November 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to part 9 of 10!

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post. Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


November 2013





Yes, I actually went to a Holloween party as a bitcoin. :)







































































Tweets from December 2013 are now live!

Previous Entries:

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Did they knew at the halloweenparty what you were!
You were back in the days already a great ambassador of Bitcoin! Great!

It was quite loud in the news back then because of the rise in price, but no, I mostly had to explain it. I think even now they may not fully get it though. :)

Hope you sold some of them at 20k.
Guess you have a better and more interested platform here on the Steem blockchain!

Nope.

I should have, but I didn't. Just as I didn't sell when it went up to $1,200 and crashed down to $250. I see the future value of cryptocurrencies as much, much higher than they are now. More thoughts on that here.

So you described 11 months ago exactly what is happening at the moment!
Maybe you should an some extra old post from Steem after the Twitter digital time capsule! As you know one year in crypto terms is 5 to 10 years in the regular stock markets!

10....9.....8.....7....6...............1......time travel commence:

You are right "There is a growing number of people who are not investing in bitcoin, they are transitioning to it."
This holds true even now. Hell I am a living proof of it, my friends are. people I know are......and the list goes on. It is just that fiat is such a small amount compared to worlds total wealth because actual people get to hold it. Now even those people are using crypto.
I noticed this fact some time ago. The realty is if we check the blockchain a lot of smaller ( in amount) number of transactions are increasing. Mind you these transactions are smaller ones. I believe that people are buying increasing amount of daily use services on a regular basis.

I hope so. It's a transition, but sometimes (especially looking back at these messages from 5 years ago), it can feel like a slow transition. I had hoped by now I could pay for most things with BTC, but it seems the blocksize debate prevented (and actually reversed) merchant adoption.

That's okay though because now we have DPOS which has better on-chain governance. POW may not be the right way we move forward. Either way, everyone can compete openly and that's a beautiful thing.

You are really doing a great job here.
I believe Bitcoin is one of the strongest coin that has faced many dip and attack but it still remain on its feet. Bitcoin will definitely bounce back big time and those that are afraid due to negative news will have themselves to be blame.

looking at the rapid change from November 2013 till date and with speculation of the future. Bitcoin is going viral while changing lives and the world.

It's an amazing thing to be a part of, that's for sure. I hope for a future where we have many competing currencies and everyone uses whatever they prefer to express themselves. More on that here:

Bitcoin is great, but there are many other technologies including BitShares, STEEM, and EOS which have (IMO) better technical and governance properties.

Hi Luke,

Sorry for going off topic, but I know you're a big believer in the steem blockchain and know that when a cancer spreads it hurts everyone.

I'm going to post some links here to other places which I hope you follow so you can see for yourself:
https://steemit.com/funny/@traf/singing-in-the-shower#@idikuci/re-traf-singing-in-the-shower-20180411t065755482z

More details in my post:
https://steemit.com/flagawhale/@idikuci/call-me-admiral-ahab

The gist is, @trafalgar is upvoting himself >98% of the time and has been for over 1 month. I would greatly appreciate your support in generating awareness of this extreme case of reward pool rape that surpasses anything anyone else is doing.

I've already talked to him directly about this many months ago, and he explained his reasoning to me. The only thing that can be done for those that disagree is to get people with a lot of SP (investors and early miners) to downvote his posts.

You spoke to him at a time when he was taking 70-80% of his upvotes and now he's at 98.64%. That is a huge difference and a huge loss to steem.

You are a well respected member of steem and I know that if you were to add your voice it would make @trafalgar listen. Hes done it in the past, I know having you show up in his post will make him squirm all the more and make him think twice.

Anyway, thanks for listening to my grievance.

Idi

Hi lukestokes,

Aagain , I give you lots of credit for being a frontier advacate of Bitcoin. I would have love to have received your Tweets back 2013 when the BTC price around $500.

Who dresses up as a Bitcoin for a Halloween party? Some one like you who was/ is crazy and passionate about Bitcoin.
I am crazy and passionate about BTC now.

Hahah. Yeah, my neighbors still laugh at that one. I did some crazy things back then trying to get people to realize how revolutionary this whole thing is. If they laugh now, it's at themselves for not paying closer attention.

Wow i am just crazy reading about your tweets ahhh
whyy i didnt find it before..
cheers o/

I took screenshots and organized
@lukestokes

thanks for tweets of Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes
its really great interesting

its really great of November 2013 Digital Time
thanks for sharing your tweets,,are interesting

very interesting! Thanks for your support. Things will get "interesting again" rather soon..

Congratulations @lukestokes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54917.96
ETH 2851.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21