotels. When you are alone in a hotel room, you may be less motivated to leave. Well, you could still be motivated if you are alone, because you are lonely, that is if you are too lonely. But then again, in a hostel, if there are others in your room and then they leave, you may, psychologically, feel more inclined to get up sooner and go as well. So, I guess it depends on a few factors.

I stay in hostels most of the time now when I travel. I like them so much more than hotels.

Awesome. Sounds like fun.

I don’t think I would like to live constantly in hotels like that!! For some reason, whenever I’m in a hotel bed, I can’t stop thinking about how many other people have slept there.. aaahhh 🙄

Haha! I am lucky not to have that problem given how much I travel.

You have travelled a lot Sharon and good authority on this prompt.

I thought of a lot of other room service experiences after writing this. Most of them were not worth it!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Definitely never had room service, closest thing was on trains getting morning coffee delivered to the compartment... not quite the same.

Hotels one normally went down to the dinning room, not in my bracket Sharon, no comment.

Haha! Not for me either these days. I eat as cheaply as I can now :)

I don't think I would like to be on the road for work @fitinfun, here's today's prompt. 💕

MomentCam_20190516110021.gif
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-573-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-inbox

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not easy, but I like it. I'm not too happy staying in one place. Thank you so much for the reminder!

Hi @fitinfun!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.033 which ranks you at #1078 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1081).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #67.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@fitinfun, Without any doubt, many people think about the Economical Rates and Room Service before booking an Hotel Room.

Posted using Partiko Android

Unless work is paying, lol :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97