We've made it - 6 months self sufficient in vegetables - what target for next year?

in #gardening7 years ago

Last year we managed to go four months without having to buy in any vegetables. We lived on what we grew in our garden.

This year I upped my target to six months. We have made it!

Our first useful harvests of potatoes, cabbage, lettuce, swede (and strawberries) started in May. By June we were getting enough variety of vegetables from the garden to supply all our meals.

We have managed to keep harvesting all the way through the summer.

Amazingly we are still getting sufficient in vegetables in late November.

Today I brought in from the garden carrots, turnips, onions, cauliflower and potatoes.

So for the six months from June through to November we have not had to buy any vegetables from the supermarket.

The only items in the veg department we have bought in have been mushrooms, a few cans of baked beans and one bag of frozen peas that came as part of a special offer. Hopefully I can get a free pass on those - although I would really like to get into mushroom growing next year. Better still I would like to gain the confidence to gather wild mushrooms.

I really am very happy with this achievement. I am surprised I have managed to keep cropping so well this late in the year.

Now I am looking forward to setting an even more challenging target for next year.

For 2018 I am going for vegetable independence for 8 months of the year.

I am pretty certain with the polytunnel and greenhouses in place I can bring forward the harvesting season by at least 6 weeks, and add at least another two to three weeks to the growing season at the other end.

Wouldn't it be super cool to produce all the vegetables for our 2018 Christmas dinner fresh from the garden.

Parsnips, carrots, potatoes, brussel sprouts ... I think it could be doable.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[all images by @pennsif ]

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Seriously wonderful! Keep on rockin'. :)

Thank you @mamadini. I love growing and I enjoy eating. That's all I need.

WoooHooo! Congratulations! 6 months of your own garden veggies. That is quite an achievement. Now you know you can do it, so next year should be even better. The polytunnel and greenhouses should really help i extending the growing season on both ends. Who knows you might be able to grow a crop in the greenhouses to get you through the winter...

I've got a few carrots still going in one of the greenhouses, and some leeks in the other.

Will probably squeeze in a few more cabbages as well.

Congrats!

It can be a pain growing, processing and storing your own food, but its definately worth it.

I believe 8 months is quite doable, with the right timing and a little luck with weather

Yes I have 8 months in my sights. I am hoping to hit 12 months AYR growing in another couple of years.

Yeah!! What an accomplishment. And I love your pics.

Thank you. I enjoy getting good photographs to go with the posts if I can.

Hi @pennsif you are making me jealous with your excellent gardening. I took the liberty of mentioning you in a post tonight. Will let you know about the donation award.

Thank you @mother2chicks - that is very kind.

Wow, that's awesome and amazing. Are you doing in any canning? Or thought about a root cellar?

So far we have been eating fresh, and freezing surplus - we still have some of that left as well.

We also tried sauerkraut with the surplus cabbage in the summer. That was excellent so will definitely being doing more of that next year.

A root cellar would be good.

Congrats on reaching your goal and I fully believe you can achieve next year's as well. The poly tunnels are going to be a huge help in getting you there. Great job!

Wow, that is great! I am feeling a little veggie jealousy ;) I think you can do it for next year...

Your garden did really well this year! I think you'll be able to push the harvests out to 8 months next year, perhaps even a bit more.

Congratulations! I'm sure you will achieve your next goal. All hard work and hours of gardening are forgotten when you harvest your vegetables. I miss my garden.
Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51