Reflections #1: Christmas Dreams (collab with @tajmikel)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

TY COLLAB.png

These are the words I wrote for the music by my son @tajmikel, for the contest Reflections #1 sponsored by @tinypaleokitchen. You can find the music HERE.

This is not the first collaboration we've done, but this is the first time we have tried to mix his music with my words. Working with him this past week has been a kind of Christmas present of its own, and certainly influenced the direction I took with the words.

I love to write in several forms. But for some reason, songwriting doesn't come easily to me. Taj sent the music last weekend, and I listened to it dozens of times before writing the first line. I've heard this hundreds of times by now. It's in my dreams...

My intention was to write a song about a little boy's Christmas--his dreams of presents and time spent with his grandpa. There was going to be angst in there, with him fighting the bedtime and dreaming of all he'd wake up to the next day, only to find his dreams weren't big enough, and he got more than he wished for.

Instead, as with my fiction, the characters took the work in a different, better direction.

If I had any voice left at all with this winter crud I have been fighting, I would have tried to sing this. As it is, I can only hope that you hear the folksy, country voice as you listen to @tajmikel's acoustic guitar and follow along here.

Christmas Dreams

 

It’s Christmas!
It’s my favorite time of year
Grandpa always brings the best of things.
Seems so long
It’s been a year since he's been here
I wonder what this time for me he brings?

this time…
this time for me…

My Grandpa
says Christmas dreams are fit for kings
and every kid is a little royalty.
It’s Christmas!
I see my Grandpa’s car pull in,
I wonder what this time for me he brings?

This time…
this time for me…
this time for me
he brings…
A DIVIDE.png

Grandpa laughs like Santa Claus
I sit in his lap and he tells me stories.
He tosses me high but I never fall,
Outside the snow comes down in flurries.

Grandpa remembers a little boy
But I’ve grown so much he says this year.
I’ll soon be a grandpa, with my own little joy
and then

Ma calls from the kitchen,
The family tradition.
We eat and we laugh,
And we make photographs,
And we’re all having fun,
Til the long day is done,
And I head to my bed,
And I lay down my head.
A DIVIDE.png

In dreams we can be who we want to be.
In dreams we find our most cherished memories.
There’s a power of Christmas here for everyone.
We all feel like children, we all feel so young.

I’m a little child dreaming of things so far and away,
Remembering my Grandpa on a wonder-filled day.
Then I see his eyes are my own - imagine my joy
As I see that I’ve grown, I’m not the little boy...
A DIVIDE.png

I’m Grandpa!
It’s my turn to be that guy!
Got to get moving,
a long way to drive.
The sun is rising so high in the sky,
Little eyes are watching for me to arrive.

A memory surfaced inside the dream,
It’s not the toys and it’s not the things,
It’s time we’re together, the joy that we bring,
Making new memories, sharing our dreams.

Christmas dreams are truly fit for kings.
And all of us inside are a little bit royalty.
We hope your holiday is all you hope it will be!
Merry Christmas, Everyone!
From my son TajMikel, and me!



Throughout December I am declining payouts and asking that instead of upvoting my posts, please click on @YouAreHOPE and go there. Read their posts, see what the first global blockchain-based charity is doing. Spend your upvotes there, where they'll do the most good. If you can, consider donating some SBD or STEEM to help some folks who have no other help. If you can't do that, maybe you can delegate some SP to the cause - any and everything is a blessing. For many, we are the only HOPE they have. Thanks.

Sort:  

Ahh I love this. Especially the "this time for me" part. Captures excitement so well.

Your playing in this song has so much anxiety (of the good kind) bursting forth from it. The first time I listened I could hear clearly the "It's Christmas!" and "My Grandpa" in the first movement. The line "Christmas dreams are fit for kings..." came quickly as well. The song wanted to write itself, with the changes from movement to movement leading me to the Merry Christmas finale.

When my voice returns I'll try to record this with vocals. Might become a family tradition sing-along!

Hey I like that idea! Whether we sing or not lol. But hey I bet we could pull off some awesome father son harmonies ;D I also thought this song wanted to compose itself. It just flowed right out when I was writing the guitar part. One of those instances where it was basically already written and just needed to be played by someone.

Jon and Ty. I just love this! Made me cry. The music and lyrics are perfect together. Just amazing! Well done, loves! <3

Thank you sweetie! I miss you! <3

<3

So clever and beautiful, @jonknight! I loved reading about how you and your son collaborated, and how this process was a gift of its own. The result is lovely! You have a big heart, and you are an inspiration. I will of course support the wonderful cause.

Thank you @jayna! I've been extremely blessed with great family and friends. Merry Christmas and thanks for everything you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44