Reflections #1, A Mixed Media Collaboration Contest: Results

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Last Saturday, December 23rd was the closing date of my first ever contest, Reflections #1. It was a contest meant for mixed media and people could either fly solo or enter as a team, where one partner provided some form of artwork, and the other provided a piece of writing. I started announcing this upcoming contest for three weeks, to give people plenty of time to find partners, brainstorm and work together, and I was very excited to see the first entries appear on Thursday.

My co-judge, @sunravelme, and I hoped and prayed that you would all make our lives very, very difficult. I must admit, you all certainly did that much. It was not an easy thing to do, compare all your works, as they were all so different.

We decided not to do that, after all, but to rather judge each entry on its own merit. There were three things we looked for. A beautiful piece of art, a piece of great writing, and a connection between the two. Scores for these three items were given on a scale of one to ten, by the both of us individually, to ensure that we wouldn’t influence each other’s opinions. These scores were then tallied up to get to the final results.


reflections.jpg
Image courtesy of Bess-Hamiti via Pixabay

Before I let you know who ended up winning, I’d like to thank each and every contestant for taking the time to create beautiful pieces for this contest.

An even bigger thank you goes to @tanglebranch and @plushzilla for their generous donations to the prize pool and to @sunravelme for helping me judge all of these entries. I was very happy to see our opinions were very similar and we didn’t have to fight for our winners.

I’m not sure I can take you on anyway, Sun. ;-)

OK. Here goes. The top 5 scores lay very close together, so it really was a tough call.


The winners, receiving 18SBD, are:
@juliakponsford and @clayboyn with their entries Frequencies of Colors Bending (artwork) and Existence (poetry)

In second place and getting 11 SBD:
@jayna and @yurche with their entry Refracted Light (short story and drawing)

Third place was shared by three entries and all receiving 7 SBD:

@jonknight and @tajmikel with their entry Christmas Dreams (song lyrics and music)

@tanglebranch with her solo entry comic strip and drawing process)

And last but not least, @negativer and @morodiene with their entry Lacrimosa (poem and song)


I take my hat off to everyone for taking on the challenge I presented you with, and hope to see you again in the next edition of Reflections. ;-)

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by pointing your pointy thingie right here and clicking.



Sort:  

This contest was a great idea, Tiny. I hope to see more like this come across my feed!

Thank you, Rhonda. I think I'll do another edition of Reflections starting somewhere in January.

Congratulations to the winners and thank you everyone who entered! There were so many great pieces!

Thank you for your hard work! It was such a fun contest. Thanks so much for the second place reward! I’m doing the happy dance!

Well deserved, Jayna. Good job.

Thanks for hopping in on it with me. ;-)

Yay! Thanks for the contest! You had some great entries here!

Because it's Christmas, I won't even be snarky. ;-)
Thanks, Neg. Both for the support, and for entering. Great job!

Congratulations to the winners and great job. Running this contest Tiny.

Thank you for the kind comment and constant support, Muxxy. ;-)

Thank you so much! Congrats to everyone, it was an awesome contest and especially thanks to @juliakponsford who always blows me away with that psychic alien connection stuff. :)

It was great to see your entry. Thank you both for the support.

Thank you for hosting this contest and congrats to all the winners! I did not envy your job @tinypaleokitchen and @sunravelme :)

Well, I can hardly complain. I wanted all of you to make it hard to choose, after all. ;-) Great job, Moro.

Congratulations to all who managed to complete entries to this contest. I failed at that... Regardless of how you placed, you won by putting yourself out there!

You may not have entered this one, @bex-dk, but you sure helped as an editor! I owe you! 😁

She's a great editor.

Great contest and I am so happy it wasn't me who had to judge! Seems like each month the entries to contests of all types get better. These were freaking awesome! Congrats to the winners and everyone who entered. And thanks @tinypaleokitchen and @sunravelme -- your jobs here were definitely tough.

Your and Taj's entry was really great too, Jon! Was so glad to see the both of you enter.

We had a blast doing this! Thank you!

Hi @tinypaleokitchen, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Such a cool contest! I'll join the next one! Congrats to everyone involved!

I'm already looking forward to it, Albe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63