It sucks to be you - Episode IV : (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago

Namaste everyone,
And I am back with another episode of the series which I am trying to get to conclusions in next one or two episode. It does feel like dragged out. But, Like I mentioned in my previous post that I am actually experiementing with my writing styles.

It sucks to be you - Episode I
It sucks to be you - Episode II
It sucks to be you - Episode III

So let's see what Jayanth and Mayra had to deal with.. This is episode 4

0xkjy3ueeu.jpg
Image source

"Where are we going Jayanth? You missed the free left." Mayra's question pulled me back in the real world. I was so lost in thought and dealing with the scenarios in head that I forgot we were on the road. Mayra knew what's bothering me and the question was to bring my attention back to the road.

"Hmm, well lets get some food first. I know a good restaurant just few KMs from here." I made that up, Its a big city and there must be a good restaurant somewhere.

"No, Papa!!! Lets get home first. We can order lunch there. Maybe we can visit the restaurant for dinner." Naina replied.

"Hmm, We can do that too" I agreed.

"Yes, Jayanth. Let's get to home first. They had been traveling. We can order something. What would to like to have for lunch, Naveen?" Mayra made an attempt to establish friendly boundaries in the car. "Lets order chicken korma from the Swaad, They have one of the best Kormas that you can have."

"Naveen is a vegetarian. So!!! we can't have chicken." Naina trimmed the menu to green dot only...

"Oh!! I see." Mayra's words were lost in the awkward silence that followed.
I turned on the FM radio which was playing Arijit Singh's songs. It was filling in the silence which was created when we were trying avoid having any conversation. I saw Mayra looking little worried at the situation. Which is totally normal, We weren't expecting Naina to show up with her Vegetarian friend. And we will be sharing a big news to this stranger in a while.

"So Naveen, Is it your first time visiting this city?" I didn't know what to ask to this guy.

"Hmm" He responded.

"Oh!!! So what you do?" I made another attempt to get this guy speaking.

"I am a DJ".

After hearing the answer I wish I never asked the question to him. I wished that this to be a dream. Nobody ever pissed me off this much as this guy. He barely spoke but I am angry at him for some reason. His mere existence was enough to trigger the rage in me.

"I never knew DJs could be vegetarians." I commented jokingly.

"I am vegetarian, by choice" Naveen replied.

I was trying my best not to make any more comments or inquiry about this guy. I just don't wanna know him, For my sake.

"So, How you guys know each other?" Mayra switch the hot seat and started firing questions. I should have let her handled the situation from the beginning.

"We live in same building, Naveen has an apartment on 3rd floor and You have already seen mine." Naina responded to the question.

"That's very interesting. You never mentioned Naveen to us." Mayra asked.

"We met about 3 weeks back" Naina replied.
'And you thought of bringing him home. NAINA!!!, Are you kidding me?' My soul screamed in agony.

The longest drive ever came to an end. "Ok, we are here." My words seems to have some magic in it. Finally we will be able to run away from each other by couple of feet and pretend not to know each other. My thoughts were the mere reflection of their expression. Everyone including my pregnant wife seemed to be relieved.

"Ok, You guys carry on. I will park the car and meet you at home." Thats my excuse for getting away from that rare specie of DJ.

"Naina, You have the key to home. Right?!! I will join you guys in a minute." Mayra asked Naina, Thats her excuse for getting away from them. "I need to talk to your Dad."

'Shit!!!'

I opened the trunk and waiting for them to get their baggage. I was waiting for the sound of the trunk closing so that I can drive away from the situation. But where too?!! My better half doesn't seem to be in a mood of running away.

"What are we gonna do?" Mayra asked.

"Hmm... We should order from Annapoorna." I replied just to piss her off and bring her to my level. Mayra wasn't the type who like to improvise any situation. The scene would have been something like 3 people driving back home laughing at jokes and stopped laughing and gets into awkward conversations, when the father told the daughter that she will soon have a sister or brother. But the DJ crashing the party wasn't a part of the plan.

"Great plan, Why haven't I thought of it before? I was worried the entire time where are we gonna get the Veg thali the entire time. THANKS A LOT!!!" she was mad and her tone almost went squeaky.

"Do you think I asked her to show up with her... 'DJ'?" We both were actively avoiding the term which was obvious.

"I think its best to drop the news after lunch. That way we can at-least have the meals. Oh!!! and one more thing I am going to order Chicken korma for myself. I am not having veggies for lunch." Mayra declared her intention and stand.

We reached the house the door was open and Naina and the DJ weren't in hall, Where I expected them to be. Mayra locked the door and headed straight to master bedroom, she seemed little pissed. I think she has all the right to be. I slumped in the sofa. I felt drained. And all the stress has exhausted me physically. I felt the urge to call out Mayra for something to drink, but refrained myself from poking the tigress with a stick. I started walking towards the kitchen, and had a glass of water and then another one. I could feel the water wetting down the inside of my stomach, I was that thirsty. As I walked back to my favorite place. I heard weird noise and giggling coming from Naina's room.

'Come here you naughty girl!!! You wanna play with me. You wanna play with me, Don't you?!!!'

To be continued

EOD.png

I am inuke.png


erdnt2zgdf.png

Before I go, I would like to make one thing very clear. I don't hate vegetarians or DJs. I have nothing against them. Naveen just happened to stuck with this part. Like I mentioned before, I am doing a little experiment with my writing and hopefully will see the results soon.

Also I appericate all the love and support that I am getting from the Indiaunited and BeAwesome group. They are some really awesome people around in these channels and I can proudly say that I am a better person now because of their encouragement. I am now doing thing which I always thought was impossible for me. Just like this series.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

This is not the most pleasant situation to have in the family. Parents want to announce something important and the daughter brings her boyfriend that they for some reasons don't like. And he has different food choices while they feel like eating something particular. Well, this is a recipe for disaster :D And now she is locked in the room with her and weird noises are coming from there.. I can imagine this just added to the boiling soup :D

It's a great story with some funny parts and family drama. I really liked that :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely weekend!

I am really glad that you enjoyed the story.. like I mentioned in the post that I am experimenting with my writing. There is a lot for me to learn.
Really appreciate you spending time reading the story and the feedback.

Happy weekend...

Posted using Partiko Android

Because I've not read the earlier episodes, it was quite difficult for me to understand the story in one go. Unknown characters names created a bit confusion.

But, I must say, it was worth reading. I loved the humour :) Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

@himalayannomad, I appreciate your kind words. I love creating characters and putting them in hard situations..

Thanks for your time and feedback.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi inuke,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @inuke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulation dear👍 pretty good to see you rising..👌 loved the writing and your zeal to make steem and iu grow👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks bro.. that is what drives me. I want to make IU grow and motivate more people to write..

Really appreciate your support. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

You are most welcome dear....let me know when you gonna start you contest, you may find some sponsor..😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Romantic

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha, not exactly..
Thanks for your time.. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Episode 4 read and dammed....... Such an amazing story that got me very eager to go and read the past episodes that I have read. I really enjoyed reading your story and can't wait for the next episode

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your time and kind words. I hope I meet your expectations in the next episode.

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't worry you will so just do you.
You are welcome though

Posted using Partiko Android

Good writing...I really enjoyed it . Waiting for next episode:-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57