[FICTION CONTEST] One Day in 2040 - 30 SBD to be won

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

What will life be like in 23 years from now in 2040?

What is your vision for the future? Optimistic or pessimistic? Utopian or dystopian?

I recently had my first ever go at writing future fiction (The Family : 25 December 2099 : A Bigger Place).

I'm still wondering how to take that forward but it did get me thinking.

What will my life be like in 23 years from now? I'll be 80 then and I'll hopefully have grandchildren and maybe even great grandchildren - if I make it that far.

But what will the world be like for me and my family? How far will technology have advanced? What will society be like?

So to encourage people to give this some thought I am running a little contest.

To enter all you have to do is write a diary entry - an account of a day in the life of you and your family in 2040.

It can be a typical day, or a special day. Or a day when some groundbreaking event takes place.

This is a fiction contest but it is 'easy fiction'. There has not got to be any major story arc or great character development.

It is just a diary entry. Tell it as it is, or as you think it will be.


How to enter
  • Create your post on steemit with your diary entry for One Day in 2040.
  • Include futurechronicles as one of the tags on the post.
  • Post a link to your article in a comment below this post.
  • Upvote and resteem this post.
Prizes
  • There will be a first prize of 15 SBD, a second prize of 7.5 SBD and three third prizes of 2.5 SBD. The prizes have been provided by @Mikepm74 and @gmuxx.
  • The winner(s) will be chosen by me (@pennsif) on the basis of interest, imagination and quality of writing and presentation.
  • The winner will be announced by Thursday 23 November in a winning announcement post.
Rules
  • All posts must be original material, not posted anywhere else. All images must be appropriately sourced and credited.
  • Entries must be at least 600 words in length.
  • Entries must be submitted by the closing date.
  • You must have upvoted and resteemed this post to be eligible to enter.
Closing date
  • Midnight UTC on Sunday 19 November 2017.

[The prize fund for this contest has been kindly sponsored by @Mikepm74 and @gmuxx to help promote fiction writing on steemit]



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]

Sort:  

Here is my entry :)


https://steemit.com/futurechronicles/@yusaymon/fiction-contest-2040-we-are-gods-or-somos-dioses-eng-spa


I couldn't find the lighter in my brown gabardine as I left the motel. The sidewalk was a mirror of my past, the cars lighted my sorrows and the city was my confidant.

I had been with her - I couldn't believe it! For the first time, I had touched her beautiful thighs, a woman with internal wiring and synthetic fluids.

Anna, that's my name.......

Thank you for entry.

Thanks to you I like a lot the theme !! followed ;)

Add another 10 SBD into the prize fund from me.

Sent.

That's fantastic, thank you @gmuxx. I will update the post with the new prize pot now.

Thank you for your entry - glad you have fun writing it.

I may just have to write a part two!

This was really a fun story!

You're welcome, I think that you are a good writer with a great mind and a fun loving imagination.

Glad you like the contest. Thank you for entering.

Looking forward to seeing what comes out of this. Could be as simple as an ordinary day in the life, where not much has changed in 23 years. Or it could be The Jetsons!

Have fun with it folks!

Should be some interesting ideas. Most people on steemit should still be alive in 2040. What will another 23 years bring to our lives...

Thank you for entry @timmo3663

Thank you for your entry - good to see you got a Curie upvote on it 😊

I posted it and had to step away from my computer for most of the day. When I logged back on in the evening I was like Whoa! where did all that come from ?? :0) Such a nice surprise. Still so new here I didn't know who the whales are. I get it now.

Here's my entry!

https://steemit.com/fiction/@xanderslee/fiction-contest-one-day-in-2040-a-diary-entry

Really excellent idea. Was interesting trying to come up with a unique twist on it..

Thank you for your entry - looking forward to reading it.

Thank you for your entry. It needs to be a minimum of 600 words to qualify. Will you be able to extend your entry?

Oooo, this is tempting. I'd like to take a break from other projects right now to do this, but I want to keep momentum rolling for them. Who knows, maybe I'll find a way to sneak some time away from myself, get in the spirit, hammer out 600 words, run it through the workshop. Yeeaaah, I bet I can find just the right way to bribe me...

I do hope you have time to enter.

@gmuxx has kindly added another 10 SBD to @mikepm74's original prize fund so that should help entice you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38