April 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post. Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


April 2013












































Tweets from May 2013 are now live!

Previous Entries:

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Yes sir,these insights from the past will help my better understand the present and the future and it is true that experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource

I hope I can see prices rizs to a new all time high,, Even if this downtrend tells the contrary at the moment.
I just will be very happy to see BTC AT $20k and Steem at $15.

lol I wish it was $200 and I could buy more right now :P

Encouraging to see your tweets from the past to know BTC has come a long ways in price....
I knew about BTC back then and looked into it but not buy any....regrets.

Hope we will be sharing tweets of Steem and SBD in the near future like those above.

It's been a wild ride for you I can tell that much :)

Excellent Time capsule this time as well! Great to see a Bitcoin believe from way back. I was introduced with Bitcoin when it was around $450.

posting is very extraordinary and beautiful very word that is set to be made in the reflection
@tasier22

And your comment is spam. Stop it.

why? and how should i be ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27