Open Letter To Steem and EOS Programmers and Application developers:steemCreated with Sketch.

in #eos7 years ago

Hi Dan Larimer, Ned Scott, all blockchain programmers and application developers!

I wish to make this clear, I am not posting this as a fearful prediction - I am offering my observations, constructive criticism with a few suggestions.

I am inviting @dan , @dantheman , @ned , @andrarchy , and all blockchain programmers and executives to comment and discuss.
If not here to this post as a courtesy, then on their blogs or a open forum with the url posted for all steemians to discuss and share.
I am asking for these types of discussions that need to happen with great frequency (and if they are currently private then provide more open forums for these discussions without jeopardizing required security specifics) for threat management, social awareness, and proactive considerations.

I weep as I write this, because debt bondage has existed far too long!
Gold as money is not the solution.
Neither are cryptocurrencies.
Ignorance of the truth breeds slaves, or expressed another way:
Knowledge of the Truth makes a man unfit to be a slave. ronmamita

Free Source & Collaborative Tech

Please consider these issues in future application developments, the personnel services, the user-friendly environment, the user/member discussions, and Amplifying social awareness - we all should benefit from the full transparency and the collaborative technologies for a freedom nurturing platform environment.
Something no corporate-government can duplicate with their proprietary systems based in debt, taxation, and control over the populous and end users.

I shall be blunt, because this is a real threat based on what these corporations and corporate-governments have done in the past!
The ruling class know how to get rid of freedom nurturing independent competition.
They will not voluntarily relinquish their control over the worldwide monetary debt-bondage-system.
The ruling class do not want a truly independent and free people, and neither do they want a decentralized free market.

Consider This Possible Threat Scenario:

Imagine Microsoft buys wordpress, and joins a prestigious consortium with collaboration and contracts with Google, IBM, U.S. gov, Federal Reserve, IMF, Goldman Sachs, Associated Press (AP), Bitbay, Amazon, overstock, and others that uses nearly identical blockchain programming as EOS for the central bank's new virtual currency, blockchain-social media, blockchain-wallet connected to worldwide financial transactions with a worldwide standard mandated by new regulations and embraced by all governing members in the IMF - that is 188 or more nations worldwide!

How would or how could EOS defend itself against that?

One proactive measure is, as I said above, to be transparent and freedom nurturing through Free Source, and with collaborative discussions with developers, personnel and subscribing members.

Have open forums to discuss the globalists' plans, regulatory threats, and appropriate responses.
People want to be free.
And this social awareness and truth seeking nurtures freedom where subscribers are unlikely to leave free source tech to jump on board the globalists' new proprietary and regulated offerings.

That would be the exact opposite to what happened when Microsoft stole DOS, and GUI ("WINDOWS") operating systems and then people jumped on board; when Facebook copied social media then people jumped on board; when Google copied the search engine then people again jumped on board!

Those corporate giants didn't invent and they were not the first, but they had bank funds, lucrative contracts, and access to capital to provide reliable services.
Who remembers:

  • DOS or DR DOS?
  • BBS or FidoNet or Compuserve or even MySpace?
  • "Archie" or Veronica & Jughead?

What will happen when the next repeat occurs, and the globalists launch their version (a copy from Steem and EOS) of a government approved blockchain operating system for social media and central banking approved blockchain wallets?

It is not an accident, it is Policy. @ronmamita


...

I've only been with steem for a month and I appreciate how Dan Larimer's programming tackles the blockchain issues with social media and a blockchain operating system leading the way for mass acceptance and operability.

I recall my professional career when I sought strategies to maintain high morale, quality assurance, and safety by incentivizing new and junior workers to be observant and submit suggestions and comments.
The new blood are generally the most likely to see problems, offer surprisingly fresh innovations, and suffer low morale.
With that observation in mind I offer these requests to be discussed by blockchain programmers and application developers:

  • Great potential for censorship abuses - the flag/mute feature
  • The popularity meme - whale surfing is the culture, rather than quality content
  • Missing user-friendly features common to most social media platforms (and vital for blogs) - resteems clutter profile pages and the lack of filter/search features makes it a massive chore to find my own posts!
    Separating the resteemed from the authors' original posts would help.

