January 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #history6 years ago (edited)

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post (other than this first one which includes both January and February). Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


My first bitcoin tweet:

January 2013




Context:

The Mandrake Mechanism
The Method by which the Federal Reserve creates money out of nothing; the concept of usury as the payment of interest on pretended loans; the true cause of the hidden tax called inflation; the way in which the Fed creates boom-bust cycles. In the 1940s, there was a comic strip character called Mandrake the Magician.

Frebruary 2013


















Tweets from March 2013 are now live!

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Golden nuggets, going back to know/find out what drives us forward, always interesting.

Quite a "spring clean" picking top tweets from yesteryear, something to consider since time moves so quickly when you having fun.

Lack of follow up reporting has been sadly lacking, topic in headlines for short period, then placed on the back burner and forgotten. I refer to Africa, where 2015 great discussions on moving forward to only disappear.

2013 must have been fun years in crypto, venturing into something totally new, 2015 it was already into the $200 still exciting through to 2017 when government/corporate arrived and huge swings in value arrived along with new involvement, looking forward to 2018 now G20 discussions are done and dusted.

Well, for what its worth, you were right: nerds own the world and its gon be this way for a long time.
I hope SBD value appreciates like bitcoin

I'd prefer to see STEEM appreciate as the blockchain calculates all rewards based on the STEEM price, not the SBD price. A stable SBD has value, if we ever choose to fix it.

It’s hard to imagine bitcoin at high 20’s. Even though you bought it at that time, I bet you wish you bought even more. Today, I actually added to my portfolio. If I loose it, I loose it, which I doubt. We were in this cycle seven times already. I wasn’t invested in the previous crypto bear market, but I can bet it was exactly the same. It would be too easy for everyone knowing the future. We have to suffer to get rewarded. Suffer means going through selling pressure and withstand it, even adding to position at this time while most people sell or stay on the sideline I personally consider bravery. I might be crazy buying now, but that’s because I belive in this that much.

Think in terms of years and not days and you'll be completely fine, IMHO.

This was early Bitcoin days wow. I found out about it later that summer.

Stay tuned for the summer tweets as well. I have 123 tweets in all for this series.

Ha ha............I loved the time travel. It was great the tweets from so far back, almost nostalgic. Which is actually weird considering that I didn't even know about cryptocurrency back then.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I wasn't sure how this would be received or if others would value it, but we'll see how things go as the series progresses.

This post kind of puts things in perspective with all the fudding going around. Just resteemed so more people could see how things were then and how much better things can be a few years from now.

Man times have changed! This is so good to put all this price drop into perspective! Bitcoin has come so far and it has so much more room to grow!

This is a great idea for a post!

Thank you! I'm excited about all the other posts in this series, but it took a surprisingly long time to organize it all.

Hey luke, sorry to commandeer for a second, but did you notice @art-universe made a painting of you? I think it's pretty good!

here's the original post if you wanna go check it out.

I did see it, yes. Thank you. I gave it a full upvote, and I guess I'll go ahead and resteem it for some more exposure as well.

Oh, just saw you gave it a full vote. Good on 'ya!

This is great for inveatasi, all these prices fall into perspective! Bitcoin has come this far and has more room to grow.
I love the time travel @lukestokes

2013 has gone. We were kid at that time . Any ways thanks for updating us about Bitcoin past.

God, I wish that I used Twitter when I first started getting into Bitcoin :D...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69