It sucks to be you - Final Episode : (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

Namaste Everyone,
I hope you all are doing well, And I am back with the final installment of the series. I hope you like it. :-)

Previously
It sucks to be you - Episode I
It sucks to be you - Episode II
It sucks to be you - Episode III
It sucks to be you - Episode IV
It sucks to be you - Episode V

Let's see how it ends for Mayra and Jayanth. This is the final episode.

0xkjy3ueeu.jpg
ImageSource

The cuckoo on the wall woke me up. The headache was getting worse, I could feel the vein in my forehead throbbing hard. It felt like my head would explode. The sofa was no longer feels comfortable and the neck was sprained a little. I opened my eyes and could see the smiley on the clock telling me that its 6 PM. The sun was about to set and the golden light was hitting the room at a very slope angle. I could see my reflection on the big LED TV. And even when there were 3 other humans within the radius of 15mts, it felt like I was the only person on this planet. I raised my head and rested it one chin. 'The Thinker' pose although my mind has lost the ability to think. The clinking sound from the dining table brought my attention back to the world of the living. I saw the reflection of a woman picking up plates and leftovers. 'Naina!!.' I got up and walk towards the person who was cleaning the dining table.

"Naina, Leave it. I will pick it up in awhile". I asked her. I didn't know how to deal with this now. She kept quiet. She was scrapping the food in the bowl. Nobody has eaten anything this afternoon, the food will go to waste bin. She picked up the dishes and went to the kitchen. I don't want to face her. Why am I feeling guilty? How am I at any fault? Is it too much to ask for a normal day without any drama?

"Jayanth" I called for him.

No reply.

"Jayanth" I called again

"Papa went out for an evening walk." The reply came but from the daughter of the man whom I was looking for.

"Oh! I see." I all I could say. Even I wasn't sure why I was looking for him.

"Uhem.." She wanted to talk but was holding back. I was familiar with that noise.

"You said something?" I asked.

"Huh, No..!!" She denied.

Silence took over the place again. She was there standing in the kitchen. While I was looking for my way out of any conversation with her.

Several minutes have passed and none of us had any idea on what to do or say. I reached some water for the refrigerator. After pouring a glass for me I extended it towards her. She accepted. Standing and doing nothing, saying nothing but thinking a lot is really a tiring job.

"I wanted him to get some stuff for kitchen" I tried to start a dialogue with no Idea on how to end it.

"What do you want?" Naina replied.

"Huh?!!" I was really confused at the question. My head was hurting from thinking over and over. And she decided to start with the very same question for which is the sole reason for my insecurities.

"What do you need?" She rephrased the question.

"Huh?" I still had no idea what to say to her and handle that question. "We are out of tomatoes and eggs." I somehow replied.

"Ok, I will ask him." Naina left the room probably to get her phone and call Jayanth. She didn't return.

I walked out of the kitchen and saw her sitting on the crouching on the chair in the balcony. The poor soul is torturing herself for reasons beyond her control. I went back to the kitchen and brew two cups of tea. For some reason, I didn't add the dairy to it and kept it black.

"Here, this will help." I extended the cup to her. I assumed that she was having a headache too.

"Umm.." she moaned after taking a sip. I took that as a compliment. I couldn't help but smile at her. She replied with a faint smile.

"This is refreshing." Naina used words this time.

"I thought it would help." I spoke whatever came to my mind.

We both were sipping tea and watching the kids play. Probably both were envying their happiness. I turn and rested my back on the fence.

"Sit here." Naina pointed to an empty chair. While she adjusted herself in a more comfortable position. I adjusted the chair facing her and sat on.

"So do you wanna.. You know.. Talk about it?" Naina asked. She sounded genuine.

"Yes, I do. Want to talk." I replied. "But not about the pregnancy."

"Then what?" Naina was surprised.

"I wanted to know more on what happened this afternoon and what you were blaming me and Jayanth for? Why were you angry? I know this has nothing to do with the baby as you were all fired up before the news broke out?" I snipped at the point.

"Huh?!!" Naina seemed to be surprised even more, but was calm. "What do you mean?"

"You said something about Jayanth and me not caring about you?" I couldn't recall the entire phrase but enough to make the point.

"I don't know, Why I was angry." Naina replied.

"Are you on drugs or something?" I asked for confirmation.

"What?!!" Naina was disgusted. "What made you ask that question?".

