Lacrimosa [Reflections #1 Mixed Media Collaboration Contest]

in #originalmusic7 years ago (edited)

When @tinypaleokitchen announced her contest for a collaboration between different media and writing, @negativer and I set out to write a song for voice and piano, with him providing the lyrics and I the music.

We titled this song, "Lacrimosa," which is an old Latin word referring to weeping. It also is used as a part of a Requiem Mass, or Mass for the Dead.




Here is the link to @negativer's post for the lyrics:

https://steemit.com/poem/@negativer/lacrimosa-original-poem-reflections-1-mixed-media-collaboration-contest


The Process

Creation

We started out by first just letting @negativer do what he does best. I didn't really have a vision in mind of what the subject matter should be, and I really didn't want to hinder his process by dictating any limits from the start.

Once he wrote the poem, then I came up with some ideas on how I wanted the music to sound. I also tried writing the vocal line to match the syllables and inflections of the words. Sometimes things didn't really fit for the music, so @negativer and I made adjustments to the words where needed so that the inflections and rhythm of the notes would match.

I wrote down the music with a notation program called Finale. I find that writing it out helps me sort out my ideas and it makes editing much easier.

Audio Recording

The recording process was a bit harrowing! When you compose a piece of music, it doesn't necessarily mean you know how to play it, so after some time to practice I gave it a go with playing and singing. Well, that totally didn't work out! I felt that I wasn't able to play it well enough and focus on singing it well, so I decided to record them separately.

The piano part was recorded on my Petrof concert grand piano. This beast is 9 feet 2 inches of pure joy to play, but really getting a good sound on recording acoustic pianos is quite difficult. I have since asked Neg for a pair of really nice microphones for Christmas ;) . But since Christmas didn't come in time to record this, I used a simple Zoom H4n hand recorder. I then imported the audio into a Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) program called Logic Pro.

For voice, I listened to the piano track through headphones and recorded myself singing on the Zoom.

Audio Post-Production

Then I imported the vocal track into Logic and made sure it lined up with the piano part. This can be a bit tricky since the piano and voice tracks are not identical in length in the recording process.

Once lined up, I then tried to get the balance between the two tracks so that one part didn't overtake the other. Lastly, I added some reverb to the whole thing and exported it as a wav file.

Video

From there, I imported the wav file into iMovie and started looking at various pictures on Pixabay and Pexels. Considering this piece was about the loss of a loved one, I searched for graveyards and found a ton of cool statues at gravestones. I really liked the drama of these sculptures and so that became the theme to bring it all together.

Once I had selected a fair number of pictures I liked, I dragged them into iMovie and then matched them as best I could with the lyrics. After adding the lyrics as subtitles, I exported this as an mp4 file, and uploaded to Youtube.

Of course, I got @negativer's opinion on the recordings and the video to make sure he liked them!

Thank you to @tinypaleokitchen and to the judges for considering our collaborative work for this contest!


If you enjoyed this post, please follow, upvote, and resteem. I write posts on singing, playing piano, teaching music, and short stories about anything.

Sort:  

Excellent voice and piano and composition work here. Perfectly melds with my poem :) The words and music are going to be stuck in my head for weeks.

That was intense!

If it was in Latin I'd think it was actually an old Gothic Renaissance piece. Nicely done, both of you. The lamentation of Neg's poem really comes through your music Moro.

Oh thank you for listening! I actually am heavily influenced by music from the Renaissance.

Truly amazing composition and poetry. Thank you for sharing your beautiful collaboration with us.

Thank you for listening, @wandrnrose7! I think @negativer and I work best when we let each other do our respective things. I'm not sure how "collaborative" that is, but this is how we managed to stay married all these years LOL

Oh my! Success! Great work, @morodiene. It's amazing that you have talent in piano, singing and sound mixing to put this all together. I really appreciate that you wrote about the technical aspect of this piece, so we know all the work that went into it. What a beautiful collaborative effort. Now, I hope you two haven't made each other too sad over the holidays!

Thank you, @jayna. I think that a lot of times it's easy to look at or listen to a finished product and not know how much work goes into these things - not to mention the years of training that came before this.

very nice video. i like post & resteem this post

Amazingly beautiful music and singing @morodiene. Haunting, excellent!

Thank you for listening. Now go listen to something happy LOL :

Hahaa I will. Just read your hubby's sweet comment. (He says he is in awe of you too :)

Happy to see these features being used to make great content. Excited for crypto future, as well as steemit as a platform!

Wow. Just wow. Ariana says that "your good, but that's too sad for me." Way to knock it out of the cemetery, er park.

I tend to write happier stuff than this, so you can blame @negativer for the sadness. :)

That's beautiful, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for listening!

I never realized so much work went behind writing and playing a song. Makes sense that some adjustment for rhythm and flow to be inline. Beautiful work you too!

Thanks, Kubby! I'm sure if the lyricist is the musician the workflow is a bit quicker, but I like @negativer's poetry better than mine :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45