Reflections Contest #1: Writing Entry!

in #reflections7 years ago

Oh man. I had such big plans for this contest! I like to write, and I like to create art, so I knew from the very first announcement for this competition that I would very definitely be entering in some format! I had stories thought up, I had illustrations planned out.

But... the usual things happened. I got busy. I procrastinated. The stories just wouldn't work out. Christmas. I was running out of time!

So I thought: ok, I need something that's written, and fast. Also, I need something that's art, and fast.

Then I thought: why not something that's both?

So probably I'm disqualified but that's neither here nor there. I'm gonna enter this thing whether I'm disqualified or not!

I settled on doing a short comic strip! It's writing, it's art, it's funny (I hope, please laugh out of pity if you must), and its finally finished. You can read about how I created the art side of it here.

The first step in making a comic is creating a script. Comics are a visual storytelling medium, like a movie or play, so since part of the story is told by words and the rest by the appearance of the characters within the art, a script is a better way to start!
20171222_222227.jpg
I put this through the fiction workshop at The Writer's Block for a few quick opinions. It's something of an eleventh-hour entry so there just wasn't time to get a lot of critiques. But the feedback I received helped for sure, and I also ended up paring it down to 4 panels for the final version instead of 5.

I finalized my script and got to work on the art, and so, without further adieu, here is my comic!

(Caution: Rated PG-13)

Escalactation

img032.jpg

Did you laugh? I hope you laughed.
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

dangit, too old to upvote :'(
SO FUNNY!!! lol

New Gamma Guy, checking in!

Rob :D

Heya! Yeah, I went on hiatus over the holidays it seems! Thanks for dropping in!

Merry Christmas @tanglebranch! It's all I got you this year, I hope it's your colour.
And yes I did laugh🤣

Lol! Thanks a bunch, have a Merry Chrustmas and see you guys real soon!

ROFLCOPTERS EVERYWHERE!
Loved this!

Hehehehehe!

Haha! You got a laugh from me :) I’m curious what the 5th panel was.

Hahaha! Well, it was supposed to be a duck and a chicken lounging by the pond while their chicks and ducklings looked after themselves, a d the two birds wondering what had upset the mammals so much that they were fighting in the distance. But I decided it was too many punch lines to keep XD

Awwww nonsuch thinh as too many punchlines imo

I laughed, yes. Thank you.

You're welcome! Thanks for dropping by XD

LOL..Thanks..I needed a good laugh!!

YES! MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!! Hahahaha!!

Haha, I did laugh out of pity...for that poor pig! Very cute entry, in spite of its eleventh-hourness.

XD thanks for dropping in! It was either this quick project or nothing at all, so I'm glad it can still make folks smile even if it was rushed.

Even when something is rushed, you are drawing from years of experience in the field, so this probably took you a couple of decades. :D

Lols. Ok, this is pretty good. You're actually pretty good at this whole comic art thing. Maybe start a steemit serial comic!

Maybe! Time will tell...

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 86.0% @adept christmas upgoat, thanks to @edthecanadian
Want a christmas boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tanglebranch to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I laughed and it was not out of pity, great job!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45