"I couldn't help it, I am your mother. There is just 'step' in front of it." I made a cheeky remark. After saying those words and using the quotes hand gesture something inside me swirled and emotion rushed my mind. I knew the reaction would be very harsh and I triggered it. But to my surprise, she kept quiet.

"No, I am not using." Her tone got a little deeper and more serious. "I am not sure about what happened?"

"I don't get it, You were accusing Us of neglecting you."

"Just you. I was blaming you." Naina spoke, Probably the first time in years. Not just a casual conversation but something real and something that had a feeling. The feeling was hatred but nevertheless a feeling.

"I don't understand" I asked her to explain.

"I was blaming you for every failure in my life, for keeping me away from Papa, for sending me to boarding school, for everything that is wrong with my life. I am a horrible unhappy person." Naina started crying. "I don't feel passion towards anything. I don't know what to do?"

A smile broke in my face. And that turned into laughter. I could tell that she wasn't appreciating this moment. "So, the reason you are angry at me is that I sent you to a boarding school?" I started laughing again. "I am sorry, but looks like your father's genes were dominate in you". I stopped laughing. "How are you still angry about something that has happened ages ago? And do you really think having you around when he was struggling to keep his work and personal life together is a good idea? We had given you the freedom and stopped influencing your decision when you started college. In fact, I am proud that you choose a very creativity field to study. while many still choose to tread the safe path you are choosing to revive a dying cultural art."

"But I still am not sure what to do?" Naina replied. With a weak smile.

"Why don't you stay here till you figure out what you want? There is no need for you to be under such pressure."

A noise from the inside dragged my attention to Jayanth who was standing near the table with the groceries. He seemed a little tired from the walk.

"Papa, please come and join us." Naina asked him to join.

"I am little tired from the walk let me get freshen up and then I will join." Jayanth replied and thank god for once he understood my gesture of 'leave us alone'.

"Is it ok to leave Jayanth and Naveen alone?" I commented jokingly.

"Nah!! Naveen went out to a show and may come a little late." Naina replied.

"Please!!! ask him not to show up drunk." I warned Naina.

"He doesn't drink." Naina replied.

"Please ask him not to introduce himself as DJ."

She smiled at my joke and seemed a little relaxed. The sky got a little darker. The kids went to their home and the noises started to die.

"So... You are really going through it." Her voice was serious but of a concerned person. Naina finally asked the question which I wanted to hear the whole day.

kz49vbtx6u.png

EOD.png

I am inuke.png


erdnt2zgdf.png

Hahaha, Looks like i went overboard with the short story. :-). I am glad that I made it to the conculsion. The story could have ended in many ways, But to me this particular ending made sense. We live in constant worries about the things that can go wrong that we forgot to see the things that are going right and needless to say forgets to appreciate it. We tend to imagine problems, I am not saying that there are none but out insecurities magnifies the problem many folds. You have a choice in this matter, how you plan of dealing with it is upto you.

Before I close the shop for the day I would like to thank my friends from Indiaunited and Beawesome community. Especially @sayee, @mysteriousroad, and @vincentnijman for their support and encouragement. Its because of these communities and their amazing members that I am able to write. Thank You.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

Wait! This sound like an ‘unfinished story’ to me. I guess you learnt that from me ;>)

No problem though. I love unfinished stories it’s like life. Even death is a new beginning ( whether you believe in reincarnation or not, is it really the end? only one way to find out: experiencing it yourself )

I enjoyed every single part of this series. The cliffhangers at the end, really made me looking forward to the next installment. Awesome dialogue, vivid descriptions, so many emotions and all very real, easy to relate to.

Great job! keep it up. Can’t wait to meet the future characters that are hiding inside your brain ;>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am really happy that you enjoyed the story. Honestly speaking, this wouldn't have been completed without you motivating me to take another step forward. Thank you.

I am looking forward to our next conversation.

Thanks you

Posted using Partiko Android

A great conclusion and it leaves a lot to the imagination of the reader. Every person goes through these phases of life. What we make out of it decides our success

I am glad that you enjoyed the story. I was aiming for something but ended up with something else.
And I am really grateful that the something else was loved by you.

A big thank you. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Great Conculsion with a nice message ✌️...bt u again made a spelling mistake while mentioned my name... hahahaha 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks anki San. Thanks for showing such interest and feedbacks. It really motivated me to write and move the story forward.

And I corrected your name is the postscript.. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @inuke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58