🍅 July 2018 Gardening Journal - WizStead Post #26

in #busy6 years ago

It's July 21st, 2018. Here's an update on how my garden is doing.
GardenJournal - WizarDave.jpeg

It's been a crazy year for gardening. We had late frosts, cool weather and even snow when we normally plant here. Then it turned dry. Germination has been terrible. My cousin has dug up some seed he's planted and they didn't swell up or anything. Look just like when he planted them. ::shrug:: ??? I had to replant 2 of the 3 varieties of corn I planted. A LOT of the beans didn't come up. Please don't listen to the next statement, because I've often laughed when I saw zucchini plants for sale, and said, "If you can't raise zucchini from seed, maybe you shouldn't be gardening!" Well, I have no green zucchini! Planted 2 hills, twice and nothing!

The Good

Harvesting...

IMG_20180717_171949910.jpgIMG_20180717_172806819.jpg

Tomatoes Tomatoes Tomatoes! woohoo!

IMG_20180717_172151002.jpg

IMG_20180717_172012029.jpg

IMG_20180717_172035397.jpg

IMG_20180717_172124925.jpg

The 3 Sisters

IMG_20180717_171300408.jpgIMG_20180717_171359569.jpg

Soon to harvest

Cucumbers germinated great!
IMG_20180718_100203062.jpg

Melons looking good!
IMG_20180717_171250573.jpg

IMG_20180717_171317963.jpg

The ugly

The drought might have took quite a few of my beans.
I've been working a lot of overtime, so haven't watered as much as I had hoped...
IMG_20180717_171551956.jpg

Something about these Italian peppers. It almost like they are shriveled up. Not much "meat" on them. I don't think it's a water thing, the jalapenos and Hungarian peppers are doing OK.
IMG_20180717_171225437.jpg

Other posts since my last gardening journal

About Gardening Journals

@simplymike's idea.

look.gif

Check out these airdrops!

Initiative Q is building a new payment network. To get people to adopt it, they’re giving away significant sums of their future currency to early people. They require only name, email, and an invite from an existing user. Here’s my invite link: https://initiativeq.com/invite/BPjrSHdmX

Get in on the byteball airdrop
After you successfully attest your steem username for the first time, you receive a reward in Bytes that depends on your reputation in Steem:
Reputation 30 or above: $10.00 reward
Reputation 40 or above: $20.00 reward
Reputation 50 or above: $40.00 reward
Reputation 60 or above: $80.00 reward
Reputation 70 or above: $160.00 reward
https://steem-byteball.org/#KAXHUKM3P6ZXXTU2NTNPM5JGV7236CAC

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg
Sort:  

Hey @wizardave, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

I'l supply the B and L if you supply the T so we can have BLT for lunch Monday

Wow, @wizardave. It looks like you have your own little tomato heaven :0)
And so many red ones already. We could harvest only 2 so far, but more are shifting colours every day.

It appears the drought is affecting gardens all over the world right now. I've been spoiling my plants by watering them too often. Now their roots has gone lazy, so with this temperatures I need to water them every day.
That is something that is on my 'to improve'-list for next year: train my plants so they can go without watering for a longer period of time :0)

True statement!

eating fresh home grown tomatoes = heaven

I have been watering, but with all the overtime I've been getting, not as much as is needed...

  • Toying with some ideas for next year.
    • Rain barrels
      Drip irrigation
      Maybe flood some areas
      ??? ???
      • I should definitely run a water line out closer, so I won't have to drag as much hose when it gets dry like this...

We do have a drip irrigation system installed in the greenhouse, but because a lot of the veggies are grown in containers, that is not as convenient as it may sound, lol.

I see a lot of people say they have troubles with drip irrigation. I may opt for soaker hoses. Of course, the weather here in Missouri... Probably next year will be wet wet wet! haha

Same here. Last year it rained all summer long. This year, we had one short splash of rain in 5 or 6 weeks. It'll probably be freezing next year, lol.

We've got some cherry tomatoes already coming on and being picked, and some zucchini and cucumbers. The larger tomatoes aren't ripening as fast, though. That's pretty good for all the strange weather you've had.

We've got some baby watermelon right now. How large would you say yours are right now. It's tough to tell from the pictures.

I think all of our pepper plants are doing well, and the onions—too bad I'm not that big of fan because they're absolutely growing the best of everything in the garden. :)

The sugar watermelons are only about 3-4 inches. The big watermelons are about 6 inches. The cantaloupe are mostly up to size, just need to ripen.

I've never had great luck with onions. This time probably half have died. Do you have a secret? I'm thinking maybe I planted them a bit deep. Only a few are busting the soil. I've pulled a bit of soil off some of them...

Oh, okay, so those watermelon are quite a bit larger than ours are. How big will the larger ones get? Our smaller ones didn't do so well last year. I wish we had some cantaloupe. That would be great. Maybe next year.

The only thing I know is my wife planted a bunch of the onions around the edge of the garden box so basically encircling the pepper plants. We also bought them as starts from a temporary stand in the parkinglot of the mall, and then we bought some local organic soil at home depot we'd never tried before. Apparently, they took right to it.

The first ones out of the garden are pretty large and the rest of them have been busting the soil as you described it for a week or so. I think the whole lot is ready for picking but she's only got the two out. She said she already ate one, so that must make three then. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97