December 2013 Digital Time Capsule: Bitcoin Tweets from @lukestokes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

My final post in this series!

The Digital Time Capsule project is a labor of love where I filtered through over 25k of my tweets to find some old favorites about bitcoin. I took screenshots and organized them for your enjoyment using Twitter Advanced Search for bitcoin from my account in 2013.

This will be a series, one month of tweets per post. Searching for and organizing the tweets for all of 2013 took more time than I anticipated, but I hope you will find it worth it and these insights from the past will help you better understand the present and the future. Experience and expertise are only gained through time, and time is our most valuable, non-renewable resource. I hope you enjoy this series and appreciate the time represented here.

Who Cares?

Good question.

I think these tweets are helpful to others because I first bought bitcoin in January of 2013. I paid $50 for 2.5 BTC. Since day one, I've been passionately involved in learning about and educating people on what cryptocurrency is and why I think it's going to change the world. Relatively few people were involved in Bitcoin in 2013, so few people understand what it was like to experience it back then. I want to share my experience with you because I think you'll gain a bit of experiencial knowledge which may give you important context for today.

As this series progresses, you may recognize similar themes from back then, over five years ago, to now. China banning bitcoin, the dangers of keeping your bitcoin on an exchange (ex: MtGox), price volatility, holding and not selling, and the failures of the current financial system. You can click on each tweet to view the original.

I hope you find it useful.

If you'd like to follow me on Twitter, you can do so at @lukestokes.


December 2013








































































Previous Entries:

original image source licensed under CC0 Creative Commons


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Great stuff here Luke, myself, I was fortunate enough to discover Bitcoin late 2013, curteousy of a work colleague of mine who had been slightly obsessed about it for some time.... obviously did not buy as much as I could have and then MT Gox came along and made my subseqent acquisitions even slower,, but anyway, I hodled... again great stuff here..

These are going under my "Good Steem Articles" bookmark :-)

Thank you. :)

You really were an early adopter of this wonderful technology. I was way to ignorant in the early days of Bitcoin to look into it. Everything money related was always a bad thing for me so I didn't think about Bitcoin for even a second. Luckily I am a bit less ignorant today.

Less ignorant is always a good thing. I'm working to become less ignorant every day. :)

C85C1708-86E9-4BD0-BB91-5785A5053013.jpeg Halloween 2015. It’s no 2013, but it’s still pretty good :)

I'm not the only one! Hahah.

Ha ha love the miner T-shirt from your sister!
Man 25K tweets are a lot to filter from. I am so glad that you did it. Now that the good times of the bull are approaching we might once again forget the lessons - Bitcoin has weathered much worse and it always come through. Not because of some magic but because it has the potential and trust of it's adopters.
Not to forget the Nashville meetup :-). I think I read about it early this year, while looking through the annals of Bitcoins history

Thank you for your continued encouragement through this series. I really appreciate it.

It's been a pleasure just reading it. I actually check my feed just to see when you'll hit the time travel button.
Thanks a lot man.

Where can I get one lol?

PS. I loved this series! It's kinda sad that it ends now :(...

It makes you wonder how we will react when we look back to this post in 5 years, or maybe even just 2 years.

On a more important note, though, I just saw the collection of posts in @ubf. I'll be going through all 5 posts in an attempt to get a better understanding of cryptocurrency and the blockchain.

Thanks!

I hope they are helpful to you!

Before when you talk about bitcoin telling you'll put money on it, people will call you stupid and ambitious but now, if you started investing or trading on Bitcoin from the time people call BTC investors stupid, they'll call you smart and lucky. Why are we like that? =D

Those who sold their Bitcoin then, will be in their conscience/regret prison for breaking the rule of selling their bitcoin.
About China freaking out, I heard a supposed rumour that China intends to adopt Bitcoin as their official currency.

Is @letstalkBitcoin Episode still on?
Hahahahaha, you congratulated the Federal Reserve for 100 years of evil.funny.

Good to always read about your past posts

Early adopters always get a lot of success. After reading your person success is with the person who dares. 50 $ dollar is nothing more than a peanut for purchasing 2.5 BTC. However decision was little bit difficult at that time (2013). So the outcome of your post is Be daring, and show patience. Patience is virtue. All the best @lukestokes

Well you have always kept us upto date regarding crypto, I really love your work, what is the worth of your 2.5 bitcoin's now that you purchased just for 50$

it was great tweets for bitcoin

its value is looking to rais day by day,,,now its like a gold,,,
but sir you tweets from 5-7 years ago ,

Twitter sentiment related to bitcoin leads the change in bitcoin exchange rate.
A consistent finding from all the analysis is that the sentiment of messages on Twitter
leads the change in bitcoin price by 24 hours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52