March 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post. Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


March 2013




(Bitcoin: DO YOU SPEAK IT???)



(Bitcoin: DO YOU SPEAK IT???)




















Tweets from April 2013 are now live!

Previous Entries:

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Wow! @lukestokes, you are one hell of an early adopter of Bitcoin. I wish i had someone like you that could give me a pinch about Bitcoin back then 2013. $50 for 2.5BTC is insane. I only got to know about Bitcoin 2years ago.

I’m glad I took the risk when I did as it has benefitted me quite a bit. I think we still have plenty of room to grow and many will be amazed at us early STEEM adopters who were lucky to be here in 2018.

I agree with you Sir, despite the low Steem and SBD prices we're facing these days, I'm very much determined and conscious that we're going to be praised and celebrated in future for adopting Steemit this early.

I think it is only an opportunity for us to get more Steempower now that it is very cheap because we might not have this opportunity again.

Hi lukestokes,

Back then, you had the vision to know that BTC was going to be the answer to our problem with the centralized bank and fiat currency system that was not working. Good for u.

We still have a long way to go, but we’re getting there. The world is noticing.

Especially , the BTC price has long ways go up to $19k to ATH...how long will it take to get up to $19k in your opinion and what is going to take to get up there?

Man as much as I am enjoying these time travel posts, they are amazingly informative of crypto environments history. I hope you keep this up.
Thanks.

I’m glad you enjoy them. I’m happy to put them on the blockchain to enjoy for many years to come.

Loading...

Very interesting and useful post ..
Thank you very much for sharing @lukestokes..

I started getting into this in late 2013, and still have copies of my SMS to both my brother and cousin about how amazing this is and the potential. Hehe good to read them again.. they still never got in.

That is a cool flashback. Surprised to see you so early in crypto! Interesting that almost nuthing chanced except for price of bitcoin bavk from 2013.

That was really a very good act of documentary, you really have the good act of preservation and keeping records, for you to have kept this photos since 2013, wao that is really impressive.
Thanks for the inspiring and motivating article. It will really help me a lot as I also live to be fully engaged in cryptocurrency .
Its a new month here, happy new month

Hello @lukestokes!
These tweet could be boring for someone. For me, it’s like a story, like a movie about a journey. This journey is just getting started. Believe it or not, I can’t wait when we get to the part where bitcoin will start having a tough times. I’m anxious to see your reactions when you were at the same position as we are now. One day we will think about our investments the same way you felt at that time. As a matter of fact, 2 days ago I purchased some bitcoin and ETH. Perhaps one day in the future I will read this comment and think about it the same way you do now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64