I Believe in Steem - Five things I can do to help steemit grow

in #blog7 years ago

I joined steemit in mid June.

To my surprise I am still here. And I am enjoying it. And I am progressing.

Like most people on the platform I went through the phases of initial boundless enthusiasm, gradual realisation of the reality, a brief period of resentment, a growing sense of doubt, a gradual understanding of the actuality...

And then the enlightenment.

The enlightenment that all those words of wisdom from the 'old hands' on the platform like @timcliff and @lukestokes are true.

It does take time. It is not all about the money. It is about content. It is about community. It is about networking.

It is a slow grind. If you do keep putting out quality posts gradually they will be seen. If you do keep commenting and making contacts you will build a following.

I am not yet in anyway a steemit star. I am still a lowly minnow. My posts don't make a bucket load of $$$.

But a few people do know who I am. Most of my posts do make a dollar or two. When I leave a useful comment on a post I generally get a reply. And when I hop on a Discord channel some people do say hello.

All those things are little achievements that motivate me to stick around and keep going.

My reputation has just this afternoon clicked over to 59 when I got some nice little upvotes when I commented on one of @lyndsaybowes posts. I would love to get to 60 by the end of the year.

I do now have 820 followers. By regularly posting on a variety of topics, by running contests and by joining in on a number of Discord channels a few more people follow me each day. I wonder if I can reach a target of 1000 followers before the year is out.

The Wallet and the Steem

My wallet has gradually been increasing. I occasionally get lucky with a more substantial upvote from the likes of @glitterfart and @blocktrades. They are most gratefully received but what makes me more happy is getting regular smaller votes from people who believe my posts are consistently good enough for their vote. To all those people my heartiest thanks.

At this moment, with the rising value of steem, my wallet is valued at $2,957.37 - a not too shabby amount. More importantly my steempower stands at 2,171 SP which means my full upvote is worth around 24 cents. With that I can help out new users I spot with posts on a miniscule payout. Hopefully with a few 10 cents and 20 cents votes they will be encouraged to stick around.

A Dollar A Day

As my wallet has grown so has a rather unexpected desire to pass on my good fortune.

Steemit has given me the opportunity to view the whole of the world with a new pair of spectacles. I am no longer restricted to the boxed in vision of main stream media. Now I can see right into the lives of people for example in Venezuela and Bangladesh through the eyes of @malos10 or @azizbd.

That new perspective on the world encouraged me to start my A Dollar A Day giving project. It is but a tiny drop of hope but a start is better than a stop.

To Swim with Dolphins ?

My goal is to reach 5,000 SP and become a dolphin. With my current rate of earning, and giving, I might reach that point sometime next summer.

I do though have an opportunity. Earlier in the year I bought a little bit of Bitcoin as my first toe in the cryptocean.

With the massive rise in the value of Bitcoin that is now worth enough to buy sufficient steem to allow me to jump up to join the ranks of the 1244 dolphins on steemit.

This now stands as a test for me. How much do I believe in steem?

I could leave my $$$ in the supposed safe haven of Bitcoin - but that could all go pop tomorrow. Or I could move it across to steemit. Even if steem stopped steeming at least I would still be swimming with the dolphins.

So here I stand examining my beliefs.

If I go all in with steem and steemit what can I do to help it grow?

Here are five things I believe would help the cause :

  1. I can keep buying steem, and never power down.

  2. I can tell people about steemit and recruit new users.

  3. I can vote up, and mentor, new users to encourage them to stay on the platform.

  4. I can keep producing the best content I can as regularly as I can manage.

  5. I can interact with as many people on steemit as I can and help build communities.

I believe in steem, do you?



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[puppy image by @pennsif // dolphin image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]

Sort:  

You've been one of the main reasons I stayed on the platform and you've been such a great enrichment in my life.
I hope you take the leap and become a dolphin! That's part of why I like or little deal, it makes it so the Steem stays on the platform to do more good than it otherwise would.
I believe in the platform too and I believe slowly in its ability to make lasting changes to the way people network as well as providing a small income for some.

I always enjoy your writings, because with you I know I can trust it to be @originalworks

Thank you for your very kind words. And thank you for helping me on my journey to hopefully becoming a dolphin one day.

Thank you for your work and support! Bitcoin is bound to correct at some point, but it may continue to rise for a little while. Investing in steem may be risky, but I believe it has more room to grow than bitcoin in the long run. But, it’s really all speculation. No judgement here, whatever you decide. Congrats on all your progress, hopefully in 6 months I’ll be in the same position giving back to the community with what I can.

And Bitcoin has continued growing today, while steem has slipped back again... It's really tricky to know when to move.

Yeah it is. I have no idea how high bitcoin can go. People are going bonkers right now. It can go to 50k or crash back down to 5k in the next few months. I don’t think anyone can predict it at this point. I have some change in bitcoin, nothing serious. But it’s still a bit nerving for me.

at this point, bitcoin will never go down to 5k NEVER

I don’t think we can know that for sure. Bitcoin can’t support itself efficiently right now and is having scaling issues. It’s primarily hype right now that drove it up so high. There’s a good chance the bubble will pop. But it may not, know one can really predict what’s going to happen.

the bubble could explode but will never drop below 5k

and too many companies and people have invested in bitcoin, that just by the fact that we all use this currency, is giving a "real" value, the value of supply and demand and I think that value is no longer below the 5k

An excellent, thoughtful and informative post! Well worthy of an upvote and follow.

I joined Steemit in September, and believe in it, highly. We must have alternatives to Google/YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and others! Steemit and Dtube are the forerunners to the new, non-censoring, non-controlling, free speech Internet that we all want.

Thanks for your great post. I'm sorry my vote isn't worth much, but I'm a minnow too, headed for dolphin-ville. lol

Thank you for commenting and thank you for your vote - every little counts 😊

Well written. This post reminds me that Steemit is not just a social log or intellectual platform, but an investment as well.

Indeed it is, thank you.

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm very new here, and I can make almost no real sense of the jargon and Steem-terminology. I'm working on it though! But I think I get the gist of what you're saying here.

You were one of the first people here to welcome and encourage me. As I learn more about how things work (which might take a little while, as I am tech-challenged!) and gain some experience, I hope to implement the five items on your list to help the platform and its new users.

Thanks for your support!

Really informative post this one.
Really shows that some time and effort does reap rewards =D

It is when a person decides to give back, that the doors start to open! Your Dollar a Day project was the key! We hope that your Dolphin days will soon change into Whale days! What is life if one cannot dream big? Blessings and Upvoted!

I like the "phases" you describe, and think we can all identify with them in one way or other! Love your enthusiasm and positive outlook! 😊

I believe to #steemit too! The potential, the audience and the community.
I never had such fulfilling social media platform (unless editing/pimping friendster account counts heheheh)

I really love an active community like this. You learn a lot from new ones to veterans.

Kudos @pennsif and stay long hehehehe God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42