It sucks to be you - Episode II : (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago

Hello Everyone,
And welcome to my weekly post. Well, this isn't supposed to be like THIS!!!. But lately, I had been juggling a lot of thing work and personal. Today I, fortunately, got some time and tried to pick up the story which was left. Enough about me, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

It sucks to be you - Episode I
Without further ado, here is the next episode of the It sucks to be you series by @inuke.

1.jpg
Image Source

"Hey!!! Good morning." I greeted her in the kitchen. I was prepared to receive harsh words.
"Hmm" She grunted. I could sense her temper boiling. My silliest of comment could set her off. "Can I get some Nimboo Pani (Lemonade)? My head is killing me." And there I set it off.

"How can you be so irresponsible? Why do you still behave like you are in your twenties? I wasn't expecting this." Her anger flared. I could hear the cries of the dishes that she was doing.

"I am sorry, dear. I guess we got a little carried away last night. By the way, where is Manish?" I apologized and tried to evade her anger.

"He left this morning. He passed out on the couch." She replied.

I was a little happy that we were moving away from the topic.

"So have you told him? What he said?" She asked. I guess she was waiting all morning to ask me that question. She didn't like him much but over time she accepted him as a friend. After all, she is married to the person who happens to be his childhood friend.

"Haan!!! I told him. But he didn't react much to this news." I answered her question.

"Uff!!! That was expected of him" She went back to doing dishes.

"No, It wasn't like that." I joined in to help her.

She moved a little, giving me space to handle the dishes properly. She was expecting me to continue. Over the 20 years, I learned when she wants me to continue or when to keep quiet. Maybe that's the key to the married life.

"They are getting divorced" I broke the news. "That's why he didn't react to news"

She froze for a good 3 seconds and continued doing dishes.

"That's the reason he came here. Not because I called him" I told her the truth.

"I knew something was off with him lately." She responded as if she was expecting this news. "You know for guys who are smart and well established in your respective field of work, both of you are dumb. She didn't ask for a divorce, he did. Right?!!!" Mayra got little agitated while saying that.

"How in the world do you know that?" I was surprised.

"That Idiot should have done this long back." She was back on the top gear.

"What?" I asked again, Still having no clue on what she was saying and getting to.

"Oh!! come on you know I am right." She threw another googly at me.

"Mayra, Where are you going with this? Say clearly Naa!!!" I was getting little irritated as I was still hungover from last night and Mayra is behaving as if she cracked open some unsolved mystery.

"She cheated on him, Right?!!!." Mayra tossed the sentence as if she was in some courtroom drama and trapped the criminal into accepting his guilt.

"OK, was that in today's paper? Or is this pregnancy giving you superpowers?" The sarcastic me was awake now.

"He is an idiot for not seeing this coming. And you are too." She was again not giving the straight answer to my question. To her credit, I wasn't asking the right question too. 'Where is the lemonade?'. "She wasn't happy with him, In fact, We also tried hundreds of times to tell him to pay attention to his marriage too." She continued. "But he has been way too busy minding the business. She was very depressed for a very long time. But I think in past 6 months she has grown out of depression and wasn't complaining much. So I figured she was having an affair."

I almost face-palmed myself. "So that's your brilliant deduction?!! She was happy, so she must be having an affair?!!" I was about to walk out of the conversation.

"No, Jayanth. She wasn't happy with Manish at all." The tone has subverted to serious. "She would have left him. You know. She used to have very negative and dangerous thoughts. I did try to help her but looks like she needed a way out of this marriage. That marriage would have fallen off no matter who is at fault. Tell me you didn't see that?"

"He was upset." I didn't know what to reply. Moreover, I hate having such a conversation. But then again maybe not having such conversation lead Manish to his current situation. I would hate myself being in that situation. "I don't know what to advise him" I asked Mayra, who looked like a marriage counselor at this point in the conversation.

"Just be there when all of this comes down on him." she finished the dishes and I was also done stacking them up in the rack.

"Jayanth!!" She called me. The tone of her voice told me that it's my turn now to be analyzed as a husband. Manish has failed miserably, And sometimes I feel like he is a better husband than me. "When will you speak with Naina?"

Good God!!! We are going there aren't we? "I will speak to her." I mumbled.

" Yesterday you told me that you will be speaking with her after discussing this with Manish. So?!!" Mayra was again gaining on her rhythm. It would be trouble if I had to face the question the third time. And since Naina was family I think she has all the rights to know that she is going to be an elder sister to someone in near future.

"I will speak to her, Dear. But it would be a great help if I get that Nimboo Pani. That bastard is getting divorced and I had to get drunk for his sake." I smiled at my own joke. I tried but by this point, I too knew that I can no longer evade the conservation with my daughter.

"Go and wait. I will get your lemonade" Mayra's temper replied.

I went to the balcony. And rested on the chair. Looking at the playground in front where kids from nearby societies are playing cricket. As I watched the kids in the ground. I kinda felt dizzy and the headache was still on high. I heard Mayra approaching.

"Here. Have it." Mayra offered the hangover special Nimboo Pani. She sat next to me. The sunlight was hitting her face but she didn't bother much.

After taking one sip I felt rejuvenated. I could feel the lemonade slowly flowing down the throat into the stomach. I could feel the cells in my body getting hydrated. I gulped down the entire glass. I got up and took the glass to Kitchen. And picked up my phone on the way back to the balcony.

I was about to dial Naina when I asked Mayra "I think its better to tell her in person. Don't you think?."

To Be Continued

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

unknown (1).png

So I had fun writing this episode. This is more of an experiment that I am doing but let's hope that it pays. Thanks for the support of Indiaunited and my friends here in steemit. I hopefully get the story to a good conclusion. Stick around to find what happened to Jayanth and Mayra.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

nice. you are becoming better and better at storytelling. keep it up.

Thanks you @sayee. I am really happy to hear those words. And thank you for encouraging me for getting more into writing.

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Hi inuke,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @inuke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello there @inuke!

I can relate on how life interrupts our steeming life, atleast you get to get back a new kick start from where you left it. Writing novel like stories quite consumes much of our time but as a passionate writer such as yourself, these things are easy peasy for you.

Great story by the way! Great ending suspenss too. Now i am looking forward to the next chapter.

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @maquemali, And Now I feel a little sorry about whining at the beginning of the story. :D
But some things can't be helped.
I really appreciate your kind words. Hopefully will get the next episode by tomorrow. :D

Hahahahaha its okay that is part of life and that makes you human! We all pass that bridge often than not..

I like it anyway.. keep it up! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, I finally finished it..
And the really happy that I made it to final episode..

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/it-sucks-to-be-you-final-episode-short-story-by-inuke

And I am switching jobs for giving my writing more time.. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @inuke, this was an interesting story..Must admit to you that i read your Ep1 after Ep2 because the story attracted me. Apparently the sharing of pregnancy news become divorce news. That always happen with guys. And the six sense with woman if something went wrong. Now i curious what happen to Manish, why divorce and mayra‘s pregnancy. How their daughter reaction to it.. a lot of quetions in my head now... can‘t wait for your next episode. Hope it won‘t take long 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @oliviackl, Thank you, for your time and the valuable response to the story. I won't keep you in suspense and should be able to release the next episode by tomorrow. :D
Really nice of you to drop by.

yay! happy to know that, will wait for the new episode release @inuke. Happy Writing and Happy New Year!!

Hi, it was a pain not to write but I am through it and I finally finished the story...

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/it-sucks-to-be-you-final-episode-short-story-by-inuke

Also I quit the job :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @inuke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57