Please share these concerns in discussions and with programmers so improvements and advancements can flow.

Thank you all, for your wonderful efforts and wishing you joyful living!

Related Posts:


If you find this information useful or of value then please share it with others.

Re-steemit forward. Re-steemit so others can see this too.

If you like this post, do not forget to upvote or follow me and resteem

Sort:  

I have written thoroughly about the same subject, and share similar views...however, I see the "corporate takeover of blockchain technology" like this:

;)

Let them try

@chris-bates FANTASTIC!
I downloaded and listened to the audio recording: Build Liberty Radio, FAST 2017-07-09 and posted my comments afterwards:
Is The Blockchain Infected With Government Agents, Mafia, Spies, and Deceptions? Who Are The Influencers?

Please share the links to your past posts and/or to the source material as evidence, so we may research further.
Thanks for stopping by to share and comment - you are not alone, brother!

Hi @chris-bates I went searching for your Bitland efforts at:
http://landing.bitland.world/
but the webpage is static, is there another source of information for the Bitland digital registry?
I find other websites that may be associated with your efforts, such as the Ghana effort:
http://bitlandglobal.com/

I wish to comprehend what is happening with the bitland concept, your assistance is appreciated.

Thanks so much for this post! As a new steemer, I could not agree more with the issues you raise here. I want a more user-friendly steemit with additional ways of posting and of categorizing my posts. And, yea, highschool all over again with the goofy whale hierarchy baloney. Why is steem power based on steem wealth? Ugh. Isn't that why we are choosing blockchain and crypto- bc we are soooo tired of the Sumerian stranglehold on humanity!

@dakini5d without many resteems I doubt the execs and programmers will see the letter.
I'm pleased you saw this and thanks for commenting 👍

I hope EOS doesn't fall due to the corporate takeover of blockchain applications that seems to be imminent. With that being said I still have high expectations for EOS over the next couple of years. Hopefully EOS will make government irrelevant!

@flatearthvegan Ha-ha Dan's quote is a very challenging goal! LOL 😃
If he would agree to a recorded discussion with me, I would ask him where is his armed security forces?

Perhaps he is convinced the worldwide mass awakening will result in grassroots, leaderless mass populous noncompliance & boycotts, and thus disrupting institutions by stop feeding the beast...

Do you think any blockchain programmers or executives will reply to my post?

I just described this same scenario today to some friends. I absolutely expect someone big enough to bum rush the blockchain technology by overloading it with massive processing power. As you said this has happened before it'll happen again. History repeats!

@goldkey thanks for caring, sharing, and commenting 👍

I know what you mean about resteeming. You can use steemdb.com to find your own posts very easily, but it is off Steemit. I think I read somewhere that they're working on more user-friendly features.

@doule yeah I still am not accustomed to 3rd party applications with the exception of https://steemnow.com/
all the others I am exploring but am challenged to use as a routine.

We used to have more open discussion here on steemit when we where smaller. I don't see allot of discussion now do to the fact that I don't see many posts. I'm sure they are there but it's getting more difficult to be apart of the discussion. We @exploretraveler are considering going to steemfest just to be able to understand what is planned and going on. Great post and keep writing away until you get an answer.

@johngentry I'm pleased to meet you, thank you very much for reading and commenting!
The evidence for the establishment creating a digital battlefield for controlling the digital (cashless) economy is overwhelming.

  • Goldman Sachs' patented cryptocurrency
  • IMF's SDR on a blockchain
  • Central banks' virtual currencies

Are but a few revealed before the actual new policies and regulations are enforced.

To address the first issue I don't see flagging as censorship because the data is still written on the blockchain and we can guarantee the immutability of this data, flagging just makes the content harder to find compare to censorship where it is totally removed. So I don't think flagging is endangering freedom of speech because anyone can still post whatever he/she wants and anyone that wants to find this content can find it. As for the mute button I believe everyone has the right to choose which content he/she decides to see (kind of the same with nsfw).
For the last issue I agree that separating resteemed and your own posts would be a nice feature which could be added as an option. But then this is just front-end work and has nothing to do with the backend/blockchain, people are free to create their own webpage and display the data on the STEEM blockchain the way they like it.

