It sucks to be you - Episode V : (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago

Namaste Everyone,
I hope you all had a wonderful evening and I got off from work early today. Which gave me some extra time to bring you another episode of the ongoing series. :-)
Previously
It sucks to be you - Episode I
It sucks to be you - Episode II
It sucks to be you - Episode III
It sucks to be you - Episode IV

And before I get into the episode V of the series I would like to thank each one of you for the love and support. <3.

0xkjy3ueeu.jpg
ImageSource

I was sitting in front of the dressing table when the loud noise startled me, making me almost rip my earring. I ran towards Naina's room the source of the noise. I couldn't understand whats going on. I saw Jayanth trembling with anger, his fist clenched and Naveen struggling to get up from the floor.

"Papa!!!" Naina screamed from behind me. Water dripping from her face onto her shirt. From the looks I could tell that she wasn't finished washing her makeup off. Everyone has expression of shock expect Jayanth who was about to score another punch on Naveen.

"The hell is wrong with you?" I asked. Jayanth stood there with blank expression.

Naveen got up. Still little disoriented.

"Are you ok?!!" Naina ran past us to Naveen who was looking for something.

I almost lost temper. "What the hell is going on?!!"

"I... I... I thought that they...." Jayanth was struggling with word unable to explain his action.

Naveen pickup his phone. The black screen lit up immediately as soon as he touched it. "I will call you back. Take care of Iggy." He paused for a while. "No.. No.. I am fine. I will call you later." And he disconnected the phone and checked it for damage.

"Jayanth!! what is going on?!!" I repeated the question again.

"Papa Please!!!." Naina screamed for some space.

"I am sorry. I thought... I am sorry." Jayanth walk out of the room towards balcony. I followed him.

"Will you please talk to me. What is going on? What happened?!!" I was at the verge of punching him down by myself.

Jayanth's expression was filled with regret and guilt. "I thought they were... tsk.." He cringed at his thoughts.

"Have you completely lost your mind?" I retorted. "I mean, what the hell!!! How could you jump in that conclusion?"

"I am sorry." Jayanth's word barely audible.

'Tsk... The day is getting hard to live through.' I thought to myself. I started walking to the master bedroom. I saw Naina sitting on her bed and Naveen smiling weakly at her. Looked like trying to convince her of something, while still massaging his jaws with the fingers. The moment I sat on the chair, The door bell went off. "In a minute." I screamed my frustration out.

The delivery boy, handed over the goods with a big smile and probably expecting some tip. But was greeted with a big frown, probably the worst of his day. I grabbed the bag and slammed the door. I went back to the master bedroom while I left the lunch on the dinning table. Everyone has freshens up and Jayanth was still standing at the balcony. It has been almost 30mins since he was out there.

I started plating the table. I called for Naina & Naveen as soon as I finished. Naina showed up, Her expression were not so delightful. She seems pissed off and the reason was standing outside and thinking about the actions. Naveen's lip seem to be little swollen.

"Jayanth!!!" I called for him.

"You guys carry on, I will join in a minute." He replied. As if, in that minute he would figure out a way to fix whats done.

I got up and walked up to him. I could sense his guilt ridden aura, the aura from this gloomy and depressed guy who happened to be my husband. "Join the table. Everyone eats together in this house. That's your rule. Now don't make exception for yourself." I smiled at that guy. Hoping some in return. He was standing and looking at something or probably a way to make everything go away. "Come on!! or else the food will go cold." I said jokingly. Another feeble attempt at cheering that guy. He started walking towards the sink to wash his face and hands.

I started serving. Naina and Naveen were sitting opposite to us. Jayanth's soulless shell was next to me. which is irritating me. This was one of the most awkward dinner of my life. Phulka's, Paneer masala and Chicken korma was the menu. I started with distributing phulka's, followed by my favorite gravy. And then realized why I ordered Paneer Masala. 'Why this day is getting so tough?' I thought to myself.

"I am so sorry, Let me get you another plate." I apologized to Naveen. Poor Naveen, was first assaulted by my husband and then had his soul tormented by me by serving chicken. I went to kitchen to get the plate, By the time I returned the dinning table was a war zone.

Naina was hurling tantrums at Jayanth. Who has already apologized to Naveen for his misunderstanding. But this seem to be something different. I got the plate to Naveen and served him Paneer.

"Why you guys are doing this to me?" Naina asked a question which made no sense to me. And Jayanth & Naveen both were trying to calm her down. But something ticked her off and she was furious. 'Could it be? Jayanth!! of all the time in the world you choose this particular moment to tell her about the baby?' I face-palmed myself mentally. 'Anyway the news is out. Rest all will be taken care by god almighty.'

"Let's talk about it after lunch, Shall we?" I said.

"No. This is not at all acceptable." Naina screamed.

I knew she would be upset but this is something unexpected. Her reaction wasn't making sense.

"Excuse me, Naina calm down." I made an attempt.

"No!!! You guys has been acting as if I don't matter. Making decisions, taking actions on your own without consulting me about how I feel? This is gone beyond my limit. I am not allowing this to happen". Naina raged.

Something snapped inside me too. "Not allowing?!!! Naina, I am having this baby, whether you like it or not? I thought you would be supportive or indifferent but instead you are acting as a complete...."

"Baby?!!! What baby?!!!" Naina interrupted me. Her puzzled was too much for me to apprehend. Awkward silence isn't the word to describe this lunch. A single tear swelled and rolled down her cheek. "Papa!!! What baby?!!!" She asked again.
to be continued

EOD.png

I am inuke.png


erdnt2zgdf.png

So It was really a fun experiment for me to shift the angle of the narrative from Jayanth to Mayra. I am not sure how you would react to it. And I am really looking forward to see your reaction to this episode. I was actually planning on ending the story here and thought of starting a new one. But it felt like the characters needs a little more than closure. While I am having fun with the characters, The characters may hate me for what I am making them to go through.
Before I sign off for the day, I would like to thank the curie team for their support on my last post and my friends from IndiaUnited and Beawesome discords channel, Who are supporting me and their love brings out the best in me

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @inuke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hey, thanks for the next part. You can make it into a good novel too.

I am really happy with the response that I am getting for this story. Thank you for your encouragement... :-)

I am actually planning on ending this story in next episode.

Hahaha... I forgot the meaning of the short story.. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

beautiful story. waiting for the next one.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 264 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Ohoo ...story became more interesting.... eagerly waiting for next episode:-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inuke (Andaman ka Hero) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @inuke, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57