May 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to part 4 of 11!

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post (other than this first one which includes both January and February). Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


May 2013

















I didn't think anything of it at the time, but today that's several thousands of dollars in value. Ooops.











Tweets from June 2013 are now live!

Previous Entries:

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I didn't think anything of it at the time, but today that's several thousands of dollars in value. Ooops.

That’s really interesting going through your past. If we only knew how this all will end.

Yeah, it was kind of funny to read through that old thread and see how much I was telling people, "I was stupid because I didn't value the free XRP I got. Don't be me. Don't be stupid." Heheh.

The wealth of a man comes mainly from his ability to see the future and locate opportunities where others see none.

You have indeed come a long way in your knowledge of cryptoverse. Will always keep an eye on your blog to benefit from your age long knowledge of cryptoverse. Thanks for this tweets; very educative and informative.

@eurogee of @euronation community

Thank you for saying so. I'm glad you're enjoying this series.

Sure sire✌️

Who cares? ME!! For sure...

I adore stuff like this...

What's amusing is all of those things were true in 2013 as they are in 2018 for the most part. The basic idea remains the same.

5 years later, there's been so many changes in crypto, yet the public view of them is not nearly where you and I might have guessed it would be in 2018.

We need another 5 years at this to see what happens next.

Great post.

BTW, if you are so inclined, I'd like to send you a PM. [email protected] -- or would you rather discord, steemit chat or ?

Glad you enjoy it. :)

Any and all is fine. I just dropped you an email as well.

If looking 5 months ago in crypto is amazing ... look 5 years ago is like watching an episode of LOST;)

Hahah... I still need to watch that series.

Yeah, 5 years is a really, REALLY long time in cryptocurrency.

This is the closest thing to time travel.
No doctored theories. A guy wrote how he felt at the time and it's their for the viewing. Although we never make the effort to scroll that far down or look into the archives but when you compile it like this......it becomes a treat.
Keep this up man. Thanks!

Thanks man. I really appreciate your continued support of this series.

My pleasure man :-)

Interesting look in the past. I once read an old tweet from someone who sold btc around 12$ at a loss. lol

REKT!

Ouch. That's tough. I always tell people, never get involved unless you have a future value in mind. Otherwise you'll be selling based on other people's research, not your own.

Only the past history meets the future needs. People thought VC was probaby mad or didn't make the right decision when he dropped $5million for the startup of coinbase. VC saw the future in bitcoin and made the right move.....So much learn from your past

Exactly. Makes me think we should be paying attention to VC moves today as well.

This is a really clever way to present the history of bitcoin. Maybe in the future there will be history classes where instead of reading boring text books, you read tweets from the time period!

Thanks so much!

That's a fun thought. Social media is now a "new" medium for studying human communication and historical records. I like that idea that I've just put some tweets on the blockchain for us all to enjoy many years from now. :)

2,5 BTC for 50 bucks...you are a real early adopter. Hope you still hodl them or sold them at ATH ;)
Interesting to read your thoughts back then, I think we can learn from that for the future.

Oppoturnity calls us daily. We don't have to make such mistakes again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52