Hi Walter @walterjay thanks for reading, voting and commenting, I appreciate your efforts very much.

I had reservations about including the steemit.com controversial features into this post, as it distracts from my main point, the Mass Awareness issue and intentionally providing more discussions to increase awareness.
Sigh, the only reason I included the controversial steemit features in this post is because I thought that most likely no programmers and execs will see it but in case they do read this then as a insurance (because this may be my only opportunity) I may as well include these separate controversial steemit features topic too.
Okay, you decided to focus on the steemit features - I guess we will have to disagree on this.

I note the valid point that flagging is not a hard form of censorship, but from what I have observed some accounts are created simply to flag posts that someone doesn't like and make the post extremely unlikely to be seen by others. I think if some one doesn't want to read a post then they should simply not read it and move on to the next post rather making it difficult for everyone else. The flagged posts that I have seen (because I took the extraordinary effort to find it and uncheck the hidden qualities, then read it) are posts that I have no problem with and I was unable to learn who flagged it and why - what was the reason to object to the post?

You skipped the popularity meme Everyone wants to follow the whales...
There are ways to make quality of content more of a criteria for an upvote rather than making a buck by following the crowd or a whale.

The reason I wrote the open letter was to address the awareness issue that blockchain regulations and new policies will be enforced to protect the establishments' rollout of blockchain.
Compare this to what happened with DOS and Microsoft and imagine Goldman Sachs (or some other G-SIFI) rolls out the centralized version (steal some EOS code?) blockchain for the establishment and targets the other blockchains...

Take 'em to court didn't work for DOS and coupled with very lucrative government and other major contracts wiped out the competition, which is similar to what I imagine "could" happen with blockchain tech.

I agree that some people will always be abusing the flag button but the purpose of it was to hide(not censor) content that was abusive/spam or that people believe has a negative impact on the platform(of course this is subjective and different for everybody) The point is that the flag has some useful features and personally I wouldn't want my right to flag abusive content removed because someone misused it in the past, I have faith that the free market will figure it out and that eventually it will balance out. In the case you mentioned I guess the best way would be to promote the content that was hidden(if you believe it is really worth it) by resteeming it to your followers and talk about this author with other people.

You could also start a community/bot to find flagged content and republish the links on your own blog everyday with an explanation of why you thought that was an abusive flag and that people should look at this content. I believe there is always a way to solve those problems using voluntary free market solutions. You could call this initiative "Ron's daily hidden report" :)

Moving on to the follow a whale problem, well we can't tell people what to do with their voting power which is why I didn't reply because I don't have an opinion/solution, I guess if I found that all the content on steemit is not providing anymore value to me as a reader that I would just powerdown and leave and use my time somewhere else. At the moment it isn't the case and I still see value in spending time reading articles on steemit even if those articles I value aren't the one with the biggest payout, at least they are written here and I can still read them.

To address the issue of government take over, well most blockchain are open source anyway and if a government wants to clone Steem and use it, well they can. But if nobody wants to use their national Steem clone then their experiment will be a failure and a waste of taxpayer dollars. Ultimately it will be the population's choice of which blockchain they want to use and we can't go against that, people are free to chose to be slaves. We can only inform other people about why our platform would benefit them better but we can't force people to join.

Thanks Walter @walterjay I enjoy problem solving, the greater challenge is recognizing and addressing problems before they cause a catastrophe - sure, if there are survivors then they, as the market, will become the market solution...

During my career I was amazed at how often wonderful efforts and finished projects would later have the end users reveal unseen and unintentional problems - I have no doubt the steemit programmers did not intend for the flag feature to be abused.
And I doubt many programmers want to focus on how institutional governance will threaten the decentralized and freedom nurturing blockchain efforts.

I have no programming expertise, but I find your community-bot suggestion interesting and I will look into this.
Thanks for sharing, Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66