You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍅 July 2018 Gardening Journal - WizStead Post #26

in #busy6 years ago

Wow, @wizardave. It looks like you have your own little tomato heaven :0)
And so many red ones already. We could harvest only 2 so far, but more are shifting colours every day.

It appears the drought is affecting gardens all over the world right now. I've been spoiling my plants by watering them too often. Now their roots has gone lazy, so with this temperatures I need to water them every day.
That is something that is on my 'to improve'-list for next year: train my plants so they can go without watering for a longer period of time :0)

Sort:  

True statement!

eating fresh home grown tomatoes = heaven

I have been watering, but with all the overtime I've been getting, not as much as is needed...

  • Toying with some ideas for next year.
    • Rain barrels
      Drip irrigation
      Maybe flood some areas
      ??? ???
      • I should definitely run a water line out closer, so I won't have to drag as much hose when it gets dry like this...

We do have a drip irrigation system installed in the greenhouse, but because a lot of the veggies are grown in containers, that is not as convenient as it may sound, lol.

I see a lot of people say they have troubles with drip irrigation. I may opt for soaker hoses. Of course, the weather here in Missouri... Probably next year will be wet wet wet! haha

Same here. Last year it rained all summer long. This year, we had one short splash of rain in 5 or 6 weeks. It'll probably be freezing next year, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55