It sucks to be you - Episode I

in #creativity6 years ago

Hello Steemians,
I hope you all are doing well and are in good health.
I am back with another story. Let's see how it goes with some imaginary peoples.

1.jpgImage Source

“Are you sure?” She said with the face lit up with surprise.

“Calm down, Mayra. Let the doctor finish” I asked my wife to tone down the voice.

“It happens very rarely but It is medically possible. Honestly, this would be the first case in the entire state. And I understand, this is a very Taboo thing in our society. But it is your decision..” Dr Anand put forth his opinion.

“Is there any other option, Doctor. You can’t expect us to go through this at this age.” I asked.

“I would advise against termination of the pregnancy” The doctor replied in a very conveying tone, That he wouldn’t be a part of that.

I felt the touch of Mayra’s hand on my hand. I couldn't tell if she was happy or just confused by the news. I had not seen such an odd and joyful expression in her face in the 20 Years of our marriage.

“Thank you Doctor, I guess. We will be seeing you soon” I said bye to him. The wife also bid farewell to the doctor.

“You are not happy that this is happening to us” Mayra concluded from my silence. “I get it, It is shocking news to anyone. But I thought you would be little supportive”.

“I am not sure how could you be so joyful of this news. Do a reality check Mayra. I am in my fifties and you turned 46 two weeks back. Do you have any Idea how this is going to end?” I thought I was being rational but I was panicking.

“So what is it that you are suggesting?” Mayra was ready to fire at me. She just wanted to hear my thoughts out loud.

“Let’s just get home and then we can decide. Let me focus on the road, for now.” I made a failed attempt to delay the discussion.

“You had been focusing on the road and not the people, your entire life” the statement was accompanied with a small tear.

“Mayra, Please try to understand. This is not the type of discussion we should be having, when you are on the road, driving a pregnant lady to her home.” I made another attempt but this time I also acknowledge that there is someone pregnant and needs to take care off.

I switched the FM radio on, and the Arijit Singh took over the silence. The drive felt longer than usual, I know the silence wasn't helping much but I wasn't read to have that discussion yet. We managed to get back to the society without breaking the silence. I parked the car and before I could say anything she was already walking towards the elevator, I caught up with her right before the elevator door closes. Security guy was sitting in the small chair like thing and he pressed the 7th floor button. He passed a smile at us, To which none of us responded.

We entered the apartment and she rushed to the bathroom. I knew what lies ahead and was trying to be mentally prepared, but couldn't. I don't give a rats ass about what society will think, My only concern is what Naina would think of this. I heard her steping out of the bathroom and entered the Hall. Before I could shape my thoughts into proper words. I heard the sarcastic comment "Are you still on the road?". This is what drives me nuts, She expects answers for everything. But I kept my composure. In these situations at least one of us had to keep calm and be sane.

"Mayra, I am thinking." As soon as I said those words I know where the conversation heading. This is not how I wanted to open the talk but I guess I had to put up my guards for little more before we can actually talk about the matter.

"Jayanth, There is nothing to think. I am pregnant. You have to tell Naina." She was actually freaking out this time.

I got up and started walking towards the kitchen "I could use some drink, This is not what I was expecting from your Low Blood Pressure".

"I am pregnant, And worried. And your first go to solution is having a drink?" She yelled from the hall. Instantly killing the urge for a peg of whiskey. I poured a glass of water and walked back to her. "I called Manish. He is on his way." I offered the glass to her, hoping to calm her down. I sat beside her, on the sofa. Manish was the only friend who has survived me and Mayra. A good friend of mine whom I can count on. But Mayra doesn't feel the same way and I can live with that.

"So, you would prefer to discuss this matter with Manish rather than having it with me or your daughter?" She opposed the idea.

"Yeah" that is all I could manage. I wanted to scream at her but didn't. Things are already heading towards a big fight and I am not helping much.

"Fine!!! Just call Naina and let her know the situation" She gave up. And probably didn't want to have the fight. "I would have done it myself, But you know that she is still considering me as an outsider and not family." I look was indifferent, I cannot blame her for the dynamics between her and Naina. She tried her level best to fill the void left by Naina's Mother but somethings are not meant to be. "I will talk to her too, After hearing what Manish has to say. It is easier for me to talk to a guys about this situation than to have an awkward discussion with my 23yr old daughter"

I took the empty glass from her hand and kept in on the table. I felt stiffness on my neck and shoulder. The mental stress is physically hurting me. I adjusted myself a little more to support my head on the sofa and closed my eyes. I felt her head resting on my shoulders and body leaning on me. I imagined her eyes to be closed too.

"Jayanth?" Her voice has returned to normal and calm.

"Hmmm"

"It is going to be awkward with everyone, naa?!!!" She was just confirming me theory.

"We are going to be fine, dear" I replied. Hoping that no further queries come from her.

"Jayanth?" She sounded worried "How can you be sure?"

"Well... I" before I could finish the sentence the calling bell went off.

"To Be Continue"

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

Stay tuned for more on Mayra and Jayanth

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

Intriguing. I am looking forward to how this continues ( if you are planning to continue it ). I sometimes wonder how many different lives you have lived, in how many bodies you reincarnated :>)

Hey Buddy, Sorry for the delayed response. I was out having fun and just returned today. So hopefully will be back on this story ;-)

As far as I remembered, This is my best reincarnation ;-) and I am rocking it.

No need to apologize. I hope you had fun. Let's try to catch up on Discord one of these days. We haven't talked in a while :>)

Oh dear oh they’re in a bit of a situation aren’t they 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Their ride is about to get a lot rough than it already is...
Just returned back from an awesome trip. Hopefully will be back with the next episode in next 24hrs. Thanks for your time on this post.

wow, nice story. I hope it has a happy ending

Hahaha, I too don't know where the story will go. It is up to Mayra and Jayanth now. :-)
Thank you for the encouragement.

At first I was wondering if this was a true story, but it seems not to be...you are not in your 50s at least!

Hehe.. I am glad that you were wondering.. :-)

It's always nice to see your remarks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76